At a glance

Licence status
Title protected See the source
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with ASRA

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 5 steps without a listed fee
  • Listed time: 3 months (only 1 of 5 steps state a time)
  1. After completing your schooling, apply for Participating Membership with the ASRA and the Registrar will contact you to confirm your status.

    Source
    “Apply for your membership here, and the Registrar will be in touch with you shortly to confirm your status”
    asraonline.com/for-the-public/apply-now
  2. Work as a Participating Member for one full year under the supervision of a firm owner or other supervising reporter in good standing with the ASRA.

    Source
    “You must work as a Participating Member for one full year under the supervision of a firm owner or other supervising reporter who is in good standing with the ASRA before you can apply to become a Certified Shorthand Reporter.”
    asraonline.com/for-the-public/apply-now
  3. When your year as a Participating Member is complete, contact the Registrar to say you are ready to obtain your CSR(A) designation.

    Source
    “It is your responsibility to contact the Registrar when your year as a Participating Member is complete.”
    asraonline.com/for-the-public/apply-now
  4. Obtain a signed and dated letter of recommendation from your supervisor or firm owner who is a member in good standing with the ASRA, and provide the Registrar with a copy of your diploma and the letter.

    Source
    “Obtain a signed and dated letter of recommendation from your supervisor or firm owner who is a member in good standing with the ASRA ... Provide the Registrar with a copy of your diploma and the letter of recommendation”
    asraonline.com/for-the-public/apply-now
  5. Allow three months from the date of application for the Registration Committee to review and respond to your CSR(A) application.

    Time: 3 months
    Time source
    “Please allow us three months from the date of application for our Registration Committee to review and respond.”
    asraonline.com/for-the-public/apply-now
    Source
    “Please allow us three months from the date of application for our Registration Committee to review and respond.”
    asraonline.com/for-the-public/apply-now

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with ASRA

5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Licensed in another province

  • 4 steps without a listed fee
  1. Source
    “If you are an international or out-of-province applicant, there are three options to obtain your certification in Alberta”
    asraonline.com/for-the-public/apply-now
  2. If you graduated from an NCRA-accredited school or have five years of work experience, apply to the ASRA as a Participating Member, sending a letter of reference from your employer proving your five years' experience if applicable.

    Source
    “If you have graduated from an NCRA-accredited school, you may apply to the ASRA as a Participating Member. ... If you have five years of work experience, you may apply to become a Participating Member with the ASRA. Please send a letter of reference from your employer to the Registrar at [email protected] proving your five years’ experience.”
    asraonline.com/for-the-public/apply-now
  3. Work as a Participating Member for one year under the supervision of a firm owner or supervising reporter in good standing with the ASRA.

    Source
    “Once approved, you must work as a Participating Member for one year under the supervision of a firm owner or supervising reporter in good standing with the ASRA before you can obtain your CSR(A) designation.”
    asraonline.com/for-the-public/apply-now
  4. If you hold the RPR designation you are automatically eligible to apply for your CSR(A) designation; otherwise, after your supervised year, apply following the standard CSR(A) application process.

    Source
    “If you have obtained your RPR designation, you are automatically eligible to apply for your CSR(A) designation.”
    asraonline.com/for-the-public/apply-now

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with ASRA

4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Trained outside Canada

  • 4 steps without a listed fee
  1. Source
    “If you are an international or out-of-province applicant, there are three options to obtain your certification in Alberta”
    asraonline.com/for-the-public/apply-now
  2. If you graduated from an NCRA-accredited school or have five years of work experience, apply to the ASRA as a Participating Member, sending a letter of reference from your employer proving your five years' experience if applicable.

    Source
    “If you have graduated from an NCRA-accredited school, you may apply to the ASRA as a Participating Member. ... If you have five years of work experience, you may apply to become a Participating Member with the ASRA.”
    asraonline.com/for-the-public/apply-now
  3. Work as a Participating Member for one year under the supervision of a firm owner or supervising reporter in good standing with the ASRA.

    Source
    “You must work as a Participating Member for one year under the supervision of a firm owner or supervising reporter in good standing with the ASRA before you can obtain your CSR(A) designation.”
    asraonline.com/for-the-public/apply-now
  4. If you hold the RPR designation you are automatically eligible to apply for your CSR(A) designation; otherwise, after your supervised year, apply following the standard CSR(A) application process.

    Source
    “If you have obtained your RPR designation, you are automatically eligible to apply for your CSR(A) designation.”
    asraonline.com/for-the-public/apply-now

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with ASRA

4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

  • Certificate of completion charge: $67 (for obtaining the certificate of completion of the Indigenous Canada MOOC)
    Source
    “There is a charge for obtaining the certificate of completion. At the time of writing, it is $67.”
    asraonline.com/members/continuing-education

Requirements

Education

  • You must have graduated from a National Court Reporters Association recognized school of court reporting, or alternatively have at least 5 years of work experience as a court reporter.

    Source
    “has graduated from a National Court Reporters Association recognized school of court reporting, or has at least 5 years of work experience as a court reporter.”
    asraonline.com/shop/membership-subscription

Experience

  • You must have been registered as a participating member for at least one year immediately before the date of the application, unless you passed the ASRA CSR examination or both portions of the NCRA RPR examination.

    Source
    “been registered as a participating member for at least one year immediately before the date of the application”
    asraonline.com/shop/membership-subscription

Good character

Other

Already licensed in another province?

Not stated

The page says court reporters registered and in good standing with a regulatory body elsewhere in Canada may be eligible for registration in Alberta if their scope of practice and competencies are similar, but does not state whether extra steps are required.

Source
“Court or shorthand reporters who are registered and in good standing with a regulatory body elsewhere in Canada may be eligible for registration in Alberta if their scope of practice and competencies are similar.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/court-or-shorthan...

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with ASRA

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with ASRA

Exams

  • Alberta Shorthand Reporters Association's Certified Shorthand Reporter examination

    Source
    “successfully passed the Alberta Shorthand Reporters Association's Certified Shorthand Reporter examination,”
    asraonline.com/shop/membership-subscription
  • National Court Reporters Association's Registered Professional Reporter examination

    Source
    “successfully passed both portions of the National Court Reporters Association's Registered Professional Reporter examination, or”
    asraonline.com/shop/membership-subscription

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with ASRA

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with ASRA

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with ASRA

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Alberta and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Alberta $17.00 $27.41 $34.60 Good (4 of 5)
Canada $17.00 $26.00 $36.06 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Alberta

Wages in every province and territory

Court reporters in other provinces and territories

  • British Columbia Not confirmed yet
  • Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
  • Manitoba Not confirmed yet
  • Ontario Not confirmed yet
  • Quebec Not confirmed yet
  • New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
  • Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
  • Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
  • Yukon Not confirmed yet
  • Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
  • Nunavut Not confirmed yet

Compare court reporter licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Court or Shorthand Reporter: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/court-or-shorthan... · fetched October 10, 2026
  2. Apply Now - Alberta Shorthand Reporters Association asraonline.com/for-the-public/apply-now · fetched October 10, 2026
  3. Membership Subscription - Alberta Shorthand Reporters Association asraonline.com/shop/membership-subscription · fetched October 10, 2026
  4. Continuing Education - Alberta Shorthand Reporters Association asraonline.com/members/continuing-education · fetched October 10, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a court reporter in Alberta?

No. Only the title is protected in Alberta. Registration with the Alberta Shorthand Reporters Association is needed to use the title Certified Shorthand Reporter.

Which exams are required?

Alberta Shorthand Reporters Association's Certified Shorthand Reporter examination, National Court Reporters Association's Registered Professional Reporter examination.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.