At a glance

Licence status
Voluntary certification See the source
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 3 steps without a listed fee
  1. Before applying to become a registered apprentice, make sure you meet the registration eligibility requirements.

    Source
    “Before you apply to become a registered apprentice, make sure you are eligible.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit...
  2. Apply to become a registered apprentice, and you can begin working on the job before meeting the entrance requirements for classroom instruction.

    Source
    “Begin working on the job before you meet entrance requirements for classroom instruction”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit...
  3. Before enrolling in your first period of classroom instruction, you must meet the entrance requirements, which include specific high school courses, or pass an entrance exam if you have not passed the required courses.

    Source
    “You must meet them before you enroll in your first period [classroom instruction]”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit...

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Licensed in another province

  • 3 steps without a listed fee
  1. Obtain a minimum of 48 months and 7,200 hours of work experience in the trade.

    Source
    “A minimum of 48 months AND 7,200 hours of work experience.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/209
  2. Provide successful completion and verification of either a recognized credential similar to the trade issued from another jurisdiction or a letter from the Quality Control Council of Canada.

    Source
    “Successful completion and verification of ONE of the below: a recognized credential similar to the Field Heat Treatment Technician trade issued from another jurisdiction, OR a Letter from Quality Control Council of Canada (Prairie Heat Treatment Training Fund).”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/209
  3. Pass a successful theory exam.

    Source
    “A successful theory exam.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/209

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Trained outside Canada

  • 3 steps without a listed fee
  1. Obtain a minimum of 72 months and 10,800 hours of work experience in the trade.

    Source
    “A minimum of 72 months AND 10,800 hours of work experience.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/209
  2. Provide an Employer Declaration Letter.

    Source
    “An Employer Declaration Letter (EDL).”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/209
  3. Pass a successful theory exam.

    Source
    “A successful theory exam.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/209

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

Requirements

Education

Experience

Already licensed in another province?

Not stated

The page says field heat treatment technicians with legislated certification in good standing elsewhere in Canada may be eligible for certification in Alberta, but does not state whether this is direct or requires extra steps.

Source
“Field heat treatment technicians with legislated certification in good standing elsewhere in Canada may be eligible for certification in Alberta.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/field-heat-treatm...

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Demand and pay

No Job Bank wage or outlook data for this occupation yet.

Field heat treatment technicians in other provinces and territories

  • British Columbia Not confirmed yet
  • Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
  • Manitoba Not confirmed yet
  • Ontario Not confirmed yet
  • Quebec Not confirmed yet
  • New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
  • Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
  • Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
  • Yukon Not confirmed yet
  • Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
  • Nunavut Not confirmed yet

Compare field heat treatment technician licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Tradesecrets - Optional Certification Trades tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/optional-certification-tr... · fetched October 8, 2026
  2. Tradesecrets - Meet Requirements tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... · fetched October 9, 2026
  3. Tradesecrets - Field Heat Treatment Technician tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/209 · fetched October 10, 2026
  4. Tradesecrets - Entrance Exams tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/ent... · fetched October 9, 2026
  5. Tradesecrets - Prior Learning Assessments tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/prior-lear... · fetched October 9, 2026
  6. Field Heat Treatment Technician: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/field-heat-treatm... · fetched October 8, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a field heat treatment technician in Alberta?

No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Alberta. Certification is managed by Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training.

Which exams are required?

theory exam, PLA entrance exam.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.