At a glance

Licence status
Licence required See the source
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Registered Nurses of Saskatchewan

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 5 steps without a listed fee
  1. Once your exam application has been approved, complete the Application for Graduate Nurse Practitioner License available on the CRNS Portal.

    Source
    “Complete the Application for Graduate Nurse Practitioner (GNP) License, available on the CRNS Portal once your exam application has been approved.”
    crns.ca/register-license
  2. Submit a current Canadian Criminal Record Check with your GNP application.

    Source
    “Submit a current Canadian Criminal Record Check.”
    crns.ca/register-license
  3. Log in to the CRNS Portal and choose to add the Nurse Practitioner designation.

    Source
    “Login to the CRNS Portal and choose “add the Nurse Practitioner designation.””
    crns.ca/register-license
  4. Submit a current Canadian Criminal Record Check no more than six months old, then submit and pay the required fees.

    Source
    “Submit a current Canadian CRC (no more than 6 months old). - Submit and pay required fees.”
    crns.ca/register-license
  5. After you pass the NP Exam, the NP practicing application becomes available in the CRNS Portal.

    Source
    “Once you pass the NP Exam, the NP practicing application will be available in the CRNS Portal.”
    crns.ca/register-license

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with College of Registered Nurses of Saskatchewan

5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Licensed in another province

Steps not listed by the regulator Check with College of Registered Nurses of Saskatchewan

Trained outside Canada

  • 1 step without a listed fee
  1. If you completed your NP program or are licensed outside Canada and want to practice in Saskatchewan, contact the registration email address provided.

    Source
    “If you are an internationally educated NP, who completed their program or are licensed outside of Canada and want to practice in Saskatchewan contact [email protected].”
    crns.ca/register-license

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with College of Registered Nurses of Saskatchewan

1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

  • Reinstatement fee: $157.50 (if you have not completed and paid for your renewal by December 1)
    Source
    “December 1, 2026: Your license has expired if you have not completed and paid for your renewal. You will need to complete a reinstatement application by going to the CRNS Portal. An additional reinstatement fee of $157.50 will apply.”
    crns.ca/register-license/license-renewal

Requirements

Education

  • Graduate Nurse Practitioner applicants must have successfully completed an approved nurse practitioner program.

    Source
    “Successfully complete an approved nurse practitioner program.”
    crns.ca/register-license
  • Graduate Nurse Practitioner applicants must successfully complete a CDSA course if it was not part of their NP education program.

    Source
    “Successfully complete a CDSA course if not part of your NP education program.”
    crns.ca/register-license
  • NPs from another Canadian province must provide proof of successful completion of an NP education program.

    Source
    “Proof of successful completion of an NP education program.”
    crns.ca/register-license
  • NPs from another Canadian province must complete the CDSA Module from Saskatchewan Polytechnic or Athabasca University if it was not part of their NP program.

    Source
    “Proof of successful completion of the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act Module (CDSA) from Saskatchewan Polytechnic or Athabasca University if it was not part of your NP program.”
    crns.ca/register-license
  • To renew a practicing NP license, one option is to have graduated from an approved nurse practitioner education program within the last three years.

    Source
    “Option 1: Graduated from an approved nurse practitioner education program within the last three (3) years.”
    crns.ca/register-license/license-renewal

Experience

  • NPs from another Canadian province must meet recency of practice.

    Source
    “Recency of practice.”
    crns.ca/register-license

Police check

  • Graduate Nurse Practitioner applicants must submit a current Canadian Criminal Record Check.

    Source
    “Submit a current Canadian Criminal Record Check.”
    crns.ca/register-license
  • NPs from another Canadian province must provide a current Canadian Criminal Record Check.

    Source
    “Current Canadian CRC.”
    crns.ca/register-license

Other

  • Graduate Nurse Practitioner applicants must have an employer and a designated supervisor.

    Source
    “Have an employer and designated supervisor.”
    crns.ca/register-license
  • Graduate Nurse Practitioner applicants must be eligible to write the CNPE.

    Source
    “Eligible to write the CNPE.”
    crns.ca/register-license
  • NPs from another Canadian province must hold an RN license in good standing in Saskatchewan.

    Source
    “Hold an RN license in good standing in Saskatchewan.”
    crns.ca/register-license
  • NPs from another Canadian province must provide proof of passing the NP licensure exam.

    Source
    “Proof of passing the NP licensure exam.”
    crns.ca/register-license
  • NPs from another Canadian province must prove licensure in good standing as an NP in the jurisdiction where they last practised.

    Source
    “Proof of licensure in good standing as an NP in the jurisdiction last practised.”
    crns.ca/register-license

Already licensed in another province?

Not stated

The pages list requirements for NPs from another Canadian province, including proof of passing the NP licensure exam, but do not state whether registration is granted directly based on the existing licence.

Source
“Proof of passing the NP licensure exam.”
crns.ca/register-license

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Registered Nurses of Saskatchewan

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Registered Nurses of Saskatchewan

Exams

  • Canadian Nurse Practitioner Exam (CNPE)

    Source
    “The following information provided is for graduate nursing students ready to apply for the National Council Licensure Examination (NCLEX-RN) or graduate NP students ready to apply for the Canadian Nurse Practitioner Exam (CNPE).”
    crns.ca/register-license

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Registered Nurses of Saskatchewan

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Registered Nurses of Saskatchewan

Supervised practice

Not required

The CRNS offers a Supervised Practice Experience as an alternative pathway for registrants who do not meet the bylaw requirements for initial registration and/or licensure renewal.

Source
“To support registrants who do not meet the bylaw requirements for initial registration and/or licensure renewal, the CRNS introduced the Supervised Practice Experience (SPE) as an alternative pathway.”
crns.ca/register-license

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Saskatchewan and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Saskatchewan $43.04 $56.14 $67.79 Very good (5 of 5)
Canada $42.00 $61.54 $75.00 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Saskatchewan

Wages in every province and territory

Nurse practitioners in other provinces and territories

Compare nurse practitioner licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. License Renewal - College of Registered Nurses of Saskatchewan (CRNS) crns.ca/register-license/license-renewal · fetched October 10, 2026
  2. Register & License - College of Registered Nurses of Saskatchewan (CRNS) crns.ca/register-license · fetched October 10, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a nurse practitioner in Saskatchewan?

Yes. Registration with the College of Registered Nurses of Saskatchewan is required to practise in Saskatchewan, and to use the title Nurse Practitioner or NP.

Which exams are required?

Canadian Nurse Practitioner Exam (CNPE).

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.