How to Become a Mobile Crane Operator in Alberta
Do you need certification?
Certification required
Mobile crane operator is a compulsory trade in Alberta. You need a certificate, or registration as an apprentice, to work in the trade.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Compulsory Certification”
From tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0349, checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Certification required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 2 steps
- Licensed in another province: 2 steps, listed one-time fees $310
- Trained outside Canada: 2 steps, listed one-time fees $310
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 2 done
- 2 steps without a listed fee
-
Before enrolling in your first period of classroom instruction you must meet the entrance requirements, which include specific high school courses or alternatives such as an entrance exam.
Source
“You can register as an apprentice before you meet the entrance requirements.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... -
You complete the three-period apprenticeship education program in the trade.
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 2 done
- Listed one-time fees: $310
- 1 step without a listed fee
-
You complete 54 months and 7560 hours of verifiable work experience in the mobile crane trade.
Source
“Complete 54 months and 7560 hours of verifiable Crane and Hoisting Equipment Operator - Mobile Crane work experience.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0349 -
You pass a practical exam, for which you must provide your own certified crane and the assessors travel to the Alberta site you indicate.
- Practical exam: $310
Source
“Pass a practical exam ($310.00). - Candidates must provide their own certified crane for the assessment. Assessors will travel to the Alberta site indicated by the client.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0349
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $310
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Exams | $310 | 100% |
| One-time total | $310 | 100% |
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 2 done
- Listed one-time fees: $310
- 1 step without a listed fee
-
You submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.
Source
“Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0349 -
You pass a practical exam, for which you must provide your own certified crane and the assessors travel to the Alberta site you indicate.
- Practical exam: $310
Source
“Pass a practical exam ($310.00). - Candidates must provide their own certified crane for the assessment. Assessors will travel to the Alberta site indicated by the client.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0349
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $310
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Exams | $310 | 100% |
| One-time total | $310 | 100% |
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Practical exam fee: $310
Source
“Crane and Hoisting Equipment Operator – Mobile CraneNote: Candidates must provide their own certified crane for the assessment. Assessors will travel to the Alberta site indicated by the candidate. | $310.00”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
Requirements
Education
Entrance requirements for apprenticeship include specific high school courses that you must have passed.
Source
“Entrance requirements include specific high school courses that you must have passed.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit...
Experience
Applicants to the Work Experience Program must complete 54 months and 7560 hours of verifiable mobile crane work experience.
Source
“Complete 54 months and 7560 hours of verifiable Crane and Hoisting Equipment Operator - Mobile Crane work experience.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0349
Already licensed in another province?
Extra steps
Applicants holding a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta must submit the certificate and pass both a theory exam and a practical exam. Source
“Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0349
Submit recognized trade certificate
Source
“Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0349Pass theory and practical exams
Source
“Pass a theory exam. 3. Pass a practical exam ($310.00).”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0349
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Exams
-
Practical exam
-
Entrance exam
Source
“Take an entrance exam to show you’re ready.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alberta | $29.70 | $45.00 | $51.68 | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Canada | $26.50 | $42.77 | $52.19 | — |
Mobile crane operators in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Voluntary certification
- Saskatchewan Voluntary certification
- Manitoba Certification required
- Ontario Certification required
- Quebec Certification required
- New Brunswick Certification required
- Nova Scotia Certification required
- Prince Edward Island Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador Certification required
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Voluntary certification
- Nunavut Voluntary certification
Sources checked
- Tradesecrets - Crane and Hoisting Equipment Operator - Mobile Crane tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0349 · fetched October 10, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Meet Requirements tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... · fetched October 9, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Trades with Practical Exams and Fees tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/... · fetched October 9, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a mobile crane operator in Alberta?
Yes. Certification, or registration as an apprentice, is required to work in the trade in Alberta. Certification is managed by Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training.
Which exams are required?
Practical exam, Entrance exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.