At a glance

Licence status
Voluntary certification See the source
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 4 steps without a listed fee
  • Listed time: 48 months (only 1 of 4 steps state a time)
  1. Apprentices must find a suitable employer who is willing to hire and train apprentices.

    Source
    “Apprentices must find suitable employers who are willing to hire and train apprentices.”
    alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/agricultural-equi...
  2. You apply to become a registered apprentice once you meet the registration eligibility requirements.

    Source
    “Before you apply to become a registered apprentice, make sure you are eligible.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit...
  3. Before enrolling in classroom instruction you must meet the entrance requirements, which include specific high school courses or alternatives such as an entrance exam.

    Source
    “Before you enroll in classes as a registered apprentice, you'll need to meet the entrance requirements.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit...
  4. Complete the four-year apprenticeship with on-the-job training hours and classroom instruction each year.

    Time: 4 years
    Time source
    “The term of apprenticeship in Alberta is 4 years (four 12-month periods) that include a minimum of 1,560 hours of on-the-job training and 8 weeks of classroom instruction in each year.”
    alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/agricultural-equi...
    Source
    “The term of apprenticeship in Alberta is 4 years (four 12-month periods) that include a minimum of 1,560 hours of on-the-job training and 8 weeks of classroom instruction in each year.”
    alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/agricultural-equi...

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Licensed in another province

  • 1 step without a listed fee
  1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.

    Source
    “Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0322

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Trained outside Canada

  • 2 steps without a listed fee
  1. Complete 72 months and 9360 hours of verifiable Agriculture Equipment Technician work experience.

    Source
    “Complete 72 months and 9360 hours of verifiable Agriculture Equipment Technician work experience.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0322
  2. Provide an Employer Declaration Letter (EDL).

    Source
    “Provide an Employer Declaration Letter (EDL).”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0322

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

Requirements

Education

Experience

  • Applicants to the Work Experience Program must complete 72 months and 9360 hours of verifiable work experience in the trade.

    Source
    “Complete 72 months and 9360 hours of verifiable Agriculture Equipment Technician work experience.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0322

Already licensed in another province?

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Alberta and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Alberta $23.50 $42.00 $65.00 Moderate (3 of 5)
Canada $23.87 $37.12 $55.00 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Alberta

Wages in every province and territory

Agricultural equipment technicians in other provinces and territories

Compare agricultural equipment technician licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Agricultural Equipment Technician: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/agricultural-equi... · fetched October 8, 2026
  2. Tradesecrets - Meet Requirements tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... · fetched October 9, 2026
  3. Tradesecrets - Agricultural Equipment Technician tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0322 · fetched October 10, 2026
  4. Tradesecrets - Prior Learning Assessments tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/prior-lear... · fetched October 9, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as an agricultural equipment technician in Alberta?

No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Alberta. Certification is managed by Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training.

Which exams are required?

PLA entrance exam.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.