How to Become a Nurse Practitioner in Newfoundland and Labrador
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the Newfoundland and Labrador College of Nurses to work as a nurse practitioner in Newfoundland and Labrador or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Nurse Practitioner, NP
Show the source
“To become a Nurse Practitioner (NP) in NL, you must complete the College’s application process and hold a practicing licence before you start your employment.”
From nlcn.ca/apply/np-applicants, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 5 steps, listed one-time fees $86.25
- Licensed in another province: 9 steps, listed one-time fees $355.93
- Trained outside Canada: 0 steps
- Annual fees
-
- NP annual licensure fee: $412.47
Source
“The annual licensure fee is $412.47, plus Professional Liability Protection fee ($183.43) paid directly to the Canadian Nurses Protective Society (CNPS).”
nlcn.ca/apply/np-applicants/new-graduate-or-canadian-np - NP Professional Liability Protection fee: $183.43 (paid directly to the Canadian Nurses Protective Society (CNPS))
Source
“The annual licensure fee is $412.47, plus Professional Liability Protection fee ($183.43) paid directly to the Canadian Nurses Protective Society (CNPS).”
nlcn.ca/apply/np-applicants/new-graduate-or-canadian-np - Annual licensure fee: $412.47 (does not include professional liability protection)
Source
“Annual licensure fee: $412.47 (does not include professional liability protection)”
nlcn.ca/renew-your-licence/fees - NP Professional Liability Protection Core Services: $183.43 (paid directly to CNPS)
Source
“NP Professional Liability Protection Core Services: $183.43 (paid directly to CNPS)”
nlcn.ca/renew-your-licence/fees
- NP annual licensure fee: $412.47
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 5 done
- Listed one-time fees: $86.25
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $412.47
-
Complete the initial NP licensure form and submit it to the College by email.
Source
“Complete the initial NP licensure form and submit to the College. Please email us at [email protected] to request a copy of the form.”
nlcn.ca/apply/np-applicants/new-graduate-or-canadian-np -
Send the College a declaration form confirming you reviewed the Tamper Resistant Prescription Pad Program information.
Source
“Submit Declaration Form: Confirm that you have reviewed the Tamper Resistant Prescription Pad Program (TRPPP) information posted on the Department of Health and Community Services, Government of NL website. You must send the declaration form to [email protected].”
nlcn.ca/apply/np-applicants/new-graduate-or-canadian-np -
Have confirmation of successful program completion sent to the College, directly from Memorial University for NL graduates or as an official transcript from the university for graduates of programs outside NL.
Source
“Graduates of an NP education program within Newfoundland and Labrador, the College will receive confirmation of successful program completion directly from the Office of the Registrar at Memorial University of Newfoundland.”
nlcn.ca/apply/np-applicants/new-graduate-or-canadian-np -
Submit the CNPE:F/AA licensure exam eligibility application and pay the processing fee.
- NP exam eligibility application processing fee: $86.25
Source
“Submit CNPE:F/AA licensure exam eligibility application and pay the processing fee ($86.25 includes HST).”
nlcn.ca/apply/np-applicants/new-graduate-or-canadian-np
Source
“Submit CNPE:F/AA licensure exam eligibility application and pay the processing fee ($86.25 includes HST).”
nlcn.ca/apply/np-applicants/new-graduate-or-canadian-np - NP exam eligibility application processing fee: $86.25
-
The College sends your information to the exam vendor, who will contact you to complete the vendor's exam application and pay the exam fee directly to the vendor.
Source
“The College will submit your name and contact information to the NP licensure exam vendor. The vendor will contact you by email, prior to the exam, and you will be required to complete the vendor exam application process and pay the exam fee directly to the vendor.”
nlcn.ca/apply/np-applicants/new-graduate-or-canadian-np
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $86.25
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $86.25 | 100% |
| One-time total | $86.25 | 100% |
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $412.47 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 3 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.
- NP annual licensure fee: $412.47
Source
“The annual licensure fee is $412.47, plus Professional Liability Protection fee ($183.43) paid directly to the Canadian Nurses Protective Society (CNPS).”
nlcn.ca/apply/np-applicants/new-graduate-or-canadian-np - NP Professional Liability Protection fee: $183.43 (paid directly to the Canadian Nurses Protective Society (CNPS))
Source
“The annual licensure fee is $412.47, plus Professional Liability Protection fee ($183.43) paid directly to the Canadian Nurses Protective Society (CNPS).”
nlcn.ca/apply/np-applicants/new-graduate-or-canadian-np - Annual licensure fee: $412.47 (does not include professional liability protection)
Source
“Annual licensure fee: $412.47 (does not include professional liability protection)”
nlcn.ca/renew-your-licence/fees - NP Professional Liability Protection Core Services: $183.43 (paid directly to CNPS)
Source
“NP Professional Liability Protection Core Services: $183.43 (paid directly to CNPS)”
nlcn.ca/renew-your-licence/fees
Licensed in another province
0 of 9 done
- Listed one-time fees: $355.93
- 7 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $412.47
- Listed time: 0.1 months (only 1 of 9 steps state a time)
-
Sign up for an account in the College Nurse Portal and make sure you choose RN.
Source
“Sign up for an account in the College Nurse Portal and ensure you choose RN.”
nlcn.ca/apply/np-applicants/new-graduate-or-canadian-np -
After creating your account, choose the practising licence option.
Source
“After creating your account, select Practicing licence option.”
nlcn.ca/apply/np-applicants/new-graduate-or-canadian-np -
Include your RN and NP education, licensure status in another province or territory, exam information, and practice hours in the application.
Source
“Ensure you include your RN education and NP education, RN and NP licensure status in another province/territory, RN and NP exam information, and specify RN or NP practice hours, in the corresponding sections of the application.”
nlcn.ca/apply/np-applicants/new-graduate-or-canadian-np -
Buy professional liability protection for Newfoundland and Labrador through the Canadian Nurses Protective Society, entering your College number.
- NP Professional Liability Protection fee: $183.43
Source
“Purchase the appropriate professional liability protection (PLP) coverage for Newfoundland & Labrador through the Canadian Nurses Protective Society (CNPS). RN PLP Fee ($78.20 includes HST), NP PLP fee ($183.43 includes HST). You must enter your College # when purchasing CNPS.”
nlcn.ca/apply/np-applicants/new-graduate-or-canadian-np -
Declare that you have reviewed the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador Tamper Resistant Prescription Pad Program information.
Source
“You will be required to declare that you have reviewed the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador Tamper Resistant Prescription Pad Program (TRPPP) information posted on the Department of Health and Community Services website.”
nlcn.ca/apply/np-applicants/new-graduate-or-canadian-np -
Submit the application and pay the processing fee, which is non-refundable and required before processing.
- Application processing fee: $172.50
Source
“Submit the application and pay the processing fee ($172.50 CAD includes HST).”
nlcn.ca/apply/np-applicants/new-graduate-or-canadian-np
Source
“Submit the application and pay the processing fee ($172.50 CAD includes HST). Your application won’t be processed until the fee is paid. The application fee is non-refundable.”
nlcn.ca/apply/np-applicants/new-graduate-or-canadian-np - Application processing fee: $172.50
-
Complete the initial NP licensure form and email it to the College.
Source
“Complete the initial NP licensure form (PDF) and submit to the College by email at [email protected].”
nlcn.ca/apply/np-applicants/new-graduate-or-canadian-np -
Once the College has all required information, you will get a decision within three business days.
Time: 3 daysTime source
“Once the College receives all required information you will be provided with a decision within three (3) business days.”
nlcn.ca/apply/np-applicants/new-graduate-or-canadian-npSource
“Once the College receives all required information you will be provided with a decision within three (3) business days.”
nlcn.ca/apply/np-applicants/new-graduate-or-canadian-np -
Confirm your licensure status through the College's Public Directory before starting nursing practice.
Source
“You must confirm licensure status though the College’s Public Directory. It is your responsibility to ensure they are licensed prior to commencing nursing practice.”
nlcn.ca/apply/np-applicants/new-graduate-or-canadian-np
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $355.93
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $355.93 | 100% |
| One-time total | $355.93 | 100% |
7 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $412.47 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 3 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.
- NP annual licensure fee: $412.47
Source
“The annual licensure fee is $412.47, plus Professional Liability Protection fee ($183.43) paid directly to the Canadian Nurses Protective Society (CNPS).”
nlcn.ca/apply/np-applicants/new-graduate-or-canadian-np - NP Professional Liability Protection fee: $183.43 (paid directly to the Canadian Nurses Protective Society (CNPS))
Source
“The annual licensure fee is $412.47, plus Professional Liability Protection fee ($183.43) paid directly to the Canadian Nurses Protective Society (CNPS).”
nlcn.ca/apply/np-applicants/new-graduate-or-canadian-np - Annual licensure fee: $412.47 (does not include professional liability protection)
Source
“Annual licensure fee: $412.47 (does not include professional liability protection)”
nlcn.ca/renew-your-licence/fees - NP Professional Liability Protection Core Services: $183.43 (paid directly to CNPS)
Source
“NP Professional Liability Protection Core Services: $183.43 (paid directly to CNPS)”
nlcn.ca/renew-your-licence/fees
Trained outside Canada
- Annual fees: $412.47
Steps not listed by the regulator Check with Newfoundland and Labrador College of Nurses
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- NP Family All Ages Exam (CNPE): $887.50 (paid directly to YAS)
Source
“NP Family All Ages Exam (CNPE): $887.50 (paid directly to YAS)”
nlcn.ca/renew-your-licence/fees - NP Exam Assessment fee: $86.25
- NP Exam retake assessment: $57.50
- Unauthorized Practice Fee: $100 (practicing without a valid practising licence, per day worked, up to a maximum of $1000)
Source
“Practicing without a valid practicing licence will result in an Unauthorized Practice Fee of $100 per day worked up to a maximum of $1000”
nlcn.ca/apply/np-applicants/new-graduate-or-canadian-np - Initial application processing fee: $172.50
- Practicing without a licence: $100 (per day worked to a maximum of $1,000.00 + HST)
Source
“Practicing without a licence: $100 per day worked to a maximum of $1,000.00 + HST.”
nlcn.ca/renew-your-licence/fees
Requirements
Education
Applicants must be a recent graduate of an approved NL or other Canadian nurse practitioner education program, or hold a current NP licence in another Canadian province or territory.
Source
“You are a recent graduate of an approved NL or other Canadian nurse practitioner education program.”
nlcn.ca/apply/np-applicants/new-graduate-or-canadian-np
Police check
NP applicants must meet the criminal record check requirements described on the Canadian RN Applicant page.
Source
“See Canadian RN Applicant page for requirements related to identification documents, Criminal record check, and English language proficiency.”
nlcn.ca/apply/np-applicants/new-graduate-or-canadian-np
Insurance
Applicants must purchase professional liability protection coverage for Newfoundland and Labrador through the Canadian Nurses Protective Society, and coverage from another province or territory is not accepted.
Source
“Note: CNPS coverage for another province/territory is not accepted. Coverage must be for NL.”
nlcn.ca/apply/np-applicants/new-graduate-or-canadian-np
Other
Applicants must declare that they have reviewed the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador Tamper Resistant Prescription Pad Program information.
Source
“You will be required to declare that you have reviewed the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador Tamper Resistant Prescription Pad Program (TRPPP) information posted on the Department of Health and Community Services website.”
nlcn.ca/apply/np-applicants/new-graduate-or-canadian-np
Already licensed in another province?
Extra steps
An NP licensed in another Canadian province or territory must first apply as a Registered Nurse before being assessed and approved for an NP licence, and must provide RN and NP education, licensure, exam and practice hours information. Source
“Note: you must apply as a Registered Nurse before you can be assessed and approved for an NP licence.”
nlcn.ca/apply/np-applicants/new-graduate-or-canadian-np
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Newfoundland and Labrador College of Nurses
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Newfoundland and Labrador College of Nurses
Exams
-
CNPE:F/AA licensure exam
Source
“Submit CNPE:F/AA licensure exam eligibility application and pay the processing fee ($86.25 includes HST).”
nlcn.ca/apply/np-applicants/new-graduate-or-canadian-np -
NP licensure exam
Source
“This information is for NP exam candidates who want a temporary NP licence to practice while waiting to take the NP licensure exam.”
nlcn.ca/apply/np-applicants/new-graduate-or-canadian-np
Language tests
No minimum test score stated by the regulator Check with Newfoundland and Labrador College of Nurses
Exemptions: Applicants can demonstrate English language proficiency through education, registration status, language proficiency testing, or experience. Source
“You can demonstrate English language proficiency through education, registration status, language proficiency testing, or experience.”
nlcn.ca/apply/registration-requirements
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Newfoundland and Labrador College of Nurses
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Newfoundland and Labrador College of Nurses
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Newfoundland and Labrador | $49.50 | $54.00 | $62.40 | Undetermined |
| Canada | $42.00 | $61.54 | $75.00 | — |
Wages by region and job outlook in Newfoundland and Labrador
Nurse practitioners in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Licence required
- Yukon Licence required
- Northwest Territories Licence required
- Nunavut Licence required
Sources checked
- Apply as a Nurse Practitioner in Newfoundland | Register as NPApply as a Nurse Practitioner in Newfoundland | Register as NP nlcn.ca/apply/np-applicants · fetched October 10, 2026
- New Graduate or Canadian NP - NL College of NursesNew Graduate or Canadian NP - NL College of Nurses nlcn.ca/apply/np-applicants/new-graduate-or-canadian-np · fetched October 10, 2026
- Licensure and Service Fees - NL College of NursesLicensure and Service Fees - NL College of Nurses nlcn.ca/renew-your-licence/fees · fetched October 10, 2026
- Registration Requirements for Nursing in Newfoundland & LabradorRegistration Requirements for Nursing in Newfoundland & Labrador nlcn.ca/apply/registration-requirements · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a nurse practitioner in Newfoundland and Labrador?
Yes. Registration with the Newfoundland and Labrador College of Nurses is required to practise in Newfoundland and Labrador, and to use the title Nurse Practitioner or NP.
Which exams are required?
CNPE:F/AA licensure exam, NP licensure exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.