How to Become a Dentist in Alberta
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the College of Dental Surgeons of Alberta to work as a dentist in Alberta or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“registration with the College of Dental Surgeons of Alberta (CDSA) is mandatory. Only registered members may provide restricted activities specified in the Regulations.”
From alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/dentist, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 8 steps, listed one-time fees $500 (3 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total)
- Licensed in another province: 4 steps, listed one-time fees $500 (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Trained outside Canada: 9 steps, listed one-time fees $9,350 (3 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total)
- Annual fees
-
- Main Register permit prior to December 31st: $4,725 (renewal prior to December 31st)
Source
“Main Register permit prior to December 31st $4,725.00”
cdsab.ca/your-practice-permit/fee-structure - Main Register permit after December 31st: $5,225 (renewal after December 31st)
Source
“Main Register permit after December 31st $5,225.00”
cdsab.ca/your-practice-permit/fee-structure - Education and Research Register prior to December 31st: $1,000 (renewal prior to December 31st)
Source
“Education and Research Register prior to December 31st $1,000.00”
cdsab.ca/your-practice-permit/fee-structure - Education and Research Register after December 31st: $1,200 (renewal after December 31st)
Source
“Education and Research Register after December 31st $1200.00”
cdsab.ca/your-practice-permit/fee-structure - Professional Corporation Permit prior to December 31st: $100 (renewal prior to December 31st)
Source
“Professional Corporation Permit prior to December 31st $100.00”
cdsab.ca/your-practice-permit/fee-structure - Professional Corporation Renewal late fee per month after December 31st: $200 (per month after December 31st)
Source
“Professional Corporation Renewal late fee per month after December 31st $200.00”
cdsab.ca/your-practice-permit/fee-structure - Courtesy Register – per Calendar Year: $500 (per calendar year)
- Volunteer Register: $100
- Graduate Students: $100
- Satellite Clinic Rotation: $100
- Annual Renewal prior to December 31st (Dental Facilities Accreditation): $2,975 (annual renewal prior to December 31st)
- Annual Renewal after December 31st (Dental Facilities Accreditation): $3,475 (annual renewal after December 31st)
- Radiation Facility Registration Annual Renewal: $100 (annual renewal)
Source
“Radiation Facility Registration Annual Renewal $100.00”
cdsab.ca/your-practice-permit/fee-structure
- Main Register permit prior to December 31st: $4,725 (renewal prior to December 31st)
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 8 done
- Listed one-time fees: $500
- 3 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $300
-
Successfully complete an approved doctor of dental surgery or doctor of dental medicine degree.
Source
“An approved doctor of dental surgery (DDS) or doctor of dental medicine (DDM) degree”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/dentist -
Take and pass the NDEB Written Examination as part of the certification process.
Source
“You can get certified by taking the NDEB® Written Examination and OSCE.”
ndeb-bned.ca/2022/06/02/obtenir-votre-certification-et-votre-permis -
Take and pass the Objective Structured Clinical Examination as part of the certification process.
Source
“You can get certified by taking the NDEB® Written Examination and OSCE.”
ndeb-bned.ca/2022/06/02/obtenir-votre-certification-et-votre-permis -
After passing the examinations, provide proof of graduation to the NDEB to be issued the NDEB certificate.
- Proof of Successful Completion: $30 (each)
Source
“Once the examinations are passed, graduates of accredited dental programs in Canada, the U.S., Australia, New Zealand, and Ireland must provide proof of graduation to the NDEB® in order to be issued their NDEB® certificate.”
ndeb-bned.ca/2022/06/02/obtenir-votre-certification-et-votre-permis -
Submit the online application in the Applicant Portal with all supporting documentation and requirements.
- Application: $500
Source
“For an application to be considered complete and move on to the CEO/Registrar for review, the Applicant will have completed the online application and submitted all supporting documentation and requirements, and successfully pass the Ethics & Jurisprudence exam.”
cdsab.ca/application-requirements -
Register for a chosen exam date and successfully pass the CDSA Ethics and Jurisprudence Exam.
Source
“Upon submission of your application and supporting documents, you will receive an email with available exam dates. You can then select your preferred date and register to attend the exam.”
cdsab.ca/application-requirements -
After approval, attend the mandatory online Orientation and Registration session scheduled by the Registrations Department.
- First Time Registration – General Practitioner: $1,000 (first time registration as a general practitioner)
Source
“First Time Registration – General Practitioner $1,000.00”
cdsab.ca/your-practice-permit/fee-structure
Source
“Once the CEO/Registrar has approved your application, an Orientation and Registration Session will be scheduled with you by the Registrations Department. This is a mandatory requirement for all applicants”
cdsab.ca/registration-information/national-dental-examining-board-ndeb - First Time Registration – General Practitioner: $1,000 (first time registration as a general practitioner)
-
Pay the registration and annual fee, after which you are eligible to start working as a dentist in Alberta the following day.
- Practice Permit Fee January 1st to March 31st: $4,725 (practice permit fee pro-rated throughout the year)
Source
“Practice Permit Fee January 1st to March 31st $4,725.00”
cdsab.ca/your-practice-permit/fee-structure
Source
“Once you have attended an Orientation and Registration Session and paid the registration and annual fee, you will then be eligible to start working as a dentist in Alberta the following day.”
cdsab.ca/registration-information/national-dental-examining-board-ndeb - Practice Permit Fee January 1st to March 31st: $4,725 (practice permit fee pro-rated throughout the year)
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $500
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $500 | 100% |
| One-time total | $500 | 100% |
3 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $300 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 10 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.
- Main Register permit prior to December 31st: $4,725 (renewal prior to December 31st)
Source
“Main Register permit prior to December 31st $4,725.00”
cdsab.ca/your-practice-permit/fee-structure - Main Register permit after December 31st: $5,225 (renewal after December 31st)
Source
“Main Register permit after December 31st $5,225.00”
cdsab.ca/your-practice-permit/fee-structure - Education and Research Register prior to December 31st: $1,000 (renewal prior to December 31st)
Source
“Education and Research Register prior to December 31st $1,000.00”
cdsab.ca/your-practice-permit/fee-structure - Education and Research Register after December 31st: $1,200 (renewal after December 31st)
Source
“Education and Research Register after December 31st $1200.00”
cdsab.ca/your-practice-permit/fee-structure - Professional Corporation Permit prior to December 31st: $100 (renewal prior to December 31st)
Source
“Professional Corporation Permit prior to December 31st $100.00”
cdsab.ca/your-practice-permit/fee-structure - Professional Corporation Renewal late fee per month after December 31st: $200 (per month after December 31st)
Source
“Professional Corporation Renewal late fee per month after December 31st $200.00”
cdsab.ca/your-practice-permit/fee-structure - Courtesy Register – per Calendar Year: $500 (per calendar year)
- Volunteer Register: $100
- Graduate Students: $100
- Satellite Clinic Rotation: $100
- Annual Renewal prior to December 31st (Dental Facilities Accreditation): $2,975 (annual renewal prior to December 31st)
- Annual Renewal after December 31st (Dental Facilities Accreditation): $3,475 (annual renewal after December 31st)
- Radiation Facility Registration Annual Renewal: $100 (annual renewal)
Source
“Radiation Facility Registration Annual Renewal $100.00”
cdsab.ca/your-practice-permit/fee-structure
Licensed in another province
0 of 4 done
- Listed one-time fees: $500
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 2 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $300
-
Submit the online application in the Applicant Portal with all supporting documentation and requirements.
- Application: $500
Source
“For an application to be considered complete and move on to the CEO/Registrar for review, the Applicant will have completed the online application and submitted all supporting documentation and requirements, and successfully pass the Ethics & Jurisprudence exam.”
cdsab.ca/application-requirements -
Provide a Certificate of Registration and Letter of Good Standing from the current jurisdiction and consent allowing the CDSA to communicate directly with the regulator.
Source
“Certificate of Registration and Letter of Good Standing from their current jurisdiction ... Consent of Release of Information, allowing CDSA to communicate directly with the regulator”
cdsab.ca/application-requirements -
Successfully pass the CDSA Ethics and Jurisprudence Exam as part of the application.
Source
“Applicants are required under this agreement to fulfill CDSA’s application requirements including the Ethics and Jurisprudence Examination.”
cdsab.ca/registration-information -
After the CEO/Registrar approves the application, attend the mandatory online Orientation and Registration session.
- First Time Registration – General Practitioner: $1,000 (first time registration as a general practitioner)
Source
“First Time Registration – General Practitioner $1,000.00”
cdsab.ca/your-practice-permit/fee-structure
Source
“Upon approval, applicants will be scheduled for a mandatory online Orientation & Registration session, and only after completing this session may Applicants begin work the following day.”
cdsab.ca/application-requirements - First Time Registration – General Practitioner: $1,000 (first time registration as a general practitioner)
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $500
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $500 | 100% |
| One-time total | $500 | 100% |
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $300 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 10 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.
- Main Register permit prior to December 31st: $4,725 (renewal prior to December 31st)
Source
“Main Register permit prior to December 31st $4,725.00”
cdsab.ca/your-practice-permit/fee-structure - Main Register permit after December 31st: $5,225 (renewal after December 31st)
Source
“Main Register permit after December 31st $5,225.00”
cdsab.ca/your-practice-permit/fee-structure - Education and Research Register prior to December 31st: $1,000 (renewal prior to December 31st)
Source
“Education and Research Register prior to December 31st $1,000.00”
cdsab.ca/your-practice-permit/fee-structure - Education and Research Register after December 31st: $1,200 (renewal after December 31st)
Source
“Education and Research Register after December 31st $1200.00”
cdsab.ca/your-practice-permit/fee-structure - Professional Corporation Permit prior to December 31st: $100 (renewal prior to December 31st)
Source
“Professional Corporation Permit prior to December 31st $100.00”
cdsab.ca/your-practice-permit/fee-structure - Professional Corporation Renewal late fee per month after December 31st: $200 (per month after December 31st)
Source
“Professional Corporation Renewal late fee per month after December 31st $200.00”
cdsab.ca/your-practice-permit/fee-structure - Courtesy Register – per Calendar Year: $500 (per calendar year)
- Volunteer Register: $100
- Graduate Students: $100
- Satellite Clinic Rotation: $100
- Annual Renewal prior to December 31st (Dental Facilities Accreditation): $2,975 (annual renewal prior to December 31st)
- Annual Renewal after December 31st (Dental Facilities Accreditation): $3,475 (annual renewal after December 31st)
- Radiation Facility Registration Annual Renewal: $100 (annual renewal)
Source
“Radiation Facility Registration Annual Renewal $100.00”
cdsab.ca/your-practice-permit/fee-structure
Trained outside Canada
0 of 9 done
- Listed one-time fees: $9,350
- 3 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total
- 2 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $300
-
Either enter a 2- or 3-year qualifying program or apply to the NDEB Equivalency Process.
- Application Fee (one time fee non-refundable): $900 (one time fee non-refundable)
Source
“Internationally educated dentists may choose to enter a 2- or 3-year qualifying program or apply to the NDEB Equivalency Process.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/dentist -
Successfully complete the NDEB Assessment of Fundamental Knowledge.
- Assessment of Fundamental Knowledge (AFK): $1,000
Source
“Successful completion of the NDEB Assessment of Fundamental Knowledge (AFK).”
cdsab.ca/registration-information/supportive-pathway-program -
Successfully complete the NDEB Assessment of Clinical Judgement within the last three years.
- Assessment of Clinical Judgement (ACJ): $1,350
Source
“Successful completion of the NDEB Assessment of Clinical Judgement (ACJ) within the last three (3) years.”
cdsab.ca/registration-information/supportive-pathway-program -
Successfully complete the NDECC as the third examination of the NDEB Equivalency Process.
- NDECC: $6,500
Source
“The NDEB Equivalency Process includes three examinations.”
cdsab.ca/registration-information/national-dental-examining-board-ndeb -
After completing the Equivalency Process, apply to and complete the NDEB Certification Process to obtain NDEB certification.
Source
“Successful completion of the examinations allows individuals to move on to the next step, the NDEB Certification Process.”
cdsab.ca/registration-information/national-dental-examining-board-ndeb -
Apply to the CDSA with the NDEB certificate and all other listed documentation.
- Application: $500
Source
“The College of Dental Surgeons of Alberta will require a copy of your NDEB certificate, along with all other listed documentation on your application.”
cdsab.ca/registration-information/national-dental-examining-board-ndeb -
Write and pass the CDSA Ethics and Jurisprudence Exam.
Source
“You will then need to write and pass the CDSA Ethics and Jurisprudence Exam.”
cdsab.ca/registration-information/national-dental-examining-board-ndeb -
Once the CEO/Registrar approves the application, attend the mandatory Orientation and Registration Session.
- First Time Registration – General Practitioner: $1,000 (first time registration as a general practitioner)
Source
“First Time Registration – General Practitioner $1,000.00”
cdsab.ca/your-practice-permit/fee-structure
Source
“Once the CEO/Registrar has approved your application, an Orientation and Registration Session will be scheduled with you by the Registrations Department. This is a mandatory requirement for all applicants”
cdsab.ca/registration-information/national-dental-examining-board-ndeb - First Time Registration – General Practitioner: $1,000 (first time registration as a general practitioner)
-
Pay the registration and annual fee, after which you are eligible to start working as a dentist in Alberta the following day.
- Practice Permit Fee January 1st to March 31st: $4,725 (practice permit fee pro-rated throughout the year)
Source
“Practice Permit Fee January 1st to March 31st $4,725.00”
cdsab.ca/your-practice-permit/fee-structure
Source
“Once you have attended an Orientation and Registration Session and paid the registration and annual fee, you will then be eligible to start working as a dentist in Alberta the following day.”
cdsab.ca/registration-information/national-dental-examining-board-ndeb - Practice Permit Fee January 1st to March 31st: $4,725 (practice permit fee pro-rated throughout the year)
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $9,350
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $500 | 5% |
| Exams | $8,850 | 95% |
| One-time total | $9,350 | 100% |
3 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $300 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 10 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.
- Main Register permit prior to December 31st: $4,725 (renewal prior to December 31st)
Source
“Main Register permit prior to December 31st $4,725.00”
cdsab.ca/your-practice-permit/fee-structure - Main Register permit after December 31st: $5,225 (renewal after December 31st)
Source
“Main Register permit after December 31st $5,225.00”
cdsab.ca/your-practice-permit/fee-structure - Education and Research Register prior to December 31st: $1,000 (renewal prior to December 31st)
Source
“Education and Research Register prior to December 31st $1,000.00”
cdsab.ca/your-practice-permit/fee-structure - Education and Research Register after December 31st: $1,200 (renewal after December 31st)
Source
“Education and Research Register after December 31st $1200.00”
cdsab.ca/your-practice-permit/fee-structure - Professional Corporation Permit prior to December 31st: $100 (renewal prior to December 31st)
Source
“Professional Corporation Permit prior to December 31st $100.00”
cdsab.ca/your-practice-permit/fee-structure - Professional Corporation Renewal late fee per month after December 31st: $200 (per month after December 31st)
Source
“Professional Corporation Renewal late fee per month after December 31st $200.00”
cdsab.ca/your-practice-permit/fee-structure - Courtesy Register – per Calendar Year: $500 (per calendar year)
- Volunteer Register: $100
- Graduate Students: $100
- Satellite Clinic Rotation: $100
- Annual Renewal prior to December 31st (Dental Facilities Accreditation): $2,975 (annual renewal prior to December 31st)
- Annual Renewal after December 31st (Dental Facilities Accreditation): $3,475 (annual renewal after December 31st)
- Radiation Facility Registration Annual Renewal: $100 (annual renewal)
Source
“Radiation Facility Registration Annual Renewal $100.00”
cdsab.ca/your-practice-permit/fee-structure
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- First Time Registration – Specialist: $1,300
- Regulated General Practitioner Registering as a Specialist: $300
Source
“Regulated General Practitioner Registering as a Specialist $300.00”
cdsab.ca/your-practice-permit/fee-structure - Registration Appeal: $5,000
- Practice Permit Fee April 1st to June 30th: $4,371
Source
“Practice Permit Fee April 1st to June 30th $4,371.00”
cdsab.ca/your-practice-permit/fee-structure - Practice Permit Fee July 1st to September 30th: $2,807
Source
“Practice Permit Fee July 1st to September 30th $2,807.00”
cdsab.ca/your-practice-permit/fee-structure - Practice Permit Fee October 1st to December 31st: $2,453
Source
“Practice Permit Fee October 1st to December 31st $2,453.00”
cdsab.ca/your-practice-permit/fee-structure - New Graduates registering June 1st to June 30th: $2,807 (new graduates registering June 1st to June 30th)
Source
“New Graduates registering June 1st to June 30th $2807.00”
cdsab.ca/your-practice-permit/fee-structure - GP Residents registering January 1st to June 30th: $2,807 (GP residents registering January 1st to June 30th)
Source
“GP Residents registering January 1st to June 30th $2807.00”
cdsab.ca/your-practice-permit/fee-structure - GP Residents registering July 1st to December 31st: $2,807 (GP residents registering July 1st to December 31st)
Source
“GP Residents registering July 1st to December 31st $2807.00”
cdsab.ca/your-practice-permit/fee-structure - OMFS Fellow registering January 1st to March 31st: $2,500 (OMFS fellow registering January 1st to March 31st)
Source
“OMFS Fellow registering January 1st to March 31st $2500.00”
cdsab.ca/your-practice-permit/fee-structure - OMFS Fellow registering April 1st to June 30th: $2,125 (OMFS fellow registering April 1st to June 30th)
Source
“OMFS Fellow registering April 1st to June 30th $2125.00”
cdsab.ca/your-practice-permit/fee-structure - OMFS Fellow registering July 1st to September 30th: $1,750 (OMFS fellow registering July 1st to September 30th)
Source
“OMFS Fellow registering July 1st to September 30th $1750.00”
cdsab.ca/your-practice-permit/fee-structure - OMFS Fellow registering October 1st to December 31st: $1,375 (OMFS fellow registering October 1st to December 31st)
Source
“OMFS Fellow registering October 1st to December 31st $1375.00”
cdsab.ca/your-practice-permit/fee-structure - Education and Research Register First Time Registration Fee: $200
- First time registration for Professional Corporation: $400
Source
“First time registration for Professional Corporation $400.00”
cdsab.ca/your-practice-permit/fee-structure - Professional Corporation Permit: $100
- Amendments, Amalgamations, and Revivals: $300
- First Time Registration of Accredited Dental Facility: $300
Source
“First Time Registration of Accredited Dental Facility $300.00”
cdsab.ca/your-practice-permit/fee-structure - Facility Assessment Fee – NHSF: $2,500
- Facility Assessment Fee – DSF: $5,000
- First Time Registration of Radiation Facility Equipment: $175
Source
“First Time Registration of Radiation Facility Equipment $175.00”
cdsab.ca/your-practice-permit/fee-structure - 60 Day Late Payment Fee: $100
- Radiation Equipment Late Registration Fee per Piece of Equipment: $500 (per piece of equipment)
Source
“Radiation Equipment Late Registration Fee per Piece of Equipment $500.00”
cdsab.ca/your-practice-permit/fee-structure - Non-Disclosure Fee for Late Registration of Radiation Facility: $2,500
Source
“Non-Disclosure Fee for Late Registration of Radiation Facility $2,500.00”
cdsab.ca/your-practice-permit/fee-structure - Certificate of Standing: $375
- Letter of Good Standing: $375
- Certificate of Registration Standing: $375
- Verification of Registration Status: $375
- Complaints Appeal – Complaint Review Committee: $200
Source
“Complaints Appeal – Complaint Review Committee $200.00”
cdsab.ca/your-practice-permit/fee-structure - Hearing Appeal: $5,000
- Supportive Pathway Application Fee: $500 (non-refundable; valid for any CDSA application for up to two years)
Source
“Pay the Supportive Pathway Application Fee of $500 (non-refundable). The Application fee is valid for any CDSA application for up to two (2) years.”
cdsab.ca/registration-information/supportive-pathway-program - Equivalency Process Re-application Fee (non-refundable): $400 (non-refundable)
Source
“Equivalency Process Re-application Fee (non-refundable) $400”
ndeb-bned.ca/equivalency-process/fees - Verification of Score AFK, ACJ, or NDECC: $200
- Misconduct decision appeal: $1,200
- Appeal of the Conduct of an Examination: $1,200
- Administrative fee: $200
- NDECC: Clinical Skills Component: $3,250
- NDECC: Situational Judgment Component: $3,250
Requirements
Education
Applicants must have successfully completed an approved doctor of dental surgery (DDS) or doctor of dental medicine (DDM) degree.
Source
“An approved doctor of dental surgery (DDS) or doctor of dental medicine (DDM) degree”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/dentist
Other
Applicants must hold certification from the National Dental Examining Board of Canada.
Source
“National Dental Examination Board (NDEB) of Canada proof of certification”
cdsab.ca/application-requirementsApplicants must successfully pass the CDSA Ethics and Jurisprudence exam.
Applicants must demonstrate proficiency in speaking, listening, writing, and reading in English.
Source
“All applicants registering as dentists in Alberta must demonstrate proficiency in speaking, listening, writing, and reading in English.”
cdsab.ca/application-requirementsApplicants must provide a copy of a valid BLS or CPR with AED certification.
Source
“BLS or CPR with AED certification | Copy of valid certificate”
cdsab.ca/application-requirementsApplicants must provide a notarized or certified statutory declaration form.
Source
“Statutory Declaration | Completed form must be notarized or certified by a Commissioner of Oaths”
cdsab.ca/application-requirementsApplicants must provide certificates or letters of good standing for each jurisdiction in which they currently or previously held registration as a dentist.
Source
“Required for each jurisdiction in Canada or internationally in which you currently hold, or have previously held, registration as a Dentist, regardless of registration status.”
cdsab.ca/application-requirementsApplicants must disclose all regulatory permits or licences obtained from any jurisdiction, regardless of status.
Source
“Applicants must disclose all regulatory permits/licenses obtained, regardless of their status (active or inactive), and from any jurisdiction”
cdsab.ca/application-requirementsApplicants who have been out of practice for a period may have to demonstrate that they are currently competent to practise.
Source
“Applicants who have been out of practice for a period also may have to demonstrate that they are currently competent to practice.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/dentist
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
Dentists registered in another Canadian province or territory may apply for registration in Alberta by meeting the full application requirements of all applicants, including providing a Certificate of Registration and Letter of Good Standing and passing the Ethics and Jurisprudence Examination; no entry-to-practice exam or competence assessment beyond this is stated. Source
“In order to transfer from another province or territory you will need to meet the requirements of the entire application process required of all applicants.”
cdsab.ca/registration-information
Submit application and documents
Source
“Certificate of Registration and Letter of Good Standing from their current jurisdiction ... Consent of Release of Information, allowing CDSA to communicate directly with the regulator”
cdsab.ca/application-requirementsPass the Ethics and Jurisprudence Examination
Source
“Applicants are required under this agreement to fulfill CDSA’s application requirements including the Ethics and Jurisprudence Examination.”
cdsab.ca/registration-information
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with CDSA
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with CDSA
Exams
-
NDEB Written Examination
Source
“You can get certified by taking the NDEB® Written Examination and OSCE.”
ndeb-bned.ca/2022/06/02/obtenir-votre-certification-et-votre-permis -
OSCE
Source
“You can get certified by taking the NDEB® Written Examination and OSCE.”
ndeb-bned.ca/2022/06/02/obtenir-votre-certification-et-votre-permis -
Assessment of Fundamental Knowledge (AFK)
Source
“Successful completion of the NDEB Assessment of Fundamental Knowledge (AFK).”
cdsab.ca/registration-information/supportive-pathway-program -
Assessment of Clinical Judgement (ACJ)
Source
“Successful completion of the NDEB Assessment of Clinical Judgement (ACJ) within the last three (3) years.”
cdsab.ca/registration-information/supportive-pathway-program -
NDECC
-
National Dental Specialty Examination (NDSE)
Source
“Certificate of Successful Completion of the National Dental Specialty Examination (NDSE)”
cdsab.ca/application-requirements
Language tests
No minimum test score stated by the regulator Check with CDSA
Exemptions: An English language proficiency test is not required if the dental education program was completed in English or the applicant is from a jurisdiction with an equivalent English proficiency requirement. Source
“An English language proficiency test is required when the dental school or postgraduate education program was conducted in a language other than English, or the applicant is coming from a jurisdiction where there is no English language proficiency requirement.”
cdsab.ca/application-requirements
Canadian experience
The pages do not state a Canadian work experience requirement for registration as a dentist. Source
“Applicants who have been out of practice for a period also may have to demonstrate that they are currently competent to practice.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/dentist
Supervised practice
Not required
The pages do not state that a period of supervised practice is required for general registration; a supervised restricted practice permit is available through the voluntary Supportive Pathway Program for internationally trained dentists. Source
“During this time, Dental Interns are granted a limited Restricted Practice Permit that allows them to provide reversible dental services under supervision”
cdsab.ca/registration-information/supportive-pathway-program
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alberta | $32,867 | $120,000 | $270,000 | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Canada | $32,867 | $110,000 | $228,000 | — |
Dentists in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Licence required
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Dentist: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/dentist · fetched October 10, 2026
- Obtaining Certification and Licensure - The National Dental Examining Board of Canada ndeb-bned.ca/2022/06/02/obtenir-votre-certification-et-votre-permis · fetched October 9, 2026
- Fees - The National Dental Examining Board of Canada ndeb-bned.ca/equivalency-process/fees · fetched October 10, 2026
- Application Requirements - College of Dental Surgeons of Alberta cdsab.ca/application-requirements · fetched October 10, 2026
- Permit Fee Structure - College of Dental Surgeons of Alberta cdsab.ca/your-practice-permit/fee-structure · fetched October 10, 2026
- National Dental Examining Board - College of Dental Surgeons of Alberta cdsab.ca/registration-information/national-dental-examining-board-ndeb · fetched October 10, 2026
- Registration Information - College of Dental Surgeons of Alberta cdsab.ca/registration-information · fetched October 10, 2026
- Supportive Pathway to NDEB Certification Program - College of Dental Surgeons of Alberta cdsab.ca/registration-information/supportive-pathway-program · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a dentist in Alberta?
Yes. Registration with the College of Dental Surgeons of Alberta is required to practise in Alberta.
Which exams are required?
NDEB Written Examination, OSCE, Assessment of Fundamental Knowledge (AFK), Assessment of Clinical Judgement (ACJ), NDECC, National Dental Specialty Examination (NDSE).
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.