How to Become a Dentist in New Brunswick
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the New Brunswick Dental Society to work as a dentist in New Brunswick or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“The following is required for licensure in the Province of New Brunswick:”
From nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dentists-and-dental-assistants, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 5 steps, listed one-time fees $3,890.03
- Licensed in another province: 3 steps
- Trained outside Canada: 7 steps, listed one-time fees $8,850 (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Annual fees
-
- CDA membership fee: $497.50
Source
“This amount represents a one-time registration fee of of $150.00 + the annual license fee of $3167.90 + the CDA membership fee of $497.50+HST.”
nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dentists-and-dental-assistants
- CDA membership fee: $497.50
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 5 done
- Listed one-time fees: $3,890.03
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $497.50
-
You fill out the online application form and upload the required documents, including a passport-style photo, certified identification, your graduation diploma and your NDEB certificate.
Source
“Complete the Online Application form and upload:”
nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dentists-and-dental-assistants -
You get certified by taking the NDEB Written Examination and the OSCE, and once the examinations are passed you provide proof of graduation to the NDEB to be issued your NDEB certificate.
Source
“You can get certified by taking the NDEB® Written Examination and OSCE.”
ndeb-bned.ca/2022/06/02/obtenir-votre-certification-et-votre-permis -
You provide confirmation of a malpractice insurance application for at least three million dollars, which can be arranged so the coverage takes effect on the date of licensure.
Source
“Confirmation of malpractice insurance application to the minimum amount of three million dollars is required.”
nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dentists-and-dental-assistants -
After all required documents are received, you must attend an in-person meeting with the registrar before your licence is approved.
Source
“Upon reception of all required documents, the applicant will be required to attend an in-person meeting with the registrar prior to license approbation.”
nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dentists-and-dental-assistants -
You pay the fee for the year, which combines a one-time registration fee, the annual licence fee and the CDA membership fee plus tax.
- 2026 licensure fee: $3,890.03
Source
“The fee to be paid for 2026 is $3890.03. This amount represents a one-time registration fee of of $150.00 + the annual license fee of $3167.90 + the CDA membership fee of $497.50+HST.”
nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dentists-and-dental-assistants
Source
“The fee to be paid for 2026 is $3890.03. This amount represents a one-time registration fee of of $150.00 + the annual license fee of $3167.90 + the CDA membership fee of $497.50+HST.”
nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dentists-and-dental-assistants - 2026 licensure fee: $3,890.03
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $3,890.03
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $3,890.03 | 100% |
| One-time total | $3,890.03 | 100% |
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- CDA membership fee: $497.50
Source
“This amount represents a one-time registration fee of of $150.00 + the annual license fee of $3167.90 + the CDA membership fee of $497.50+HST.”
nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dentists-and-dental-assistants
Licensed in another province
0 of 3 done
- 3 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $497.50
-
If you are licensed and in good standing in another province or territory, you contact the Society by email to learn more about the process or get guidance on submitting your application.
Source
“If you are currently licensed and in good standing in another province or territory and wish to register to practice in New Brunswick under the *Fair Registration Practices in Regulated Professions Act*, please reach out to [email protected] to learn more about the process or for guidance on submitting your application.”
nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dentists-and-dental-assistants -
If you are currently or previously registered in another jurisdiction, you must request a letter of good standing from that jurisdiction.
Source
“If currently or previously registered in another jurisdiction, the applicant must request a letter of good standing from the jurisdiction in which the applicant is currently or previously licensed.”
nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dentists-and-dental-assistants -
You complete the online application, upload the required documents, confirm malpractice insurance, attend the in-person meeting with the registrar and pay the fee, as for any applicant.
Source
“Complete the Online Application form and upload:”
nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dentists-and-dental-assistants
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with New Brunswick Dental Society
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- CDA membership fee: $497.50
Source
“This amount represents a one-time registration fee of of $150.00 + the annual license fee of $3167.90 + the CDA membership fee of $497.50+HST.”
nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dentists-and-dental-assistants
Trained outside Canada
0 of 7 done
- Listed one-time fees: $8,850
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 3 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $497.50
-
You must successfully complete either a full-time two-year qualifying program or the NDEB Equivalency Process to become eligible to take the Canadian national examinations.
Source
“These two paths are the only means by which you can become eligible to take the Canadian national examinations administered by the National Dental Examining Board of Canada (NDEB). (http://www.ndeb.ca/nonaccredited)”
nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dentists-and-dental-assistants -
You submit an application to the NDEB Equivalency Process and pay the one-time non-refundable application fee.
- Application Fee: $900 (one time fee non-refundable)
-
You take the Assessment of Fundamental Knowledge as part of the equivalency process and pay its examination fee.
- Assessment of Fundamental Knowledge (AFK): $1,000
-
You take the Assessment of Clinical Judgement as part of the equivalency process and pay its examination fee.
- Assessment of Clinical Judgement (ACJ): $1,350
-
You take the NDECC, which consists of a Clinical Skills Component and a Situational Judgment Component, and pay its examination fee.
- NDECC: $6,500
Source
“NDECC $6500 NDECC: Clinical Skills Component $3250 NDECC: Situational Judgment Component $3250”
ndeb-bned.ca/equivalency-process/fees -
Once the equivalency process is complete, you get certified by taking the NDEB Written Examination and the OSCE and then provide proof of graduation to receive your NDEB certificate.
Source
“Successful completion of the NDEB® certification process is required to become a licensed dentist in Canada. You can get certified by taking the NDEB® Written Examination and OSCE.”
ndeb-bned.ca/2022/06/02/obtenir-votre-certification-et-votre-permis -
Once certified and allowed to work in Canada, you apply to be licensed as a dentist in New Brunswick by completing the online application, uploading the required documents, confirming malpractice insurance, attending the in-person meeting with the registrar and paying the fee.
Source
“Once you have successfully completed that process, you may apply to be licensed as a dentist in New Brunswick providing you are allowed to work in Canada (Must provide proof of Canadian citizenship, permanent resident status or work permit).”
nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dentists-and-dental-assistants
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $8,850
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $8,850 | 100% |
| One-time total | $8,850 | 100% |
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- CDA membership fee: $497.50
Source
“This amount represents a one-time registration fee of of $150.00 + the annual license fee of $3167.90 + the CDA membership fee of $497.50+HST.”
nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dentists-and-dental-assistants
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- One-time registration fee: $150
Source
“This amount represents a one-time registration fee of of $150.00 + the annual license fee of $3167.90 + the CDA membership fee of $497.50+HST.”
nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dentists-and-dental-assistants - Equivalency Process Re-application Fee: $400 (non-refundable)
Source
“Equivalency Process Re-application Fee (non-refundable) $400”
ndeb-bned.ca/equivalency-process/fees - Verification of Score AFK, ACJ, or NDECC: $200
- Proof of Successful Completion: $30 (each)
- Administrative fee: $200
Requirements
Education
Applicants must upload a certified photocopy of their graduation diploma from a school of dentistry, though new graduates may provide an official letter from the school instead.
Source
“A certified photocopy the graduation diploma from a school of dentistry (new graduates may provide an official letter from the school and supply a copy of the diploma at a later date when received).”
nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dentists-and-dental-assistantsApplicants must provide the National Dental Examining Board of Canada Certificate, with new graduates able to submit an official letter from the NDEB if the certificate has not yet been received.
Source
“National Dental Examining Board of Canada Certificate (new graduates may submit an official letter from the NDEB if their certificate has not yet been received).”
nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dentists-and-dental-assistantsInternationally educated dentists not registered in Canada must have successfully completed a full-time, two-year qualifying program or the NDEB Equivalency Process.
Source
“Dentists who received their education/training outside of Canada or in a country operating according to a mutually recognized system of accreditation of dental training and are not currently registered to practise dentistry in Canada may apply to have a license in New Brunswick provided they have successfully completed a full-time, two-year qualifying program or the NDEB Equivalency Process.”
nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dentists-and-dental-assistants
Police check
Applicants must provide a valid copy of a Vulnerable Sector Criminal Check obtained from the RCMP or a local police station.
Source
“A valid copy of a Vulnerable Sector Criminal Check. Details may be obtained from the Royal Canadian Mounted Police or local police station.”
nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dentists-and-dental-assistants
Insurance
Applicants must confirm a malpractice insurance application to a minimum amount of three million dollars.
Source
“Confirmation of malpractice insurance application to the minimum amount of three million dollars is required.”
nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dentists-and-dental-assistants
Residency
Internationally educated applicants must be allowed to work in Canada and provide proof of Canadian citizenship, permanent resident status or a work permit.
Source
“Once you have successfully completed that process, you may apply to be licensed as a dentist in New Brunswick providing you are allowed to work in Canada (Must provide proof of Canadian citizenship, permanent resident status or work permit).”
nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dentists-and-dental-assistants
Other
Applicants who are currently or previously registered in another jurisdiction must provide a letter of good standing from that jurisdiction.
Source
“If currently or previously registered in another jurisdiction, the applicant must request a letter of good standing from the jurisdiction in which the applicant is currently or previously licensed.”
nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dentists-and-dental-assistants
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The page says dentists licensed and in good standing in another province or territory should contact the Society by email to learn more about the registration process, but it does not state whether they can register without extra assessments or exams. Source
“If you are currently licensed and in good standing in another province or territory and wish to register to practice in New Brunswick under the *Fair Registration Practices in Regulated Professions Act*, please reach out to [email protected] to learn more about the process or for guidance on submitting your application.”
nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dentists-and-dental-assistants
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Dental Society
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Dental Society
Exams
-
NDEB Written Examination
Source
“You can get certified by taking the NDEB® Written Examination and OSCE.”
ndeb-bned.ca/2022/06/02/obtenir-votre-certification-et-votre-permis -
OSCE
Source
“You can get certified by taking the NDEB® Written Examination and OSCE.”
ndeb-bned.ca/2022/06/02/obtenir-votre-certification-et-votre-permis -
Assessment of Fundamental Knowledge (AFK)
-
Assessment of Clinical Judgement (ACJ)
-
NDECC
-
National Dental Specialty Examination (NDSE)
Source
“Applicants who wish to obtain a license as a Specialist must provide proof of having successfully completed the National Dental Specialty Examination (NDSE).”
nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dentists-and-dental-assistants
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Dental Society
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Dental Society
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Dental Society
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| New Brunswick | — | $132,000 | — | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Canada | $32,867 | $110,000 | $228,000 | — |
Dentists in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Licence required
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Licensing For Dentists – New Brunswick Dental Society nbdent.ca/licensing-for-dentists-and-dental-assistants · fetched October 10, 2026
- Obtaining Certification and Licensure - The National Dental Examining Board of Canada ndeb-bned.ca/2022/06/02/obtenir-votre-certification-et-votre-permis · fetched October 9, 2026
- Fees - The National Dental Examining Board of Canada ndeb-bned.ca/equivalency-process/fees · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a dentist in New Brunswick?
Yes. Registration with the New Brunswick Dental Society is required to practise in New Brunswick.
Which exams are required?
NDEB Written Examination, OSCE, Assessment of Fundamental Knowledge (AFK), Assessment of Clinical Judgement (ACJ), NDECC, National Dental Specialty Examination (NDSE).
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.