How to Become a Concrete Finisher in Alberta
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Concrete finisher is a voluntary trade in Alberta. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“3-Period Apprenticeship Program Optional Certification”
From tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/048, checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 4 steps
- Licensed in another province: 1 step
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 4 done
- 4 steps without a listed fee
-
You must find a suitable employer who is willing to hire and train you as an apprentice.
Source
“Apprentices must find suitable employers who are willing to hire and train apprenticess.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/concrete-finisher -
You apply to become a registered apprentice once you meet the registration eligibility requirements.
Source
“Before you apply to become a registered apprentice, make sure you are eligible.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... -
Before enrolling in your first period of classroom instruction, you must meet the entrance requirements, such as passing specific high school courses or an entrance exam.
Source
“You can register as an apprentice before you meet the entrance requirements. - You must meet them before you enroll in your first period”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... -
You complete the three-year apprenticeship, which includes on-the-job training hours and weeks of classroom instruction in the first and second years.
Source
“The term of apprenticeship in Alberta is 3 years (three 12-month periods) that include 1,200 hours of on-the-job training in each period and 4 weeks of classroom instruction in the first and second years.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/concrete-finisher
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 1 done
- 1 step without a listed fee
-
You submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.
Source
“Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/048
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Requirements
Education
Before enrolling in classroom instruction as a registered apprentice, you must meet entrance requirements, which include specific high school courses you must have passed.
Source
“Entrance requirements include specific high school courses that you must have passed.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit...
Experience
Applicants to the Trades Qualifier Work Experience Program must complete 36 months and 5040 hours of verifiable Concrete Finisher work experience.
Source
“Complete 36 months and 5040 hours of verifiable Concrete Finisher work experience.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/048
Already licensed in another province?
Extra steps
Concrete finishers trained in other provinces can work in Alberta if they hold a recognized certificate or licence, and those without an Alberta certificate must qualify through the Recognized Credentials Program, which requires submitting their certificate and passing a theory exam. Source
“Concrete finishers trained in other provinces and territories can work in Alberta if they hold a certificate or license recognized by Alberta or have the skills and knowledge expected of a journeyperson certified in Alberta.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/concrete-finisher
Submit recognized trade certificate
Source
“Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/048
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Exams
-
entrance exam
Source
“Take an entrance exam to show you’re ready.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... -
Red Seal exam
Source
“Trades Qualifier candidates generally need to pass the Red Seal exam to be certified, after meeting all other program requirements.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/typ...
Language tests
No minimum test score stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Exemptions: The pages do not state any language test exemptions. Source
“The certification information in this profile may change at any time and without notice.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/concrete-finisher
Canadian experience
The pages do not state any Canadian experience requirement. Source
“Concrete finishers trained in other provinces and territories can work in Alberta if they hold a certificate or license recognized by Alberta or have the skills and knowledge expected of a journeyperson certified in Alberta.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/concrete-finisher
Supervised practice
Not required
The pages do not state a supervised practice requirement. Source
“To perform restricted activities, you must be: - a registered apprentice, or - working at a journeyperson level in the opinion of your employer (journeyperson certification optional).”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/048
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alberta | $25.00 | $32.00 | $41.00 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $24.50 | $34.00 | $43.47 | — |
Concrete finishers in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Voluntary certification
- Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba Voluntary certification
- Ontario Voluntary certification
- Quebec Certification required
- New Brunswick Voluntary certification
- Nova Scotia Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador Voluntary certification
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Tradesecrets - Concrete Finisher tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/048 · fetched October 10, 2026
- Concrete Finisher: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/concrete-finisher · fetched October 8, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Meet Requirements tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... · fetched October 9, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Types of Exams tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/typ... · fetched October 9, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a concrete finisher in Alberta?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Alberta. Certification is managed by Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training.
Which exams are required?
entrance exam, Red Seal exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.