At a glance

Licence status
Title protected See the source
Routes
Annual fees

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
  • 3 steps without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $85
  • Listed time: 24 months (only 1 of 4 steps state a time)
  1. Complete a degree program and obtain official transcripts confirming the degree.

    Source
    “You may be eligible for registration in the Candidate Human Ecologist program as soon as official transcripts confirming your degree are available.”
    ahea.ab.ca/page-1478877
  2. Apply to the Candidate Human Ecologist program right after graduation, since employment is not required at the time of application.

    • Candidate membership fee: $85 (for Candidate members)
      Source
      “Candidate - $85.00 (CAD) Subscription period: 1 year, on: May 1st Renew manually This category is for members who have met the educational qualifications for membership and are in the process of completing the practice (work/volunteer) experience requirements for professional status.”
      ahea.ab.ca/page-1447130
    Source
    “We suggest you become a Candidate Human Ecologist immediately after graduation, as it is not necessary to be employed at the time of your application.”
    ahea.ab.ca/page-1478877
  3. Complete 1500 hours of practice (work/volunteer) experience within two years, with the possibility of an extension if warranted, under the guidance of a professional advisor.

    Time: 2 years
    Time source
    “Applicants to the program have 2 years to complete the required 1500 hours of practice (work/volunteer) experience, with the possibility for an extension if it is warranted.”
    ahea.ab.ca/page-1478877
    Source
    “Applicants to the program have 2 years to complete the required 1500 hours of practice (work/volunteer) experience, with the possibility for an extension if it is warranted.”
    ahea.ab.ca/page-1478877
  4. Once the candidate program is successfully completed, apply to transfer to Professional Human Ecologist membership and pay the fee difference.

    Source
    “When you have successfully completed this program, you will be a Professional Human Ecologist and will be entitled to use the PHEc designation.”
    ahea.ab.ca/page-1478877

Listed fees for this route

1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.

3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees: $85 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.

Licensed in another province

  • Listed one-time fees: $150
  • 2 steps without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $85
  1. Download and submit the Professional Human Ecologist and Professional Home Economist Transfer application form to the Registrar.

    • Professional - Transfer fee: $150
      Source
      “Professional - Transfer - $150.00 (CAD) Subscription period: 1 year, on: May 1st Renew manually”
      ahea.ab.ca/page-1447130
    Source
    “*If you are a new member, be sure to click on "Membership" to download and fill out the "Professional Human Ecologist & Professional Home Economist Transfer" application form, and submit to the Registrar.”
    ahea.ab.ca/page-1447130
  2. Submit the member's application and appropriate documentation so that registration can be recognized without further assessment.

    Source
    “we the Signatories agree to recognize a member in good standing without further assessment upon receipt of a member's application and appropriate documentation.”
    ahea.ab.ca/page-1478871
  3. If registered with another signatory for less than four years, demonstrate 1500 hours of practice experience related to the field following receipt of the degree, or enter as a candidate until the hours are completed.

    Source
    “applicants seeking registration in Alberta who have been registered with another signatory for less than four years will be required to demonstrate 1500 hours of practice experience related to the field of home economics or human ecology following receipt of their degree.”
    ahea.ab.ca/page-1478871

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $150

One-time fees listed for Licensed in another province, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Application $150 100%
One-time total $150 100%

2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees: $85 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.

Trained outside Canada

  • 1 step without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $85
  1. International applicants are asked to contact the AHEA registrar by email.

    Source
    “If you are an international applicant please contact the AHEA registrar at [email protected].”
    ahea.ab.ca/page-1478877

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with AHEA

1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees: $85 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

  • Late payment of annual fees: $25 (when annual fees are paid late)
    Source
    “Late payment of annual fees is $25.”
    ahea.ab.ca/page-1478877

Requirements

Education

  • Registration as a professional member requires a degree in human ecology or home economics that includes the history, philosophy and ethics of professional practice, or an approved equivalent program, or an equivalent combination of education and experience.

    Source
    “Registration as a professional member of AHEA requires a degree in human ecology or home economics that includes the history, philosophy and ethics of professional practice, or an approved equivalent program, or an equivalent combination of education and experience.”
    alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/human-ecologistho...

Experience

  • Applicants must complete 1500 hours of practice (work/volunteer) experience related to the field, which candidate members have two years to finish.

    Source
    “Applicants to the program have 2 years to complete the required 1500 hours of practice (work/volunteer) experience, with the possibility for an extension if it is warranted.”
    ahea.ab.ca/page-1478877

Good character

  • Applicants must be of good character and reputation.

    Source
    “Non–Registered Members fall into four categories: Associate, Related, Affiliate or Student. Applicants must be of good character and reputation.”
    ahea.ab.ca/page-1478877

Already licensed in another province?

Direct transfer

Source
“we the Signatories agree to recognize a member in good standing without further assessment upon receipt of a member's application and appropriate documentation.”
ahea.ab.ca/page-1478871

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with AHEA

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with AHEA

Exams

Not stated by the regulator Check with AHEA

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with AHEA

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with AHEA

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with AHEA

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Alberta and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Alberta $26.00 $41.34 $60.07 Moderate (3 of 5)
Canada $26.67 $42.56 $60.00 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Alberta

Wages in every province and territory

Home economists in other provinces and territories

  • British Columbia Not confirmed yet
  • Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
  • Manitoba Title protected
  • Ontario Not confirmed yet
  • Quebec Not confirmed yet
  • New Brunswick Licence required
  • Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
  • Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
  • Yukon Not confirmed yet
  • Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
  • Nunavut Not confirmed yet

Compare home economist licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Human Ecologist/Home Economist: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/human-ecologistho... · fetched October 10, 2026
  2. AHEA - Membership Categories and Application Packages ahea.ab.ca/page-1478877 · fetched October 10, 2026
  3. AHEA - Application & Renewals ahea.ab.ca/page-1447130 · fetched October 10, 2026
  4. AHEA - Mutual Recognition ahea.ab.ca/page-1478871 · fetched October 10, 2026

Frequently asked questions

1

Do you need a licence to work as a home economist in Alberta?

No. Only the title is protected in Alberta. Registration with the Alberta Human Ecology and Home Economics Association is needed to use the title Professional Human Ecologist or Professional Home Economist.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.