How to Become a Communication Technician in Alberta
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Communication technician is a voluntary trade in Alberta. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“4-Period Apprenticeship Program Optional Certification”
From tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/022, checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 4 steps
- Licensed in another province: 1 step
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 4 done
- 4 steps without a listed fee
-
You must find a suitable employer who is willing to hire and train you as an apprentice.
Source
“Apprentices must find suitable employers who are willing to hire and train apprentices.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/communication-tec... -
You apply to become a registered apprentice, and you can register before meeting the entrance requirements as long as you meet the eligibility requirements.
Source
“You can register as an apprentice before you meet the entrance requirements.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... -
Before enrolling in your first period of classroom instruction you must meet the entrance requirements, which include specific high school courses, or pass an entrance exam instead.
Source
“Entrance requirements include specific high school courses that you must have passed.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... -
You complete four 12-month periods with on-the-job training hours and classroom instruction, passing a theory exam to complete each period.
Source
“The term of apprenticeship in Alberta is 4 years (four 12-month periods) that include a minimum of 1,500 hours of on-the-job training each year plus 6 weeks of classroom instruction in each of the first three years and 8 weeks of classroom instruction in the fourth year.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/communication-tec...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 1 done
- 1 step without a listed fee
-
You submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.
Source
“1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/022
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Entrance exam fee: $150
Source
“There is a $150 fee for writing an entrance exam.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/ent... - PLA entrance exam application fee: $150
Source
“There is a $150 fee for this application.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/prior-lear... - Communication Technician: Prior Learning Assessment Fee (each period): $150
Source
“| Communication Technician | 1,2,3,4 | $150.00 each | n/a |”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/prior-lear...
Requirements
Education
Before enrolling in classroom instruction you must meet entrance requirements, which include specific high school courses that you must have passed.
Source
“Entrance requirements include specific high school courses that you must have passed.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit...
Experience
Through the Trades Qualifier Work Experience Program you must complete 72 months and 9000 hours of verifiable Communication Technician work experience.
Source
“1. Complete 72 months and 9000 hours of verifiable Communication Technician work experience.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/022
Other
Work Experience Program applicants must provide an Employer Declaration Letter.
Source
“3. Provide an Employer Declaration Letter (EDL).”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/022
Already licensed in another province?
Extra steps
Communication technicians trained in other provinces can work in Alberta if they hold a recognized certificate or license, and the Recognized Credentials Program requires submitting that certificate and passing a theory exam. Source
“Communication technicians trained in other provinces and territories can work in Alberta if they hold a certificate or license recognized by Alberta or have the skills and knowledge expected of a journeyperson certified in Alberta.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/communication-tec...
Submit recognized certificate
Source
“1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/022
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Exams
-
Entrance exam
Source
“There is a $150 fee for writing an entrance exam.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/ent... -
Theory exam
Source
“Theory exam required to complete each period”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/022
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alberta | $25.00 | $37.05 | $42.86 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $21.63 | $33.80 | $42.86 | — |
Communication technicians in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Voluntary certification
- Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba Not confirmed yet
- Ontario Not confirmed yet
- Quebec Voluntary certification
- New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Voluntary certification
- Nunavut Voluntary certification
Sources checked
- Tradesecrets - Communication Technician tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/022 · fetched October 10, 2026
- Communication Technician: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/communication-tec... · fetched October 8, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Meet Requirements tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... · fetched October 9, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Entrance Exams tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/ent... · fetched October 9, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Prior Learning Assessments tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/prior-lear... · fetched October 9, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a communication technician in Alberta?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Alberta. Certification is managed by Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training.
Which exams are required?
Entrance exam, Theory exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.