How to Become a Locksmith in Alberta
Do you need certification?
Certification required
Locksmith is a compulsory trade in Alberta. You need a certificate, or registration as an apprentice, to work in the trade.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Under Alberta’s Security Services and Investigators Act [pdf] and Security Services and Investigators (Ministerial) Regulation [pdf], you must be licensed by the Government of Alberta to possess locksmith tools or work on locking devices or master key systems, maintain key code records, or cut, make or sell keys or other lock-operating devices for which duplication is restricted.”
From alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/locksmith, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Certification required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: no separate route
- Licensed in another province: 1 step
- Trained outside Canada: 7 steps
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Government of Alberta
Your roadmap
Government of Alberta has no page of its own for this trade. These are the steps it gives for every designated trade in Alberta.
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
No separate route for this group. Source
“Under Alberta’s Skilled Trades and Apprenticeship Education Act [pdf], locksmith apprentices must be registered with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training to learn the trade.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/locksmith
Licensed in another province
0 of 1 done
- 1 step without a listed fee
-
Be licensed and hold a certificate recognized by Alberta.
Source
“Locksmiths trained in other provinces and territories can work in Alberta if they are licensed and hold a certificate recognized by Alberta.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/locksmith
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Government of Alberta
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 7 done
- 7 steps without a listed fee
-
Use the alis website to find out if your occupation is regulated.
Source
“Use the alis website to find out if your occupation is regulated.”
alberta.ca/foreign-qualification-recognition -
Visit your professional regulatory organization's website and contact it with any questions about applying for a licence.
Source
“Your PRO is the best source of information to answer questions about applying for a license in Alberta. It is important to ask your PRO for clarification if there is anything you do not understand.”
alberta.ca/foreign-qualification-recognition -
Collect the documents your PRO requires, such as educational credentials, references, resumés and personal identity documents.
Source
“Each regulated occupation has different requirements, but most PROs require: educational credentials, references, resumés (curriculum vitae, or CV), personal identity documents”
alberta.ca/foreign-qualification-recognition -
Request your education transcripts from the issuing authorities and check whether they should be sent directly to the PRO.
Source
“Check if the issuing authority should send your transcripts directly to the PRO.”
alberta.ca/foreign-qualification-recognition -
Translate your documents into English, asking the PRO whether an approved translation service or notarization is needed.
Source
“Ask the PRO if you need to use an approved translation service, or have original documents or translations notarized.”
alberta.ca/foreign-qualification-recognition -
Check the PRO website or contact it to learn about the costs of the licensure process.
Source
“Check your PRO website or contact them directly to learn about costs associated with the licensure process.”
alberta.ca/foreign-qualification-recognition -
Complete the application form and submit all required documents and fees to the PRO, which will not start the process until everything is received.
Source
“A PRO will not start the licensure process until all required documents and application fees are received.”
alberta.ca/foreign-qualification-recognition
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Government of Alberta
7 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Requirements
Other
Locksmith apprentices must be registered with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training to learn the trade.
Source
“Under Alberta’s Skilled Trades and Apprenticeship Education Act [pdf], locksmith apprentices must be registered with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training to learn the trade.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/locksmithApprentices must find suitable employers who are willing to hire and train apprentices.
Source
“Apprentices must find suitable employers who are willing to hire and train apprentices.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/locksmith
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
Locksmiths trained in other provinces and territories can work in Alberta if they are licensed and hold a certificate recognized by Alberta. Source
“Locksmiths trained in other provinces and territories can work in Alberta if they are licensed and hold a certificate recognized by Alberta.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/locksmith
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Government of Alberta
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Government of Alberta
Exams
Not stated by the regulator Check with Government of Alberta
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Government of Alberta
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Government of Alberta
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Government of Alberta
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alberta | $21.00 | $35.50 | $43.80 | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Canada | $21.63 | $34.72 | $47.85 | — |
Locksmiths in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Voluntary certification
- Saskatchewan Voluntary certification
- Manitoba Not confirmed yet
- Ontario Voluntary certification
- Quebec Certification required
- New Brunswick Voluntary certification
- Nova Scotia Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Voluntary certification
- Nunavut Voluntary certification
Sources checked
- Locksmith: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/locksmith · fetched October 10, 2026
- Foreign Qualification Recognition | Alberta.ca alberta.ca/foreign-qualification-recognition · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
1
Do you need a licence to work as a locksmith in Alberta?
Yes. Certification, or registration as an apprentice, is required to work in the trade in Alberta. Certification is managed by Government of Alberta.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.