How to Become a Dentist in Ontario
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the Royal College of Dental Surgeons of Ontario to work as a dentist in Ontario or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“If you want to practise in Ontario, you must apply for registration with the RCDSO, even if you’re already licensed elsewhere in Canada.”
From rcdso.org/become-a-dentist/out-of-province-applicants, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 6 steps
- Licensed in another province: 4 steps
- Trained outside Canada: 8 steps, listed one-time fees $8,850
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Royal College of Dental Surgeons of Ontario
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 6 done
- 6 steps without a listed fee
-
Graduates of accredited dental programs take the NDEB Written Examination and the OSCE to become certified.
Source
“You can get certified by taking the NDEB® Written Examination and OSCE.”
ndeb-bned.ca/2022/06/02/obtenir-votre-certification-et-votre-permis -
After passing the examinations, graduates provide proof of graduation to the NDEB to be issued their NDEB certificate.
Source
“Once the examinations are passed, graduates of accredited dental programs in Canada, the U.S., Australia, New Zealand, and Ireland must provide proof of graduation to the NDEB® in order to be issued their NDEB® certificate.”
ndeb-bned.ca/2022/06/02/obtenir-votre-certification-et-votre-permis -
The applicant starts their application using the RCDSO online applicant portal.
Source
“1. Start your application using our online applicant portal.”
rcdso.org/become-a-dentist/process-and-requirements -
The applicant uploads the required documents, pays the application fee, and submits the application.
Source
“2. Upload required documents, pay the application fee, and submit your application.”
rcdso.org/become-a-dentist/process-and-requirements -
After submitting, a personalized document checklist is generated for the applicant.
Source
“3. After submitting, a personalized document checklist will be generated for you.”
rcdso.org/become-a-dentist/process-and-requirements -
The application is reviewed and approved, which may include collection of additional documents.
Source
“4. Have your application reviewed and approved, which may include collection of additional documents.”
rcdso.org/become-a-dentist/process-and-requirements
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Royal College of Dental Surgeons of Ontario
6 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 4 done
- 4 steps without a listed fee
-
A dentist licensed in another Canadian province or territory applies for registration with the RCDSO through labour mobility.
Source
“If you want to practise in Ontario, you must apply for registration with the RCDSO, even if you’re already licensed elsewhere in Canada.”
rcdso.org/become-a-dentist/out-of-province-applicants -
Applicants who have been licensed in another jurisdiction must request a Certificate of Standing from each licensing authority, sent directly to the RCDSO.
Source
“You must request a Certificate of Standing from each licensing authority.”
rcdso.org/become-a-dentist/process-and-requirements -
Out-of-province applicants must still meet Ontario's standard registration requirements for the licence they are applying for.
Source
“You must still meet Ontario's standard registration requirements for the licence you are applying for.”
rcdso.org/become-a-dentist/out-of-province-applicants -
If English or French fluency was not required for the original licence, the applicant may be asked to demonstrate language proficiency.
Source
“If English or French fluency was not a requirement for your original licence, you may be asked to demonstrate language proficiency.”
rcdso.org/become-a-dentist/out-of-province-applicants
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Royal College of Dental Surgeons of Ontario
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 8 done
- Listed one-time fees: $8,850
- 7 steps without a listed fee
-
The applicant determines whether their dental program is accredited based on the list of recognized countries and graduation dates.
Source
“If you graduated from a dental program in Canada, the United States, Australia, New Zealand, or Ireland, your education is considered accredited.”
rcdso.org/become-a-dentist/international-applicants -
Graduates of accredited programs apply directly to the NDEB to complete the National certification exam, while graduates of non-accredited programs must complete either the NDEB Equivalency Process or a Qualifying or Degree Completion Program at an accredited university.
Source
“You can apply directly to the National Dental Examining Board of Canada (NDEB) to complete the National certification exam to be eligible for licensure in Ontario.”
rcdso.org/become-a-dentist/international-applicants -
Applicants going through the NDEB Equivalency Process complete the Assessment of Fundamental Knowledge, the Assessment of Clinical Judgement, and the NDECC.
- Assessment of Fundamental Knowledge (AFK): $1,000
- Assessment of Clinical Judgement (ACJ): $1,350
- NDECC: $6,500
Source
“Assessment of Fundamental Knowledge (AFK) $1000 Assessment of Clinical Judgement (ACJ) $1350 NDECC $6500”
ndeb-bned.ca/equivalency-process/fees -
Applicants who graduated from a non-accredited program and go through the NDEB Equivalency Process must provide evidence of language proficiency.
Source
“For applicants that graduated from a non-accredited program and go through the NDEB Equivalency Process, you are required to provide evidence of language proficiency.”
rcdso.org/become-a-dentist/what-you-need-to-apply -
The applicant successfully completes the College's online Ethics & Jurisprudence course, registering under the Applicant/Non-Member section.
Source
“Successful completion of the College’s online Ethics & Jurisprudence course.”
rcdso.org/become-a-dentist/what-you-need-to-apply -
The applicant starts their application using the RCDSO online applicant portal.
Source
“1. Start your application using our online applicant portal.”
rcdso.org/become-a-dentist/process-and-requirements -
The applicant uploads the required documents, pays the application fee, and submits the application.
Source
“2. Upload required documents, pay the application fee, and submit your application.”
rcdso.org/become-a-dentist/process-and-requirements -
The application is reviewed and approved, which may include collection of additional documents.
Source
“4. Have your application reviewed and approved, which may include collection of additional documents.”
rcdso.org/become-a-dentist/process-and-requirements
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $8,850
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Exams | $8,850 | 100% |
| One-time total | $8,850 | 100% |
7 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Application Fee: $900 (one time fee non-refundable)
- Equivalency Process Re-application Fee: $400 (non-refundable)
Source
“Equivalency Process Re-application Fee (non-refundable) $400”
ndeb-bned.ca/equivalency-process/fees - Verification of Score AFK, ACJ, or NDECC: $200
- Misconduct decision appeal: $1,200
- Proof of Successful Completion: $30 (each)
- Appeal of the Conduct of an Examination: $1,200
- Administrative fee: $200
- NDECC: Clinical Skills Component: $3,250
- NDECC: Situational Judgment Component: $3,250
Requirements
Education
Applicants must submit a copy of their original university dental degree or a letter from the dean certifying the date of graduation.
Source
“A copy of your original university dental degree OR a letter from the dean certifying the date of graduation.”
rcdso.org/become-a-dentist/what-you-need-to-applyGraduates of accredited programs outside Canada must have graduated on or after the specified dates for their country to be eligible.
Source
“To be eligible, you must have graduated on or after the following dates:”
rcdso.org/become-a-dentist/international-applicants
Other
Applicants must have an NDEB certificate number issued before registration can be completed.
Source
“Applicants may submit their application before receiving an NDEB certificate number, but registration cannot be completed until after a certificate number has been issued by the NDEB.”
rcdso.org/become-a-dentist/what-you-need-to-applyApplicants must successfully complete the College's online Ethics & Jurisprudence course with a passing grade of 60%.
Applicants who are Canadian citizens or permanent residents must submit proof of citizenship or permanent residency, and those who are not must submit authorization from Immigration Canada permitting them to work in Canada through the practice of dentistry.
Source
“If you are not a Canadian citizen or permanent resident, you must submit: - a copy of the authorization issued by Immigration Canada which permits you to work in Canada through the practice of dentistry.”
rcdso.org/become-a-dentist/what-you-need-to-applyApplicants who are or were licensed as a dentist or practised dentistry in another jurisdiction must request a Certificate of Standing from the regulatory authority of each jurisdiction.
Source
“If you are or were licensed as a dentist or practised dentistry in another jurisdiction in Canada or in another country, you must request: - A Certificate of Standing completed by the regulatory authority for each jurisdiction where you practised or been granted the right to practice dentistry.”
rcdso.org/become-a-dentist/what-you-need-to-applyApplicants licensed in another Canadian province or territory must be in good standing in all jurisdictions where they hold a licence to practise dentistry.
Source
“You must be in good standing in all jurisdictions where you hold a licence to practice dentistry.”
rcdso.org/become-a-dentist/out-of-province-applicantsOut-of-province applicants must be applying for an equivalent certificate to be eligible for labour mobility.
Source
“You must be applying for an equivalent certificate to be eligible for labour mobility.”
rcdso.org/become-a-dentist/out-of-province-applicants
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
Dentists licensed in another Canadian province or territory can apply for registration in Ontario through labour mobility, but licences cannot be directly transferred and they must still meet Ontario's standard registration requirements. Source
“No, dental licences cannot be directly transferred between provinces or territories.”
rcdso.org/become-a-dentist/out-of-province-applicants
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Royal College of Dental Surgeons of Ontario
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Royal College of Dental Surgeons of Ontario
Exams
-
NDEB Written Examination
Source
“You can get certified by taking the NDEB® Written Examination and OSCE.”
ndeb-bned.ca/2022/06/02/obtenir-votre-certification-et-votre-permis -
OSCE
Source
“You can get certified by taking the NDEB® Written Examination and OSCE.”
ndeb-bned.ca/2022/06/02/obtenir-votre-certification-et-votre-permis -
National certification exam
Source
“You can apply directly to the National Dental Examining Board of Canada (NDEB) to complete the National certification exam to be eligible for licensure in Ontario.”
rcdso.org/become-a-dentist/international-applicants -
Ethics & Jurisprudence course
Source
“Successful completion of the College’s online Ethics & Jurisprudence course.”
rcdso.org/become-a-dentist/what-you-need-to-apply -
Assessment of Fundamental Knowledge (AFK)
-
Assessment of Clinical Judgement (ACJ)
-
NDECC
Language tests
No minimum test score stated by the regulator Check with Royal College of Dental Surgeons of Ontario
Exemptions: Applicants who graduated from a non-accredited program and go through the NDEB Equivalency Process are required to provide evidence of language proficiency. Source
“For applicants that graduated from a non-accredited program and go through the NDEB Equivalency Process, you are required to provide evidence of language proficiency.”
rcdso.org/become-a-dentist/what-you-need-to-apply
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Royal College of Dental Surgeons of Ontario
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Royal College of Dental Surgeons of Ontario
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ontario | $37,561 | $104,000 | $210,000 | Good (4 of 5) |
| Canada | $32,867 | $110,000 | $228,000 | — |
Dentists in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Licence required
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Out of Province Applicants rcdso.org/become-a-dentist/out-of-province-applicants · fetched October 10, 2026
- International Applicants rcdso.org/become-a-dentist/international-applicants · fetched October 10, 2026
- Obtaining Certification and Licensure - The National Dental Examining Board of Canada ndeb-bned.ca/2022/06/02/obtenir-votre-certification-et-votre-permis · fetched October 9, 2026
- Application Process and Requirements rcdso.org/become-a-dentist/process-and-requirements · fetched October 10, 2026
- Fees - The National Dental Examining Board of Canada ndeb-bned.ca/equivalency-process/fees · fetched October 10, 2026
- What You Need to Apply rcdso.org/become-a-dentist/what-you-need-to-apply · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a dentist in Ontario?
Yes. Registration with the Royal College of Dental Surgeons of Ontario is required to practise in Ontario.
Which exams are required?
NDEB Written Examination, OSCE, National certification exam, Ethics & Jurisprudence course, Assessment of Fundamental Knowledge (AFK), Assessment of Clinical Judgement (ACJ), NDECC.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.