At a glance

Licence status
Licence required See the source
Routes
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Dental Surgeons of Saskatchewan

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
  • 5 steps without a listed fee
  • Listed time: 0.3 months (only 1 of 6 steps state a time)
  1. You get certified by taking the NDEB Written Examination.

    Source
    “You can get certified by taking the NDEB® Written Examination and OSCE.”
    ndeb-bned.ca/2022/06/02/obtenir-votre-certification-et-votre-permis
  2. You also take the OSCE as part of getting certified.

    Source
    “You can get certified by taking the NDEB® Written Examination and OSCE.”
    ndeb-bned.ca/2022/06/02/obtenir-votre-certification-et-votre-permis
  3. After passing the examinations, graduates of accredited dental programs must give proof of graduation to the NDEB to be issued their certificate.

    Source
    “Once the examinations are passed, graduates of accredited dental programs in Canada, the U.S., Australia, New Zealand, and Ireland must provide proof of graduation to the NDEB® in order to be issued their NDEB® certificate.”
    ndeb-bned.ca/2022/06/02/obtenir-votre-certification-et-votre-permis
  4. You contact CDSPI to apply for professional liability insurance, which is required for licensure.

    Source
    “Proof of Professional Liability Insurance is a requirement for licensure. Contact CDSPI to apply for your professional liability insurance.”
    saskdentists.com/become-a-registrant
  5. You submit a completed application form along with the required documents to the College.

    Source
    “All applicants must submit a completed application form.”
    saskdentists.com/become-a-registrant
  6. The College asks you to allow a minimum of 10 business days for processing once all documents are received.

    Time: 10 days
    Time source
    “Please allow a minimum of 10 business days for processing once all documents are received by the CDSS.”
    saskdentists.com/become-a-registrant
    Source
    “Please allow a minimum of 10 business days for processing once all documents are received by the CDSS.”
    saskdentists.com/become-a-registrant

Listed fees for this route

1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.

5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Licensed in another province

  • 3 steps without a listed fee
  • Listed time: 0.3 months (only 1 of 3 steps state a time)
  1. You contact CDSPI to apply for professional liability insurance, which is required for licensure.

    Source
    “Proof of Professional Liability Insurance is a requirement for licensure. Contact CDSPI to apply for your professional liability insurance.”
    saskdentists.com/become-a-registrant
  2. You submit a completed application form with certificates of standing from other jurisdictions where you were previously licensed, plus the other required documents.

    Source
    “Certificates of Standing for all other jurisdiction you have been licensed in previously (if applicable)”
    saskdentists.com/become-a-registrant
  3. The College asks you to allow a minimum of 10 business days for processing once all documents are received.

    Time: 10 days
    Time source
    “Please allow a minimum of 10 business days for processing once all documents are received by the CDSS.”
    saskdentists.com/become-a-registrant
    Source
    “Please allow a minimum of 10 business days for processing once all documents are received by the CDSS.”
    saskdentists.com/become-a-registrant

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with College of Dental Surgeons of Saskatchewan

3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Trained outside Canada

  • Listed one-time fees: $8,850
  • 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
  • 4 steps without a listed fee
  • Listed time: 0.3 months (only 1 of 8 steps state a time)
  1. You submit an application to the NDEB equivalency process and pay a one-time non-refundable application fee.

    Source
    “Application Fee (one time fee non-refundable) $900”
    ndeb-bned.ca/equivalency-process/fees
  2. You take the Assessment of Fundamental Knowledge examination.

    Source
    “Assessment of Fundamental Knowledge (AFK) $1000”
    ndeb-bned.ca/equivalency-process/fees
  3. You take the Assessment of Clinical Judgement examination.

    Source
    “Assessment of Clinical Judgement (ACJ) $1350”
    ndeb-bned.ca/equivalency-process/fees
  4. You take the NDECC assessment, which includes clinical skills and situational judgment components.

    Source
    “NDECC $6500”
    ndeb-bned.ca/equivalency-process/fees
  5. Once certified, you can apply for a licence with the dental regulatory authority of the province where you plan to practise.

    Source
    “Once certified, you will then be able to apply for a license with the Dental Regulatory Authority of the province where you plan to practice.”
    ndeb-bned.ca/2022/06/02/obtenir-votre-certification-et-votre-permis
  6. You contact CDSPI to apply for professional liability insurance, which is required for licensure.

    Source
    “Proof of Professional Liability Insurance is a requirement for licensure. Contact CDSPI to apply for your professional liability insurance.”
    saskdentists.com/become-a-registrant
  7. You submit a completed application form along with the required documents to the College.

    Source
    “All applicants must submit a completed application form.”
    saskdentists.com/become-a-registrant
  8. The College asks you to allow a minimum of 10 business days for processing once all documents are received.

    Time: 10 days
    Time source
    “Please allow a minimum of 10 business days for processing once all documents are received by the CDSS.”
    saskdentists.com/become-a-registrant
    Source
    “Please allow a minimum of 10 business days for processing once all documents are received by the CDSS.”
    saskdentists.com/become-a-registrant

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $8,850

One-time fees listed for Trained outside Canada, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Exams $8,850 100%
One-time total $8,850 100%

1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.

4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

Requirements

Education

  • You must have completed a university degree in dentistry from an accredited university and hold a certificate of the National Examining Dental Board of Canada.

    Source
    “You must have completed a university degree in dentistry from an accredited university and hold a certificate of the National Examining Dental Board of Canada (NDEB)”
    saskdentists.com/become-a-registrant

Police check

Insurance

  • You must provide confirmation of malpractice insurance of at least $3 million.

    Source
    “Confirmation of malpractice insurance of at least $3 million”
    saskdentists.com/become-a-registrant

Good character

Already licensed in another province?

Not stated

The pages require Certificates of Standing from other jurisdictions where the applicant was previously licensed but do not state whether the entry-to-practice exam or a competence assessment can be skipped.

Source
“Certificates of Standing for all other jurisdiction you have been licensed in previously (if applicable)”
saskdentists.com/become-a-registrant

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Dental Surgeons of Saskatchewan

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Dental Surgeons of Saskatchewan

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Dental Surgeons of Saskatchewan

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Dental Surgeons of Saskatchewan

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Dental Surgeons of Saskatchewan

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Saskatchewan and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Saskatchewan — $110,000 — Very good (5 of 5)
Canada $32,867 $110,000 $228,000 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Saskatchewan

Wages in every province and territory

Dentists in other provinces and territories

Compare dentist licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Obtaining Certification and Licensure - The National Dental Examining Board of Canada ndeb-bned.ca/2022/06/02/obtenir-votre-certification-et-votre-permis · fetched October 9, 2026
  2. Fees - The National Dental Examining Board of Canada ndeb-bned.ca/equivalency-process/fees · fetched October 10, 2026
  3. Become a Registrant – College of Dental Surgeons of Saskatchewan saskdentists.com/become-a-registrant · fetched October 10, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a dentist in Saskatchewan?

Yes. Registration with the College of Dental Surgeons of Saskatchewan is required to practise in Saskatchewan, and to use the title dentist.

Which exams are required?

NDEB Written Examination, OSCE, Assessment of Fundamental Knowledge (AFK), Assessment of Clinical Judgement (ACJ), NDECC, NDSE.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.