How to Become a Power Engineer in Alberta
Do you need certification?
Certification required
Power engineer is a compulsory trade in Alberta. You need a certificate, or registration as an apprentice, to work in the trade.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Under Alberta’s Safety Codes Act [pdf] and Power Engineers Regulation [pdf], you must hold an appropriate certificate of competency from the Alberta Boilers Safety Association (ABSA) to supervise a power plant, heating plant, or thermal liquid heating system.”
From alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/power-engineer, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Certification required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 3 steps, listed one-time fees $113.10
- Licensed in another province: 3 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Trained outside Canada: 4 steps, listed one-time fees $113.10
- Annual fees
-
- Annual registration fee: $37.75
Source
“The annual fee for the registration of a Certificate of Competency is $37.75.”
absa.ca/fee-schedule
- Annual registration fee: $37.75
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 3 done
- Listed one-time fees: $113.10
- 2 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $37.75
-
Complete an approved educational course, which is required for 4th and 5th Classes.
Source
“Complete an approved educational course (for 4th and 5th Classes)”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/power-engineer -
Complete the training and employment experience requirements for the relevant class.
Source
“Complete the training and employment experience requirements for the relevant Class”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/power-engineer -
Pass the examination for the relevant class.
- Application and examination fee: $113.10
Source
“Pass the examination for the relevant Class”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/power-engineer
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $113.10
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $113.10 | 100% |
| One-time total | $113.10 | 100% |
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Annual registration fee: $37.75
Source
“The annual fee for the registration of a Certificate of Competency is $37.75.”
absa.ca/fee-schedule
Licensed in another province
0 of 3 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 2 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $37.75
- Listed time: 1 month (only 1 of 3 steps state a time)
-
Complete application form AB-130 to apply to transfer the out-of-province certificate to Alberta.
Source
“The applicant is required to complete application form AB-130 , pay the certificate transfer fee and complete the transfer examination.”
absa.ca/examination-and-certification/power-engineers/out-of-provin... -
Pay the certificate transfer fee as part of the application.
- Certificate transfer fee: $188.90 (for issuance of a certificate based on an equivalent certificate from a jurisdiction outside Alberta)
Source
“The fee payable for the issuance of a certificate of competency to a person in consideration of an equivalent Certificate of Competency from a jurisdiction outside Alberta is $188.90.”
absa.ca/fee-schedule
Source
“The applicant is required to complete application form AB-130 , pay the certificate transfer fee and complete the transfer examination.”
absa.ca/examination-and-certification/power-engineers/out-of-provin... - Certificate transfer fee: $188.90 (for issuance of a certificate based on an equivalent certificate from a jurisdiction outside Alberta)
-
Challenge and pass the ABSA Out of Province Transfer examination, an online open-book exam based on the Safety Codes Act and related regulations and policies.
Time: 30 daysTime source
“They will have 30 days from the date they receive the activation email to activate their account and successfully complete the examination.”
absa.ca/examination-and-certification/power-engineers/out-of-provin...Source
“All applicants who are transferring their certification to Alberta must challenge and pass the ABSA Out of Province Transfer examination.”
absa.ca/examination-and-certification/power-engineers/out-of-provin...
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Annual registration fee: $37.75
Source
“The annual fee for the registration of a Certificate of Competency is $37.75.”
absa.ca/fee-schedule
Trained outside Canada
0 of 4 done
- Listed one-time fees: $113.10
- 3 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $37.75
- Listed time: 1 month (only 1 of 4 steps state a time)
-
Submit a completed AB-141 Application for Evaluation of Foreign Qualifications for Power Engineer Certification with the applicable fee.
Time: 30 daysTime source
“Please allow 30 days for the application to be reviewed.”
absa.ca/examination-and-certification/power-engineers/foreign-quali...Source
“An applicant must submit a completed ABSA Form AB-141 , Application for Evaluation of Foreign Qualifications for Power Engineer Certification, with the applicable fee.”
absa.ca/examination-and-certification/power-engineers/foreign-quali... -
Provide documentation such as a resume of boiler and pressure plant work experience, education credentials with an educational credential assessment for foreign education, and letters confirming employment.
Source
“A copy of an education credential assessment completed by a recognized 3rd party agency such as IQAS , WES , or equivalent, is required for any education or university degree acquired outside of Canada;”
absa.ca/examination-and-certification/power-engineers/foreign-quali... -
If the documentation of work experience appears acceptable, the applicant may be asked to attend a 20 minute interview to confirm the documentation evaluation.
Source
“If the documentation of work experience appears acceptable, then the applicant may be requested to attend a 20 minute interview to confirm documentation evaluation.”
absa.ca/examination-and-certification/power-engineers/foreign-quali... -
If the work experience is accepted, the applicant may write power engineering examinations, starting at the 4th Class examination and possibly progressing to higher levels.
- Application and examination fee: $113.10
Source
“If the work experience is accepted, and shows more than 10 years of progressive responsibility in a power plant, an applicant may be allowed to write progressively higher level power engineering examinations, without providing additional experience, but must start writing at the 4th Class examination.”
absa.ca/examination-and-certification/power-engineers/foreign-quali...
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $113.10
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $113.10 | 100% |
| One-time total | $113.10 | 100% |
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Annual registration fee: $37.75
Source
“The annual fee for the registration of a Certificate of Competency is $37.75.”
absa.ca/fee-schedule
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Temporary Certificate of Competency fee: $188.90
Source
“The fees payable for the issuance of a temporary Certificate of Competency is $188.90.”
absa.ca/fee-schedule - Duplicate Certificate of Competency fee: $68.80
- IQAS duplicate certificate fee: $30
Requirements
Education
Applicants must complete an approved educational course for 4th and 5th Classes.
Source
“Complete an approved educational course (for 4th and 5th Classes)”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/power-engineer
Experience
Applicants must complete the training and employment experience requirements for the relevant class.
Source
“Complete the training and employment experience requirements for the relevant Class”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/power-engineerApplicants for foreign qualification evaluation must provide documentation establishing that they meet or exceed the experience requirements of the Power Engineers Regulation.
Source
“An applicant will need to provide ABSA with documentation to establish that they meet or exceed the experience requirements of the Power Engineers Regulation, Alberta Regulation 85/2003.”
absa.ca/examination-and-certification/power-engineers/foreign-quali...
Other
Applicants transferring a certificate from another Canadian jurisdiction must hold a valid power engineer certificate from that jurisdiction.
Source
“The holder of a valid power engineer certificate competency issued by another Canadian jurisdiction is eligible to obtain an equivalent Alberta certificate of competency”
absa.ca/examination-and-certification/power-engineers/out-of-provin...Operating experience older than seven years will not be accepted for higher level certification.
Source
“Operating experience older than seven years will not be accepted for higher level of certification.”
absa.ca/examination-and-certification/power-engineers/general-info-...
Already licensed in another province?
Extra steps
Holders of a valid out-of-province power engineer certificate can apply to transfer it to Alberta for the same scope of practice, but must complete application form AB-130, pay the certificate transfer fee, and pass the ABSA Out of Province Transfer examination. Source
“The holder of a valid out-of-province standardized power engineer’s certificate can apply to transfer their certificate to Alberta to obtain a certificate for the same scope of practice as authorized by the transferred certificate.”
absa.ca/examination-and-certification/power-engineers/out-of-provin...
Submit AB-130 application
Source
“The applicant is required to complete application form AB-130 , pay the certificate transfer fee, and complete the transfer examination.”
absa.ca/examination-and-certification/power-engineers/out-of-provin...Pay transfer fee
Source
“The applicant is required to complete application form AB-130 , pay the certificate transfer fee, and complete the transfer examination.”
absa.ca/examination-and-certification/power-engineers/out-of-provin...Pass transfer examination
Source
“All applicants who are transferring their certification to Alberta must challenge and pass the ABSA Out of Province Transfer examination.”
absa.ca/examination-and-certification/power-engineers/out-of-provin...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with ABSA
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with ABSA
Exams
-
ABSA Out of Province Transfer examination
Source
“All applicants who are transferring their certification to Alberta must challenge and pass the ABSA Out of Province Transfer examination.”
absa.ca/examination-and-certification/power-engineers/out-of-provin... -
Upgrade examination
Source
“shall be required to take an upgrade course and successfully challenge an upgrade examination and shall pay the fees in arrears to a maximum of 5 years.”
absa.ca/examination-and-certification/power-engineers/renewals-rein...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with ABSA
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with ABSA
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with ABSA
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alberta | $31.00 | $57.69 | $73.00 | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Canada | $30.00 | $49.23 | $75.55 | — |
Power engineers in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Not confirmed yet
- Saskatchewan Certification required
- Manitoba Certification required
- Ontario Certification required
- Quebec Certification required
- New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia Certification required
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Certification required
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Power Engineer: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/power-engineer · fetched October 10, 2026
- Fee Schedule | ABSA the pressure equipment safety authority absa.ca/fee-schedule · fetched October 10, 2026
- Out of Province Transfers | ABSA the pressure equipment safety authority absa.ca/examination-and-certification/power-engineers/out-of-provin... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Foreign Qualification | ABSA the pressure equipment safety authority absa.ca/examination-and-certification/power-engineers/foreign-quali... · fetched October 10, 2026
- General Info & FAQs | ABSA the pressure equipment safety authority absa.ca/examination-and-certification/power-engineers/general-info-... · fetched October 10, 2026
- IQAS – Order duplicate certificates | Alberta.ca alberta.ca/iqas-employment-certificate · fetched October 10, 2026
- Renewals & Reinstatements | ABSA the pressure equipment safety authority absa.ca/examination-and-certification/power-engineers/renewals-rein... · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a power engineer in Alberta?
Yes. Certification, or registration as an apprentice, is required to work in the trade in Alberta. Certification is managed by the Alberta Boilers Safety Association.
Which exams are required?
ABSA Out of Province Transfer examination, Upgrade examination.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.