At a glance

Licence status
Voluntary certification See the source
Routes
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 2 steps without a listed fee
  1. Before enrolling in classroom instruction you must meet the entrance requirements, which can be met by passing required high school courses, an entrance exam, a GED or CAEC, a recognized training program, or a recognized trade certificate.

    Source
    “Before you enroll in classes as a registered apprentice, you'll need to meet the entrance requirements.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit...
  2. Source
    “- Theory exam required to complete each period”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/046

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Licensed in another province

  • 1 step without a listed fee
  1. You submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.

    Source
    “1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/046

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Trained outside Canada

No separate route for this group.

Source
“If you have experience in the trade but do not hold an Alberta Journeyperson Certificate, you may be eligible for the Trades Qualifier Program.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/046

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

Requirements

Education

Experience

  • Applicants to the Trades Qualifier Work Experience Program must complete 72 months and 9450 hours of verifiable Power System Electrician work experience.

    Source
    “1. Complete 72 months and 9450 hours of verifiable Power System Electrician work experience.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/046

Other

Already licensed in another province?

Extra steps

Power system electricians trained in other provinces can work in Alberta if they hold a certificate or license recognized by Alberta, and under the Recognized Credentials Program they must submit their recognized trade certificate and pass a theory exam.

Source
“1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta. 2. Pass a theory exam.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/046

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Alberta and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Alberta $33.03 $51.64 $69.92 Moderate (3 of 5)
Canada $36.26 $46.55 $60.00 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Alberta

Wages in every province and territory

Power system electricians in other provinces and territories

  • British Columbia Not confirmed yet
  • Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
  • Manitoba Certification required
  • Ontario Not confirmed yet
  • Quebec Not confirmed yet
  • New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
  • Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
  • Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
  • Yukon Voluntary certification
  • Northwest Territories Certification required
  • Nunavut Voluntary certification

Compare power system electrician licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Power System Electrician: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/power-system-elec... · fetched October 8, 2026
  2. Tradesecrets - Power System Electrician tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/046 · fetched October 10, 2026
  3. Tradesecrets - Meet Requirements tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... · fetched October 9, 2026
  4. Tradesecrets - Entrance Exams tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/ent... · fetched October 9, 2026
  5. Tradesecrets - Types of Exams tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/typ... · fetched October 9, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a power system electrician in Alberta?

No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Alberta. Certification is managed by Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training.

Which exams are required?

Theory exam, Entrance exam, Red Seal exam.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.