Province comparison
Dentist Licensing by Province
Licence status by province and territory
Boundaries simplified for display. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada. Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census boundary files.
- Licence required
- Not confirmed yet
- British Columbia: Licence required
- Alberta: Licence required
- Saskatchewan: Licence required
- Manitoba: Licence required
- Ontario: Licence required
- Quebec: Licence required
- New Brunswick: Licence required
- Nova Scotia: Licence required
- Prince Edward Island: Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador: Not confirmed yet
- Yukon: Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories: Licence required
- Nunavut: Not confirmed yet
Compare the provinces
Listed one-time fees
| Where | Fees | No-fee steps |
|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | $8,850 | 6 |
| Alberta | $9,350 | 2 |
| Saskatchewan | $8,850 | 4 |
| Manitoba | $8,850 | 3 |
| Ontario | $8,850 | 7 |
| Quebec | Not listed | 4 |
| New Brunswick | $8,850 | 3 |
| Nova Scotia | Not listed | 4 |
Listed time
Time not stated for every step: British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, and Nova Scotia.
Side by side
| Where | Routes | Exams | Language | Listed fees | Listed time | Median wage | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | NDEB exams, OSCE, National Dental Specialty Examination (NDSE), Assessment of Fundamental Knowledge (AFK), Assessment of Clinical Judgement (ACJ), NDECC | — | $8,850 (Trained outside Canada) | 0.1 to 0.2 months (partial) | $84,000 a year | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Alberta | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | NDEB exams, OSCE, Assessment of Fundamental Knowledge (AFK), Assessment of Clinical Judgement (ACJ), NDECC, National Dental Specialty Examination (NDSE) | — | $9,350 (Trained outside Canada) | — | $120,000 a year | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | NDEB exams, OSCE, Assessment of Fundamental Knowledge (AFK), Assessment of Clinical Judgement (ACJ), NDECC, NDSE | — | $8,850 (Trained outside Canada) | 0.3 months (partial) | $110,000 a year | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Manitoba | Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Virtual Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE), NDEB exams, Assessment of Fundamental Knowledge (AFK), Assessment of Clinical Judgement (ACJ), NDECC, National Dental Specialty Examination (NDSE) | CLB | $8,850 (Trained outside Canada) | — | $116,000 a year | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Ontario | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | NDEB exams, OSCE, National certification exam, Ethics & Jurisprudence course, Assessment of Fundamental Knowledge (AFK), Assessment of Clinical Judgement (ACJ), NDECC | — | $8,850 (Trained outside Canada) | — | $104,000 a year | Good (4 of 5) |
| Quebec | Trained in Canada, Trained outside Canada | Examen national de spécialités dentaires du Collège royal des chirurgiens du Canada (CRCDC) | — | Not listed | — | $106,000 a year | Very good (5 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | NDEB exams, OSCE, Assessment of Fundamental Knowledge (AFK), Assessment of Clinical Judgement (ACJ), NDECC, National Dental Specialty Examination (NDSE) | — | $8,850 (Trained outside Canada) | — | $132,000 a year | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Nova Scotia | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Virtual OSCE, NDEB exams, OSCE, Assessment of Fundamental Knowledge (AFK), Assessment of Clinical Judgement (ACJ), National Dental Specialty Examination (NDSE) | — | Not listed | — | $126,000 a year | Good (4 of 5) |
Moving between provinces
- Direct transfer (24)
- Extra steps (8)
- Not stated (40)
All answers as a table
Demand and pay
Median wage
| Where | Low | Median | High |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canada | $32,867 | $110,000 | $228,000 |
| British Columbia | $37,929 | $84,000 | $214,000 |
| Alberta | $32,867 | $120,000 | $270,000 |
| Saskatchewan | Not stated | $110,000 | Not stated |
| Manitoba | Not stated | $116,000 | Not stated |
| Ontario | $37,561 | $104,000 | $210,000 |
| Quebec | $33,109 | $106,000 | $228,000 |
| New Brunswick | Not stated | $132,000 | Not stated |
| Nova Scotia | Not stated | $126,000 | Not stated |
| Prince Edward Island | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Not stated | $180,000 | Not stated |
| Yukon | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Northwest Territories | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Nunavut | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Job outlook
| Where | Outlook |
|---|---|
| British Columbia | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Alberta | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Manitoba | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Ontario | Good (4 of 5) |
| Quebec | Very good (5 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Nova Scotia | Good (4 of 5) |
| Prince Edward Island | Good (4 of 5) |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Outlook not determined |
| Yukon | Outlook not determined |
| Northwest Territories | Outlook not determined |
| Nunavut | Outlook not determined |
Tools and tables
- Licence transfer checker Already licensed in one province? See what another province asks for.
- Roadmap builder Your steps, listed fees and time for one occupation and province.
- Language test scores Minimum IELTS, CELPIP and other scores, by occupation and province.
- Credential assessments Which regulators ask for an assessment of your education.
- Licensing exams Which exams each regulator asks for.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.