At a glance

Licence status
Voluntary certification See the source
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 4 steps without a listed fee
  1. Applicants complete a minimum of 18 months and 1,500 hours of work experience.

    Source
    “A minimum of 18 months AND 1,500 hours of work experience.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/2132
  2. Applicants successfully complete and verify the Canadian Door Institution Level 1 course.

    Source
    “successful completion and verification of the Canadian Door Institution Level 1 course.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/2132
  3. Applicants provide an Employer Assessment of Competency Form.

    Source
    “An Employer Assessment of Competency Form”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/2132
  4. Applicants pass a theory exam.

    Source
    “A successful theory exam.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/2132

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Licensed in another province

  • 2 steps without a listed fee
  1. Applicants with previous trade experience in or outside Alberta have their hours verified.

    Source
    “If you have previous experience in the trade (in or outside of Alberta), get your hours verified and take exams to qualify for your Journeyperson Certificate.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/about-designated-trades
  2. Applicants take exams to qualify for their Journeyperson Certificate.

    Source
    “If you have previous experience in the trade (in or outside of Alberta), get your hours verified and take exams to qualify for your Journeyperson Certificate.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/about-designated-trades

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Requirements

Experience

Already licensed in another province?

Not stated

The pages do not state how someone already licensed in another Canadian province or territory registers in Alberta.

Source
“Certification is not required to work or train.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/2132

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Exams

Language tests

No minimum test score stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Exemptions: The pages do not state any language exemption.

Source
“Certification is not required to work or train.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/2132

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

The pages do not state any Canadian experience requirement.

Source
“Certification is not required to work or train.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/2132

Supervised practice

Not required

The pages do not state any supervised practice requirement.

Source
“Certification is not required to work or train.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/2132

Demand and pay

No Job Bank wage or outlook data for this occupation yet.

Overhead door technicians - level two in other provinces and territories

  • British Columbia Not confirmed yet
  • Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
  • Manitoba Not confirmed yet
  • Ontario Not confirmed yet
  • Quebec Not confirmed yet
  • New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
  • Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
  • Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
  • Yukon Not confirmed yet
  • Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
  • Nunavut Not confirmed yet

Compare overhead door technician - level two licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Tradesecrets - Overhead Door Technician - Level Two tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/2132 · fetched October 9, 2026
  2. Tradesecrets - About Designated Trades tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/about-designated-trades · fetched October 9, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as an overhead door technician - level two in Alberta?

No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Alberta. Certification is managed by Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training.

Which exams are required?

theory exam.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.