How to Become a Community Planner in Alberta
Do you need a licence?
Title protected
Registration is needed to use the title Registered Professional Planner or RPP in Alberta. The work itself does not need a licence.
- Protected titles
- Registered Professional Planner, RPP
Show the source
“This means that to call yourself a Registered Professional Planner or RPP, you must be a certified and registered member of the Alberta Professional Planners Institute (APPI) .”
From alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/community-planner, checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Title protected See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 9 steps
- Licensed in another province: 2 steps
- Trained outside Canada: 2 steps
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with APPI
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 9 done
- 9 steps without a listed fee
-
You must complete an assessment from the Professional Standards Board, choosing among the accredited degree, reciprocal agreement, or prior learning assessment recognition options.
Source
“In order to become one, you must complete an Assessment from the Professional Standards Board. There are three types of assessment: Accredited Degree, Reciprocal Agreement, Prior Learning Assessment Recognition (PLAR)”
albertaplanners.com/content/road-rpp -
You must pay a separate assessment fee directly to the Professional Standards Board.
Source
“The member must pay a Separate Assessment Fee directly to the Professional Standards Board.”
albertaplanners.com/content/road-rpp -
Once the PSB finds you eligible, it advises APPI and the APPI Registration Committee vets your Candidate membership.
Source
“Once the PSB has assessed the applicant as eligible to proceed to Candidate membership, the PSB will advise APPI and the APPI Registration Committee will vet your Candidate membership.”
albertaplanners.com/content/road-rpp -
APPI notifies you by email of your official Candidate membership acceptance and issues a separate invoice for the current year member dues.
Source
“APPI will advise you by email of your official Candidate membership acceptance and issue a separate invoice for the current year member dues.”
albertaplanners.com/content/road-rpp -
Once confirmed as a Candidate Member, you must select a mentor and submit their information through the candidate portal on PSB, with the mentorship period lasting a minimum of one year.
Source
“Once you have been confirmed as a Candidate Member, you must select a mentor and submit their information through the candidate portal on PSB. A Mentor will help in your professional growth and your development of specific competencies. Your mentorship period will last a minimum of one year.”
albertaplanners.com/content/road-rpp -
You must document and demonstrate a minimum amount of practical professional planning work experience verified by a Registered Member sponsor, with the minimum years depending on your assessment route.
Source
“Candidate members must document and demonstrate a minimum amount of practical professional planning work experience, verified by a Registered Member sponsor. The minimum number of years of full-time (or equivalent) experience required for individuals will vary depending on which route they achieved Candidate membership through.”
albertaplanners.com/content/road-rpp -
You must successfully complete the Ethics & Professionalism Course and its multiple-choice test at any time after Candidate membership is confirmed, but before sitting the Professional examination.
Source
“You may take the Ethics & Professionalism Course and test at any time after we have confirmed your Candidate membership, but it must be successfully completed before you are eligible to sit the Professional examination”
albertaplanners.com/content/road-rpp -
You apply to PSB to write the Professional Examination, which is offered twice a year, and can only do so after successfully completing all other requirements.
Source
“You will need to apply to PSB to write the Professional Examination and can only do so if you have successfully completed all the other requirements.”
albertaplanners.com/content/road-rpp -
After you pass the examination, PSB advises APPI and the APPI Registration Committee vets and confirms your RPP membership and you receive an official letter.
Source
“The PSB will advise APPI once you have passed the examination, and the APPI Registration Committee will vet and confirm your RPP membership. You will receive an official letter.”
albertaplanners.com/content/road-rpp
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with APPI
9 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 2 done
- 2 steps without a listed fee
-
You make a transfer request with your existing Provincial and Territorial Institutes and Associations to transfer your membership to APPI.
Source
“If you would like to transfer your membership from another PTIA to APPI, simply make a transfer request with your existing PTIA.”
albertaplanners.com/content/changing-member-status-and-transfers -
In most cases, transfer applications are fully processed and approved within five business days or less.
Source
“In most cases, transfer applications are fully processed and approved within five business days or less.”
albertaplanners.com/content/changing-member-status-and-transfers
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with APPI
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 2 done
- 2 steps without a listed fee
-
If you hold a non-accredited degree and are employed in professional planning, you can acquire the competencies for the profession through the Prior Learning Assessment Recognition route.
Source
“The PLAR route offers those with a non-accredited degree who are employed in professional planning to acquire the competencies for the planning profession via professional experience.”
albertaplanners.com/content/categories -
After the PLAR assessment, you proceed through the same Road to RPP steps of mentorship, logging work experience, the Ethics and Professionalism Course, and the Professional Examination.
Source
“There are three types of assessment: Accredited Degree, Reciprocal Agreement, Prior Learning Assessment Recognition (PLAR)”
albertaplanners.com/content/road-rpp
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with APPI
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- APPI Professional Practitioner Course and Written Exam fee: $625
Source
“Register using the online system: click here. The fee is $625.00, no GST and the Course Notes, Confirmation Letter with PreCourse Assignment and the Course Reading Booklet will be emailed to you upon receipt of payment.”
albertaplanners.com/professional-development/appi-courses
Requirements
Education
To begin the Road to RPP you must have an accredited degree or any degree and be employed in professional planning.
Source
“If you have an accredited degree or any degree, AND you are employed in professional planning, your first step is to become a Candidate Member.”
albertaplanners.com/content/road-rpp
Experience
Candidate members must document and demonstrate a minimum amount of practical professional planning work experience verified by a Registered Member sponsor, with the minimum years varying by assessment route.
Source
“Candidate members must document and demonstrate a minimum amount of practical professional planning work experience, verified by a Registered Member sponsor. The minimum number of years of full-time (or equivalent) experience required for individuals will vary depending on which route they achieved Candidate membership through.”
albertaplanners.com/content/road-rppAll Candidate members seeking RPP status must participate in a mentorship program for a minimum of one year.
Source
“All Candidate members seeking certified Registered Professional Planners (RPP) status are required to participate in a mentorship program for a minimum of one year, to support the responsible professional planning experience (sponsorship) requirement.”
albertaplanners.com/membership/roles-employers-members
Other
Members transferring to APPI must be members in good standing with their existing PTIA.
Source
“Members transferring to APPI from another PTIA are not required to pay any additional fees as long as they are members in good standing with their existing PTIA, nor are they required to undertake any additional certification requirements.”
albertaplanners.com/content/changing-member-status-and-transfers
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
Members transferring to APPI from another PTIA are not required to pay any additional fees or undertake any additional certification requirements as long as they are members in good standing with their existing PTIA. Source
“Members transferring to APPI from another PTIA are not required to pay any additional fees as long as they are members in good standing with their existing PTIA, nor are they required to undertake any additional certification requirements.”
albertaplanners.com/content/changing-member-status-and-transfers
Request transfer
Source
“If you would like to transfer your membership from another PTIA to APPI, simply make a transfer request with your existing PTIA.”
albertaplanners.com/content/changing-member-status-and-transfers
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with APPI
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with APPI
Exams
-
Professional Examination
Source
“The Professional Examination is a formal, multiple choice Examination that is offered twice in each year – once in the Spring and once in the Fall.”
albertaplanners.com/content/road-rpp -
written exam
Source
“The written exam is one of the requirements for membership for all Candidate members without a planning degree from a recognized program.”
albertaplanners.com/professional-development/appi-courses -
Oral examination
Source
“Candidates who receive a passing grade on the exam, will be required to submit their logbooks and then pass the Oral examination.”
albertaplanners.com/professional-development/appi-courses
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with APPI
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with APPI
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with APPI
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alberta | $24.04 | $52.50 | $65.00 | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Canada | $28.21 | $46.15 | $65.00 | — |
Community planners in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Not confirmed yet
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Not confirmed yet
- Ontario Not confirmed yet
- Quebec Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Community Planner: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/community-planner · fetched October 10, 2026
- The Road to RPP | Alberta Professional Planners Institute albertaplanners.com/content/road-rpp · fetched October 11, 2026
- Changing Member Status and Transfers | Alberta Professional Planners Institute albertaplanners.com/content/changing-member-status-and-transfers · fetched October 11, 2026
- Categories | Alberta Professional Planners Institute albertaplanners.com/content/categories · fetched October 11, 2026
- Roles of Employers & Members | Alberta Professional Planners Institute albertaplanners.com/membership/roles-employers-members · fetched October 10, 2026
- APPI Courses | Alberta Professional Planners Institute albertaplanners.com/professional-development/appi-courses · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a community planner in Alberta?
No. Only the title is protected in Alberta. Registration with the Alberta Professional Planners Institute is needed to use the title Registered Professional Planner or RPP.
Which exams are required?
Professional Examination, written exam, Oral examination.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.