How to Become a Lawyer in Alberta
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the Law Society of Alberta to work as a lawyer in Alberta or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Lawyer
Show the source
“Under Alberta’s Legal Profession Act [pdf], you must be a registered member of the Law Society of Alberta (LSA) to practice law in Alberta or call yourself a Lawyer.”
From alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/lawyer, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 3 steps
- Licensed in another province: 1 step
- Trained outside Canada: no separate route
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Law Society of Alberta
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 3 done
- 3 steps without a listed fee
-
You need a Canadian common law degree or an equivalent qualification.
Source
“A Canadian common law degree or equivalent qualification”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/lawyer -
You must successfully complete the Practice Readiness Education Program.
Source
“Successful completion of the Practice Readiness Education Program (PREP)”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/lawyer -
You must complete one year of articling as a student-at-law.
Source
“1 year of articling as a student-at-law”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/lawyer
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Law Society of Alberta
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 1 done
- 1 step without a listed fee
-
Lawyers registered and in good standing elsewhere in Canada may be able to register in Alberta if their scope of practice and competencies are similar.
Source
“Lawyers who are registered and in good standing with a regulatory body elsewhere in Canada may be able to register in Alberta if their scope of practice and competencies are similar.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/lawyer
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Law Society of Alberta
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
No separate route for this group. Source
“For details about registration requirements, contact the LSA or visit the LSA website.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/lawyer
Requirements
Education
You need a Canadian common law degree or an equivalent qualification.
Source
“A Canadian common law degree or equivalent qualification”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/lawyer
Experience
You need one year of articling as a student-at-law.
Source
“1 year of articling as a student-at-law”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/lawyer
Other
You must successfully complete the Practice Readiness Education Program (PREP).
Source
“Successful completion of the Practice Readiness Education Program (PREP)”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/lawyer
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The page says lawyers registered and in good standing elsewhere in Canada may be able to register in Alberta if their scope of practice and competencies are similar, but does not state whether an exam or assessment is required. Source
“Lawyers who are registered and in good standing with a regulatory body elsewhere in Canada may be able to register in Alberta if their scope of practice and competencies are similar.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/lawyer
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Law Society of Alberta
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Law Society of Alberta
Exams
Not stated by the regulator Check with Law Society of Alberta
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Law Society of Alberta
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Law Society of Alberta
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Law Society of Alberta
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alberta | $27.88 | $78.85 | $126.92 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $30.22 | $59.76 | $107.14 | — |
Lawyers in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Lawyer: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/lawyer · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
1
Do you need a licence to work as a lawyer in Alberta?
Yes. Registration with the Law Society of Alberta is required to practise in Alberta, and to use the title Lawyer.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.