Province comparison
Nurse Practitioner Licensing by Province
Licence status by province and territory
Boundaries simplified for display. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada. Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census boundary files.
- Licence required
- British Columbia: Licence required
- Alberta: Licence required
- Saskatchewan: Licence required
- Manitoba: Licence required
- Ontario: Licence required
- Quebec: Licence required
- New Brunswick: Licence required
- Nova Scotia: Licence required
- Prince Edward Island: Licence required
- Newfoundland and Labrador: Licence required
- Yukon: Licence required
- Northwest Territories: Licence required
- Nunavut: Licence required
Compare the provinces
Listed one-time fees
| Where | Fees | Route | No-fee steps |
|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | $690 | Trained outside Canada | 6 |
| Alberta | $750 | Trained outside Canada | 5 |
| Saskatchewan | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 1 |
| Manitoba | Not listed | Trained in Canada | 1 |
| Ontario | $40 | Trained outside Canada | 5 |
| New Brunswick | $750 | Trained outside Canada | 11 |
| Nova Scotia | $750 | Trained outside Canada | 8 |
| Prince Edward Island | Not listed | — | — |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 0 |
| Yukon | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 5 |
| Northwest Territories | $2,415 | Trained outside Canada | 3 |
| Nunavut | $2,415 | Trained outside Canada | 3 |
Listed time
Time not stated for every step: British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, Newfoundland and Labrador, Yukon, Northwest Territories, and Nunavut.
Side by side
| Where | Routes | Exams | Language | Listed fees | Listed time | Median wage | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | recognized written exam, regulatory exam, Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE) | — | $690 (Trained outside Canada) | — | $59.53 an hour | Good (4 of 5) |
| Alberta | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP) Examination, Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner (AGNP) Examination, Alberta Neonatal Nurse Practitioner Objective Structured Clinical Examination (NNP-OSCE), NCLEX-RN | CELBAN | $750 (Trained outside Canada) | — | $53.25 an hour | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Canadian Nurse Practitioner Exam (CNPE) | — | Not listed | — | $56.14 an hour | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Manitoba | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province | Canadian Nurse Practitioner Licensure Examination (CNPLE), approved extended practice exam | — | Not listed | — | $55.00 an hour | Good (4 of 5) |
| Ontario | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Registered Nurse (Extended Class) [RN(EC)] Jurisprudence Examination | — | $40 (Trained outside Canada) | 1 month (partial) | $62.00 an hour | Very good (5 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Jurisprudence module, Entry-to-Practice exam | — | $750 (Trained outside Canada) | 0.2 months (partial) | $59.00 an hour | Undetermined |
| Nova Scotia | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | the applicable NP exam for the client population you studied in your NP program, Canadian Nurse Practitioner (CNPE) | — | $750 (Trained outside Canada) | 0.2 months (partial) | $55.88 an hour | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Prince Edward Island | — | CNPE, CNPLE | — | Not listed | — | $50.65 an hour | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | CNPE:F/AA licensure exam, NP licensure exam | — | Not listed | — | $54.00 an hour | Undetermined |
| Yukon | Trained in Canada, Trained outside Canada | — | — | Not listed | — | — | Undetermined |
| Northwest Territories | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Canadian Nurse Practitioner Examination (CNPE), Canadian NP Licensure Exam (CNPLE), Computer-Based Assessment (CBA), Simulation Lab Assessment (SLA) | — | $2,415 (Trained outside Canada) | — | — | Undetermined |
| Nunavut | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Canadian Nurse Practitioner Examination (CNPE), Canadian NP Licensure Exam (CNPLE), Computer-Based Assessment (CBA), Simulation Lab Assessment (SLA) | — | $2,415 (Trained outside Canada) | — | — | Undetermined |
Moving between provinces
- Direct transfer (24)
- Extra steps (24)
- Not stated (108)
All answers as a table
Demand and pay
Median wage
| Where | Low | Median | High |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canada | $42.00 | $61.54 | $75.00 |
| British Columbia | $42.49 | $59.53 | $74.59 |
| Alberta | $38.88 | $53.25 | $67.85 |
| Saskatchewan | $43.04 | $56.14 | $67.79 |
| Manitoba | $50.00 | $55.00 | $63.00 |
| Ontario | $40.00 | $62.00 | $75.00 |
| Quebec | $40.00 | $57.69 | $66.26 |
| New Brunswick | $50.00 | $59.00 | $66.00 |
| Nova Scotia | $41.41 | $55.88 | $67.63 |
| Prince Edward Island | $37.74 | $50.65 | $59.54 |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | $49.50 | $54.00 | $62.40 |
| Yukon | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Northwest Territories | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Nunavut | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Job outlook
| Where | Outlook |
|---|---|
| British Columbia | Good (4 of 5) |
| Alberta | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Manitoba | Good (4 of 5) |
| Ontario | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Quebec | Good (4 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Outlook not determined |
| Nova Scotia | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Prince Edward Island | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Outlook not determined |
| Yukon | Outlook not determined |
| Northwest Territories | Outlook not determined |
| Nunavut | Outlook not determined |
Tools and tables
- Licence transfer checker Already licensed in one province? See what another province asks for.
- Roadmap builder Your steps, listed fees and time for one occupation and province.
- Language test scores Minimum IELTS, CELPIP and other scores, by occupation and province.
- Credential assessments Which regulators ask for an assessment of your education.
- Licensing exams Which exams each regulator asks for.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.