At a glance

Licence status
Licence required See the source
Routes
Not stated by the regulator Check with Government of Alberta
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with Government of Alberta

Your roadmap

The steps are not listed yet.

Check the current steps with Government of Alberta.

Requirements

Education

Police check

  • Applicants must provide a criminal record check and vulnerable sector search no more than 90 days old done by an approved police agency.

    Source
    “Provide a criminal record check and vulnerable sector search that is no more than 90 days old done by an approved police agency”
    alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/driving-instructor

Other

Already licensed in another province?

Not stated

The page says driving instructors licensed elsewhere in Canada may be eligible for licensing in Alberta if the jurisdictions have similar responsibilities and competencies, but does not state whether they can register directly or must complete extra steps.

Source
“Driving instructors who are licensed by and in good standing with a regulatory organization elsewhere in Canada may be eligible for licensing in Alberta if instructors in the 2 jurisdictions have similar responsibilities and competencies.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/driving-instructor

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Government of Alberta

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with Government of Alberta

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Government of Alberta

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Government of Alberta

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with Government of Alberta

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Alberta and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Alberta $15.57 $21.16 $34.07 Moderate (3 of 5)
Canada $15.00 $20.00 $31.50 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Alberta

Wages in every province and territory

Driving instructors in other provinces and territories

  • British Columbia Not confirmed yet
  • Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
  • Manitoba Licence required
  • Ontario Not confirmed yet
  • Quebec Not confirmed yet
  • New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
  • Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
  • Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
  • Yukon Not confirmed yet
  • Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
  • Nunavut Not confirmed yet

Compare driving instructor licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Driving Instructor: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/driving-instructor · fetched October 10, 2026
  2. Class 1 Learning Pathway | Alberta.ca alberta.ca/class-1-learning-pathway · fetched October 10, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a driving instructor in Alberta?

Yes. Registration with Government of Alberta is required to practise in Alberta.

Which exams are required?

knowledge and on-road driver training exams.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.