At a glance

Licence status
Licence required See the source
Routes
Not stated by the regulator Check with CAPF
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with CAPF

Your roadmap

The steps are not listed yet.

Check the current steps with College of Alberta Professional Foresters.

Requirements

Education

Experience

  • Applicants need at least 2 years of suitable post-graduate work experience as a forester-in-training, or an equivalent.

    Source
    “At least 2 years of suitable post-graduate work experience as a forester-in-training, or equivalent”
    alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/forester

Other

  • Applicants must successfully complete the college's professional examination on Alberta forest policy and legislation.

    Source
    “Successful completion of the college's professional examination on Alberta forest policy and legislation”
    alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/forester

Already licensed in another province?

Not stated

The page says foresters registered and in good standing elsewhere in Canada may be eligible for registration in Alberta if the jurisdictions have similar responsibilities and competencies, but does not state whether extra steps are required.

Source
“Foresters who are registered and in good standing with a regulatory organization elsewhere in Canada may be eligible for registration in Alberta if registered foresters in Alberta and the jurisdiction which the applicant originates have similar responsibilities and competencies.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/forester

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with CAPF

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with CAPF

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with CAPF

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with CAPF

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with CAPF

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Alberta and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Alberta $30.58 $45.88 $65.54 Limited (2 of 5)
Canada $31.39 $47.00 $62.50 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Alberta

Wages in every province and territory

Foresters in other provinces and territories

Compare forester licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Forester: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/forester · fetched October 9, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a forester in Alberta?

Yes. Registration with the College of Alberta Professional Foresters is required to practise in Alberta.

Which exams are required?

the college's professional examination on Alberta forest policy and legislation.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.