At a glance

Licence status
Certification required See the source
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 4 steps without a listed fee
  1. Before enrolling in classroom instruction you must meet the entrance requirements, which include specific high school courses or an alternative such as an entrance exam.

    Source
    “Before you enroll in classes as a registered apprentice, you'll need to meet the entrance requirements. Check the entrance requirements for your trade . - Entrance requirements include specific high school courses that you must have passed.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit...
  2. You complete the work experience and classroom instruction for each period of the apprenticeship program.

    Source
    “Theory exam required to complete each period”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0107
  3. You pass a theory exam to complete each period of the program.

    Source
    “Theory exam required to complete each period”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0107
  4. In the final period you may take the Red Seal exam as an option.

    Source
    “Red Seal exam option in final period”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0107

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Apprenticeship and Industry Training

4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Licensed in another province

  • 1 step without a listed fee
  1. You submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.

    Source
    “Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0107

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Apprenticeship and Industry Training

1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Trained outside Canada

  • 1 step without a listed fee
  1. You submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.

    Source
    “Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0107

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Apprenticeship and Industry Training

1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

Requirements

Education

Experience

  • Applicants without an Alberta Journeyperson Certificate can qualify through the Work Experience Program by completing 36 months and 4860 hours of verifiable Auto Body Refinisher work experience.

    Source
    “1. Complete 36 months and 4860 hours of verifiable Auto Body Refinisher work experience.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0107

Already licensed in another province?

Extra steps

Someone holding a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta must submit a copy of the certificate and pass a theory exam to qualify for Alberta certification.

Source
“Recognized Credentials Program 1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta. 2. Pass a theory exam.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0107

  1. Submit recognized trade certificate

    Source
    “Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0107

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Alberta and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Alberta $17.00 $28.75 $36.00 Moderate (3 of 5)
Canada $18.50 $27.00 $40.00 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Alberta

Wages in every province and territory

Automotive refinishing technicians in other provinces and territories

Compare automotive refinishing technician licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Automotive Refinishing Technician - Ellis Chart ellischart.ca/eng/trades/auto-refinish-tech/ellis-chart.shtml · fetched October 10, 2026
  2. Tradesecrets - Auto Body Technician - Auto Body Refinisher tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0107 · fetched October 10, 2026
  3. Tradesecrets - Meet Requirements tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... · fetched October 10, 2026
  4. Tradesecrets - Prior Learning Assessments tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/prior-lear... · fetched October 10, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as an automotive refinishing technician in Alberta?

Yes. Certification, or registration as an apprentice, is required to work in the trade in Alberta. Certification is managed by Apprenticeship and Industry Training.

Which exams are required?

Theory exam, Red Seal exam, PLA entrance exam.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.