How to Become a Construction Electrician in Alberta
Do you need certification?
Certification required
Construction electrician is a compulsory trade in Alberta. You need a certificate, or registration as an apprentice, to work in the trade.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Compulsory Certification”
From tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/003, checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Certification required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 5 steps
- Licensed in another province: 4 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Trained outside Canada: 4 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 5 done
- 5 steps without a listed fee
-
You apply to become a registered apprentice and can begin working on the job before meeting the entrance requirements for classroom instruction.
Source
“You can register and start one part of your apprenticeship journey while working toward the other requirements.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... -
Before enrolling in your first period of classroom instruction you must meet the entrance requirements, such as specific high school courses, a GED or CAEC, or an entrance exam.
Source
“You must meet them before you enroll in your first period classroom instruction.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... -
You must pass a theory exam to complete each period of the program.
Source
“Theory exam required to complete each period”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/003 -
After completing the program you receive both Construction Electrician and Industrial Electrician journeyperson certificates and can optionally write Red Seal exams.
Source
“If you successfully complete your Electrician Apprenticeship Education Program on or after May 1, 2026, you will receive:”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/003/electrician-...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 4 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 3 steps without a listed fee
- Listed time: 0.9 to 1.4 months (only 1 of 4 steps state a time)
-
You begin your application online, upload a clear copy of your trade certificate, and pay the non-refundable application fee.
- Application fee: $150 (non-refundable)
Source
“Pay the non-refundable $150 (CAD) application fee.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
Source
“Begin your application by clicking Apply Now”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/... - Application fee: $150 (non-refundable)
-
Time: 4 to 6 weeks
Time source
“Processing time is approximately 4 to 6 weeks.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...Source
“We review your application and verify your trade certificate with the issuing jurisdiction.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/... -
You must pass a theory exam, and you are notified of the date, time, and location through your MyTradesecrets profile.
Source
“All trades require a theory exam, and [some also require a practical exam]”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/... -
If you complete all program requirements within 18 months, your journeyperson certificate and wallet card are mailed to you.
Source
“If you complete all Trades Qualifier – Recognized Credential program requirements within 18 months, your journeyperson certificate and wallet card is mailed to you.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 4 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 3 steps without a listed fee
- Listed time: 0.9 to 1.4 months (only 1 of 4 steps state a time)
-
You begin your application online, upload a clear copy of your trade certificate translated into English if needed, and pay the non-refundable application fee.
- Application fee: $150 (non-refundable)
Source
“Pay the non-refundable $150 (CAD) application fee.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
Source
“Documents written in a language other than English must be translated into English by a member of a recognized translator association.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/... - Application fee: $150 (non-refundable)
-
Time: 4 to 6 weeks
Time source
“Processing time is approximately 4 to 6 weeks.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...Source
“If your recognized credential is from outside Canada, it may take longer.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/... -
You must pass a theory exam, and you are notified of the date, time, and location through your MyTradesecrets profile.
Source
“All trades require a theory exam, and [some also require a practical exam]”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/... -
If you complete all program requirements within 18 months, your journeyperson certificate and wallet card are mailed to you.
Source
“If you complete all Trades Qualifier – Recognized Credential program requirements within 18 months, your journeyperson certificate and wallet card is mailed to you.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Requirements
Education
Entrance requirements for classroom instruction include English 20-2, Math 20-3, and Science 10, or a GED/CAEC, or an entrance exam.
Source
“English 20-2, Math 20-3, and Science 10 - or GED/CAEC - or Entrance Exam”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/003
Experience
Applicants to the work experience program must complete 72 months and 9180 hours of verifiable Electrician work experience.
Source
“1. Complete 72 months and 9180 hours of verifiable Electrician work experience.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/003
Already licensed in another province?
Extra steps
Electricians from other provinces can work in Alberta if they hold a recognized certificate, but to obtain an Alberta certificate through the recognized credentials program they must submit their certificate and pass a theory exam. Source
“Electricians from other provinces and territories can work in Alberta if they hold a certificate or license recognized by Alberta.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/electrician
Submit recognized certificate
Source
“1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/003
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Exams
-
Theory exam
Source
“Theory exam required to complete each period”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/003 -
Red Seal exam
-
Entrance exam
Source
“If you don’t meet the high school entrance requirements, you’ll need to pass an entrance exam before registering in apprenticeship classroom instruction.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/typ...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alberta | $21.50 | $38.00 | $46.00 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $20.00 | $35.00 | $48.00 | — |
Construction electricians in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Certification required
- Saskatchewan Certification required
- Manitoba Certification required
- Ontario Certification required
- Quebec Certification required
- New Brunswick Certification required
- Nova Scotia Certification required
- Prince Edward Island Certification required
- Newfoundland and Labrador Certification required
- Yukon Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories Voluntary certification
- Nunavut Voluntary certification
Sources checked
- Tradesecrets - Electrician tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/003 · fetched October 10, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Meet Requirements tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... · fetched October 9, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Electrician Certification Updates (2026) tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/003/electrician-... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Trades Qualifier- Recognized Credential Program Details tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/... · fetched October 9, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Types of Exams tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/typ... · fetched October 9, 2026
- Electrician: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/electrician · fetched October 8, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a construction electrician in Alberta?
Yes. Certification, or registration as an apprentice, is required to work in the trade in Alberta. Certification is managed by Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training.
Which exams are required?
Theory exam, Red Seal exam, Entrance exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.