At a glance

Licence status
Certification required See the source
Routes
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 4 steps without a listed fee
  1. Before enrolling in classroom instruction, meet the entrance requirements, which can be satisfied by the required high school courses, a GED or CAEC, or an entrance exam.

    Source
    “Entrance requirements: - English 10-2 and Math 10-3 - or GED/CAEC - or Entrance Exam”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0343
  2. Complete 1200 hours of work experience in period 1.

    Source
    “Period 1: - 1200 hours work experience - 6 weeks classroom instruction - Theory exam required”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0343
  3. Complete 6 weeks of classroom instruction in period 1, offered at NAIT and SAIT.

    Source
    “6 weeks in period 1 - Offered at NAIT and SAIT”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0343
  4. Pass the required theory exam for period 1.

    Source
    “Period 1: - 1200 hours work experience - 6 weeks classroom instruction - Theory exam required”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0343

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Apprenticeship and Industry Training

4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Licensed in another province

  • Listed one-time fees: $310
  • 2 steps without a listed fee
  1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.

    Source
    “1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0343
  2. Pass two theory exams.

    Source
    “2. Pass two theory exams.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0343
  3. Pass a practical exam, providing your own certified crane for the assessment.

    Source
    “3. Pass a practical exam ($310.00). - Candidates must provide their own certified crane for the assessment.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0343

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $310

One-time fees listed for Licensed in another province, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Exams $310 100%
One-time total $310 100%

2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Trained outside Canada

  • Listed one-time fees: $310
  • 2 steps without a listed fee
  1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.

    Source
    “1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0343
  2. Pass two theory exams.

    Source
    “2. Pass two theory exams.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0343
  3. Pass a practical exam, providing your own certified crane for the assessment.

    Source
    “3. Pass a practical exam ($310.00). - Candidates must provide their own certified crane for the assessment.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0343

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $310

One-time fees listed for Trained outside Canada, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Exams $310 100%
One-time total $310 100%

2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Requirements

Education

Experience

Already licensed in another province?

Direct transfer

If you hold a recognized trade certificate, you are eligible to work in Alberta without additional exams, training, or registration.

Source
“If you hold a recognized trade certificate, you are eligible to work in Alberta without additional exams, training, or registration.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/recognized-trade-certificates

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Demand and pay

No Job Bank wage or outlook data for this occupation yet.

Boom truck hoist operators in other provinces and territories

  • British Columbia Not confirmed yet
  • Saskatchewan Voluntary certification
  • Manitoba Certification required
  • Ontario Not confirmed yet
  • Quebec Not confirmed yet
  • New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
  • Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
  • Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Certification required
  • Yukon Not confirmed yet
  • Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
  • Nunavut Voluntary certification

Compare boom truck hoist operator licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Tradesecrets - Crane and Hoisting Equipment Operator - Boom Truck tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0343 · fetched October 10, 2026
  2. Tradesecrets - Recognized Trade Certificates tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/recognized-trade-certificates · fetched October 10, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a boom truck hoist operator in Alberta?

Yes. Certification, or registration as an apprentice, is required to work in the trade in Alberta. Certification is managed by Apprenticeship and Industry Training.

Which exams are required?

Theory exam, Practical exam, Entrance Exam.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.