How to Become a Psychologist in Alberta
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the College of Alberta Psychologists to work as a psychologist in Alberta or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“registration with the College of Alberta Psychologists (CAP) is mandatory. Only registered members may provide restricted activities specified in the Regulations.”
From alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/psychologist, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 6 steps, listed one-time fees $1,650
- Licensed in another province: 5 steps, listed one-time fees $300
- Trained outside Canada: 3 steps, listed one-time fees $300
- Annual fees
-
- Practice permit renewal - Provisional Psychologists: $500
- Practice permit renewal - Registered Psychologists: $1,000
- Mobility applicant annual fee (CFTA/CPQ/Courtesy) 2026-2027: $1,000
Source
“Canadian Free Trade Agreement (CFTA) $300.00 plus GST $950.00 $1,000.00”
cap.ab.ca/registration/fee-schedule - ITP annual fee 2026-2027: $500
Source
“Internationally Trained Psychologists (ITP) $300.00 plus GST $475.00 $500.00”
cap.ab.ca/registration/fee-schedule - Application for Registration as a Mobility Applicant: CFTA Annual Fee 2025-2026: $950
Source
“Canadian Free Trade Agreement (CFTA) $300.00 plus GST $950.00 $1,000.00”
cap.ab.ca/registration/fee-schedule - Application for Registration as a Mobility Applicant: CPQ Annual Fee 2025-2026: $950
Source
“Certificate of Professional Qualification (CPQ) $300.00 plus GST $950.00 $1,000.00”
cap.ab.ca/registration/fee-schedule - Application for Registration as a Mobility Applicant: CPQ Annual Fee 2026-2027: $1,000
Source
“Certificate of Professional Qualification (CPQ) $300.00 plus GST $950.00 $1,000.00”
cap.ab.ca/registration/fee-schedule - Application for Registration as a Mobility Applicant: ITP Annual Fee 2025-2026: $475
Source
“Internationally Trained Psychologists (ITP) $300.00 plus GST $475.00 $500.00”
cap.ab.ca/registration/fee-schedule
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 6 done
- Listed one-time fees: $1,650
- 2 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $6,375
- Listed time: 7 months (only 2 of 6 steps state a time)
-
The applicant applies to CAP to have their academic credentials evaluated, and once approved they may apply for registration.
- Evaluation of academic credentials (Canadian institution): $300
Source
“The first step in the registration process is for the applicant to apply to have their academic credentials evaluated by CAP. Upon approval of their academic credentials, the applicant may apply for registration.”
cap.ab.ca/registration/internationally-trained-psychologists -
After credentials are approved, the applicant applies for registration as a registered provisional psychologist, and the application is reviewed by the Registration Approvals Sub-Committee.
- Application for Registration as a Provisional Psychologist: $250
- Pro-rated Practice Permit Fee (provisional): $500
Source
“Once an applicant has been officially notified by CAP that their academic credentials have been approved, they may apply for registration as a registered provisional psychologist (hereafter referred to as "provisional psychologist.") Applications for registration as a provisional psychologist are reviewed by the Registration Approvals Sub-Committee (RASC) at regularly scheduled meetings.”
cap.ab.ca/registration/registration-and-supervision -
The provisional psychologist completes 1600 hours of supervised and evaluated practice under an approved supervisor.
Source
“In addition to completing both the EPPP and LEAP Examination, successful completion of 1600 hours of supervised and evaluated practice is required to obtain registration as a registered psychologist.”
cap.ab.ca/registration/examinations -
- CAP EPPP processing fee: $200
Time: 30 daysTime source
“Within approximately 30 business days from the date CAP receives the application, you will receive an email from CAP confirming your eligibility to apply for the EPPP exam with the Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards (ASPPB).”
cap.ab.ca/registration/examinationsSource
“Applicants may apply to CAP to take the EPPP after they have been issued a practice permit as a provisional psychologist. It is recommended that candidates take the EPPP early in the registration process.”
cap.ab.ca/registration/examinations -
The provisional psychologist completes the open-book LEAP examination, which has a minimum pass score of 80%.
- Law and Ethics for Psychologists in Alberta (LEAP): $400
Source
“Law and Ethics for Psychologists in Alberta (LEAP) $400.00”
cap.ab.ca/registration/fee-schedule
Time: 6 monthsTime source
“Provisional psychologists are required to attempt the LEAP within six (6) months of their provisional status being granted.”
cap.ab.ca/registration/examinationsSource
“The LEAP Examination is an entrance to practice requirement that assesses a psychologist’s knowledge of Alberta jurisprudence and ethical psychological practice. It was developed and is administered by CAP. The LEAP Examination consists of two parts, a self-study guide and an online examination. The LEAP Examination is “open-book”, meaning that applicants can access and use paper, electronic, or online resources (e.g., laws, regulations, CAP’s practice standards) while writing the examination. The minimum pass score on the LEAP Examination is 80%.”
cap.ab.ca/registration/examinations - Law and Ethics for Psychologists in Alberta (LEAP): $400
-
Once approved, the applicant pays the practice permit fees as a registered psychologist and is added to the general register.
Source
“Once approved, you are notified that you may now transition to obtaining a practice permit as a registered psychologist. This is done by paying the practice permit fees owing as a registered psychologist (pro-rated for the balance of the current fiscal year). Once the payment is received, your name is added to the general register as a registered psychologist, and an updated registration number and practice permit are issued”
cap.ab.ca/registration/registration-and-supervision
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $1,650
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $1,650 | 100% |
| One-time total | $1,650 | 100% |
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $6,375 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Practice permit renewal - Provisional Psychologists: $500
- Practice permit renewal - Registered Psychologists: $1,000
- Mobility applicant annual fee (CFTA/CPQ/Courtesy) 2026-2027: $1,000
Source
“Canadian Free Trade Agreement (CFTA) $300.00 plus GST $950.00 $1,000.00”
cap.ab.ca/registration/fee-schedule - ITP annual fee 2026-2027: $500
Source
“Internationally Trained Psychologists (ITP) $300.00 plus GST $475.00 $500.00”
cap.ab.ca/registration/fee-schedule - Application for Registration as a Mobility Applicant: CFTA Annual Fee 2025-2026: $950
Source
“Canadian Free Trade Agreement (CFTA) $300.00 plus GST $950.00 $1,000.00”
cap.ab.ca/registration/fee-schedule - Application for Registration as a Mobility Applicant: CPQ Annual Fee 2025-2026: $950
Source
“Certificate of Professional Qualification (CPQ) $300.00 plus GST $950.00 $1,000.00”
cap.ab.ca/registration/fee-schedule - Application for Registration as a Mobility Applicant: CPQ Annual Fee 2026-2027: $1,000
Source
“Certificate of Professional Qualification (CPQ) $300.00 plus GST $950.00 $1,000.00”
cap.ab.ca/registration/fee-schedule - Application for Registration as a Mobility Applicant: ITP Annual Fee 2025-2026: $475
Source
“Internationally Trained Psychologists (ITP) $300.00 plus GST $475.00 $500.00”
cap.ab.ca/registration/fee-schedule
Licensed in another province
0 of 5 done
- Listed one-time fees: $300
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $6,375
-
The applicant must be a fully registered psychologist in good standing with a psychology regulator in another Canadian jurisdiction.
Source
“CFTA applicants must be fully registered/licensed psychologists in good standing with another regulatory body specifically for psychologists in Canada.”
cap.ab.ca/registration/mobility-applicants -
Any regulatory body the applicant has been registered with must send the Registration Verification Part II form directly to CAP.
Source
“All applicants who currently have, or have had, registration/membership with any other regulatory body, professional association, or equivalent, must have the applicable organization complete the Registration Verification Part II.”
cap.ab.ca/registration/mobility-applicants -
The applicant creates an account in the MyCAP Login and completes the online Mobility Application.
Source
“Create an account via the MyCAP Login. You will receive an email from Softworks/Alinity to confirm your account. Complete the online Mobility Application and select the CPQ stream.”
cap.ab.ca/registration/mobility-applicants -
The applicant pays the mobility application fee as set out in CAP's fee schedule.
- Application for Registration as a Mobility Applicant (CFTA): $300
Source
“Submit payment for the Application fee as per CAP's Fee Schedule.”
cap.ab.ca/registration/mobility-applicants -
If the application is approved, the applicant's account is invoiced for the annual registration fee.
Source
“Your application will be reviewed, and if approved, your account will be invoiced for the annual registration fee.”
cap.ab.ca/registration/mobility-applicants
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $300
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $300 | 100% |
| One-time total | $300 | 100% |
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $6,375 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Practice permit renewal - Provisional Psychologists: $500
- Practice permit renewal - Registered Psychologists: $1,000
- Mobility applicant annual fee (CFTA/CPQ/Courtesy) 2026-2027: $1,000
Source
“Canadian Free Trade Agreement (CFTA) $300.00 plus GST $950.00 $1,000.00”
cap.ab.ca/registration/fee-schedule - ITP annual fee 2026-2027: $500
Source
“Internationally Trained Psychologists (ITP) $300.00 plus GST $475.00 $500.00”
cap.ab.ca/registration/fee-schedule - Application for Registration as a Mobility Applicant: CFTA Annual Fee 2025-2026: $950
Source
“Canadian Free Trade Agreement (CFTA) $300.00 plus GST $950.00 $1,000.00”
cap.ab.ca/registration/fee-schedule - Application for Registration as a Mobility Applicant: CPQ Annual Fee 2025-2026: $950
Source
“Certificate of Professional Qualification (CPQ) $300.00 plus GST $950.00 $1,000.00”
cap.ab.ca/registration/fee-schedule - Application for Registration as a Mobility Applicant: CPQ Annual Fee 2026-2027: $1,000
Source
“Certificate of Professional Qualification (CPQ) $300.00 plus GST $950.00 $1,000.00”
cap.ab.ca/registration/fee-schedule - Application for Registration as a Mobility Applicant: ITP Annual Fee 2025-2026: $475
Source
“Internationally Trained Psychologists (ITP) $300.00 plus GST $475.00 $500.00”
cap.ab.ca/registration/fee-schedule
Trained outside Canada
0 of 3 done
- Listed one-time fees: $300
- 2 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $6,375
-
Upon approval of academic credentials, the applicant applies for registration and is granted provisional psychologist status.
- Application for Registration as a Mobility Applicant (ITP): $300
Source
“Internationally Trained Psychologists (ITP) $300.00 plus GST”
cap.ab.ca/registration/fee-schedule
Source
“Upon approval of their academic credentials, the applicant may apply for registration. The successful ITP applicant is granted provisional psychologist status and must complete the remaining registration requirements, the EPPP and LEAP Examinations.”
cap.ab.ca/registration/internationally-trained-psychologists - Application for Registration as a Mobility Applicant (ITP): $300
-
All approved ITP applicants must practise under supervision and obtain a supervisor.
Source
“All approved ITP applicants must practice under supervision and secure a supervisor.”
cap.ab.ca/registration/internationally-trained-psychologists -
The provisional psychologist must complete the remaining registration requirements, the EPPP and LEAP examinations.
Source
“The successful ITP applicant is granted provisional psychologist status and must complete the remaining registration requirements, the EPPP and LEAP Examinations.”
cap.ab.ca/registration/internationally-trained-psychologists
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $300
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $300 | 100% |
| One-time total | $300 | 100% |
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $6,375 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Practice permit renewal - Provisional Psychologists: $500
- Practice permit renewal - Registered Psychologists: $1,000
- Mobility applicant annual fee (CFTA/CPQ/Courtesy) 2026-2027: $1,000
Source
“Canadian Free Trade Agreement (CFTA) $300.00 plus GST $950.00 $1,000.00”
cap.ab.ca/registration/fee-schedule - ITP annual fee 2026-2027: $500
Source
“Internationally Trained Psychologists (ITP) $300.00 plus GST $475.00 $500.00”
cap.ab.ca/registration/fee-schedule - Application for Registration as a Mobility Applicant: CFTA Annual Fee 2025-2026: $950
Source
“Canadian Free Trade Agreement (CFTA) $300.00 plus GST $950.00 $1,000.00”
cap.ab.ca/registration/fee-schedule - Application for Registration as a Mobility Applicant: CPQ Annual Fee 2025-2026: $950
Source
“Certificate of Professional Qualification (CPQ) $300.00 plus GST $950.00 $1,000.00”
cap.ab.ca/registration/fee-schedule - Application for Registration as a Mobility Applicant: CPQ Annual Fee 2026-2027: $1,000
Source
“Certificate of Professional Qualification (CPQ) $300.00 plus GST $950.00 $1,000.00”
cap.ab.ca/registration/fee-schedule - Application for Registration as a Mobility Applicant: ITP Annual Fee 2025-2026: $475
Source
“Internationally Trained Psychologists (ITP) $300.00 plus GST $475.00 $500.00”
cap.ab.ca/registration/fee-schedule
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Cancellation of application for evaluation of academic credentials: $100
Source
“Cancellation of application for evaluation of academic credentials $100.00 plus GST”
cap.ab.ca/registration/fee-schedule - Substantial equivalency review of academic credentials: $400
- Substantial equivalency review of supervised practice: $300
- Evaluation of doctoral degree - Alberta institution: $50
- Evaluation of doctoral degree - elsewhere in Canada: $75
- Evaluation of doctoral degree - USA or foreign institution: $100
- EPPP cancellation fee: $100
- Courtesy - Limited Telepsychology application: $150
Source
“Courtesy - Limited Telepsychology applicant $150.00 plus GST”
cap.ab.ca/registration/fee-schedule - Late renewal fee: $200 (after March 31 at 11:59 pm deadline)
- Reinstatement as a registered psychologist: $1,000
Source
“Reinstatement application fee to reinstate as a registered psychologist $1,000.00 plus GST”
cap.ab.ca/registration/fee-schedule - Reinstatement as a provisional psychologist: $500
Source
“Reinstatement application fee to reinstate as a provisional psychologist $500.00 plus GST”
cap.ab.ca/registration/fee-schedule - Review of registration decisions by Council (per committee): $200
- Cheques returned by bank/NSF: $100
- Copy of file: $50
- Duplicate certificate: $75
- Duplicate receipt: $100
- Letter of Standing/Registration Verification: $50
Source
“Letter of Standing/Registration Verification $50.00 plus GST”
cap.ab.ca/registration/fee-schedule - Application for Evaluation of Academic Credentials: USA or foreign institution: $400
- Application for Registration as a Provisional Psychologist: Application Fee: $250
- Application for Registration as a Provisional Psychologist: Pro-rated Practice Permit Fee (January 2026): $118.75
- Application for Registration as a Provisional Psychologist: Pro-rated Practice Permit Fee (February 2026): $79.17
- Application for Registration as a Provisional Psychologist: Pro-rated Practice Permit Fee (May 2026): $458.33
- Application for Registration as a Provisional Psychologist: Pro-rated Practice Permit Fee (July 2026): $375
- Application for Registration as a Provisional Psychologist: Pro-rated Practice Permit Fee (September 2026): $291.67
- Application for Registration as a Provisional Psychologist: Pro-rated Practice Permit Fee (October 2026): $250
- Application for Registration as a Provisional Psychologist: Pro-rated Practice Permit Fee (December 2026): $166.67
- Application for Registration as a Mobility Applicant: Canadian Free Trade Agreement (CFTA) Application Fee: $300
Source
“Canadian Free Trade Agreement (CFTA) $300.00 plus GST $950.00 $1,000.00”
cap.ab.ca/registration/fee-schedule - Application for Registration as a Mobility Applicant: Certificate of Professional Qualification (CPQ) Application Fee: $300
Source
“Certificate of Professional Qualification (CPQ) $300.00 plus GST $950.00 $1,000.00”
cap.ab.ca/registration/fee-schedule - Application for Registration as a Mobility Applicant: Internationally Trained Psychologists (ITP) Application Fee: $300
Source
“Internationally Trained Psychologists (ITP) $300.00 plus GST $475.00 $500.00”
cap.ab.ca/registration/fee-schedule
Requirements
Education
Applicants need a post-graduate degree in psychology that meets the academic requirements established by CAP.
Source
“A post-graduate degree in psychology that meets the academic requirements established by the College of Alberta Psychologists (CAP)”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/psychologist
Experience
Applicants need at least 1,600 hours of experience under the supervision of a registered psychologist, approved by CAP.
Source
“At least 1,600 hours of experience under the supervision of a registered psychologist, approved by CAP”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/psychologistITP applicants must have practised independently in their home jurisdiction for at least two of the previous five years.
Source
“has been practicing independently in their home jurisdiction for a minimum of two (2) years during the previous five (5) years”
cap.ab.ca/registration/internationally-trained-psychologists
Police check
The registration process requires a criminal records check.
Source
“including academic qualifications, required documentation (i.e., criminal records check), supervised experience, and examinations”
cap.ab.ca/registration
Insurance
CPQ mobility applicants must have active professional liability insurance of at least $5 million including regulatory legal defence.
Source
“Ensure you have active professional liability insurance in the minimum amount of $5 million. The liability insurance must include regulatory legal defence in the event of a claim or a professional conduct complaint.”
cap.ab.ca/registration/mobility-applicants
Other
Applicants must successfully complete the Examination for Professional Practice in Psychology (EPPP).
Source
“Successful completion of the Examination for Professional Practice in Psychology (EPPP)”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/psychologistApplicants must successfully complete the Law and Ethics for Alberta Psychologists (LEAP) examination.
Source
“Successful completion of the Law and Ethics for Alberta Psychologists (LEAP) examination”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/psychologistApplicants must have an established core knowledge in areas as defined by CAP.
Source
“An established core knowledge in areas as defined by CAP”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/psychologistApplicants must complete mandatory one-time training on Preventing and Addressing Sexual Abuse and Sexual Misconduct.
Source
“Minimum one-time completion of mandatory training on Preventing and Addressing Sexual Abuse and Sexual Misconduct available on the CAP website.”
cap.ab.ca/registration/registration-and-supervisionApplicants must participate in the Continuing Competence Program.
CFTA applicants must be fully registered, in good standing, and authorized to practise autonomously in another Canadian jurisdiction.
Source
“Registration based on the CFTA is available only to fully registered/licensed psychologists (i.e., psychologists who are authorized to practice autonomously)”
cap.ab.ca/registration/mobility-applicantsInternationally educated applicants must provide evidence of English language proficiency unless exempted by English-language education.
Source
“internationally educated applicants applying for registration in Alberta must provide evidence of English language proficiency.”
cap.ab.ca/evaluation-of-academic-credentials/frequently-asked-quest...
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
A fully registered psychologist from another Canadian jurisdiction who met registration requirements there and practises independently is not required to complete the EPPP for registration in Alberta, though they must complete CAP's LEAP examination. Source
“If you have met the registration requirements as a fully registered Psychologist in another Canadian jurisdiction and are permitted to practice independently, you are not required to complete the EPPP for registration in Alberta.”
cap.ab.ca/registration/mobility-applicants
Apply under the CFTA
Source
“If you wish to apply for registration under the CFTA:”
cap.ab.ca/registration/mobility-applicantsComplete the LEAP examination
Source
“Yes, you are required to become familiar with local jurisprudence and therefore are required to complete CAP’s LEAP examination.”
cap.ab.ca/registration/mobility-applicants
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with CAP
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with CAP
Exams
-
Law and Ethics for Alberta Psychologists (LEAP) Examination
Source
“2. Law and Ethics for Alberta Psychologists (LEAP) Examination”
cap.ab.ca/registration/examinations
Language tests
| Test | Overall | Listening | Reading | Writing | Speaking | CLB | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| IELTS (academic version) | — | 7.0 | 7.0 | 7.0 | 7.0 | — | Source“applicants must have taken and submit along with their Application the IELTS (International English Language Testing System) academic version. To demonstrate proficiency, applicants must have achieved a minimum score of 7.0 in each component”cap.ab.ca/evaluation-of-academic-credentials/frequently-asked-quest... |
Exemptions: Internationally educated applicants are exempt from English language proficiency testing if their highest degree was obtained in English or they have a high school diploma or a minimum of two years of undergraduate education in English. Source
“Internationally educated applicants are exempt from taking the English language proficiency testing if: their highest degree was obtained in English OR they have a high school diploma or a minimum of two years of undergraduate education (in any field) in English.”
cap.ab.ca/evaluation-of-academic-credentials/frequently-asked-quest...
Canadian experience
Psychologists registered and in good standing elsewhere in Canada may be eligible for registration in Alberta if their scope of practice and competencies are similar. Source
“Psychologists who are registered by and in good standing with a regulatory body elsewhere in Canada may be eligible for registration in Alberta if their scope of practice and competencies are similar.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/psychologist
Supervised practice
Required · 1,600 hours
Successful completion of 1600 hours of supervised and evaluated practice is required to obtain registration as a registered psychologist. Source
“successful completion of 1600 hours of supervised and evaluated practice is required to obtain registration as a registered psychologist.”
cap.ab.ca/registration/examinations
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alberta | $43.87 | $58.00 | $109.00 | Good (4 of 5) |
| Canada | $37.65 | $52.88 | $77.43 | — |
Psychologists in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Licence required
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Licence required
- Nunavut Licence required
Sources checked
- Psychologist: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/psychologist · fetched October 10, 2026
- The College of Alberta Psychologists > Registration cap.ab.ca/registration · fetched October 10, 2026
- The College of Alberta Psychologists > Registration > Internationally Trained Psychologists cap.ab.ca/registration/internationally-trained-psychologists · fetched October 10, 2026
- The College of Alberta Psychologists > Registration > Fee Schedule cap.ab.ca/registration/fee-schedule · fetched October 10, 2026
- The College of Alberta Psychologists > Registration > Registration and Supervision cap.ab.ca/registration/registration-and-supervision · fetched October 10, 2026
- The College of Alberta Psychologists > Registration > Examinations cap.ab.ca/registration/examinations · fetched October 10, 2026
- The College of Alberta Psychologists > Registration > Mobility Applicants cap.ab.ca/registration/mobility-applicants · fetched October 10, 2026
- The College of Alberta Psychologists > Evaluation of Academic Credentials > Frequently Asked Questions cap.ab.ca/evaluation-of-academic-credentials/frequently-asked-quest... · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a psychologist in Alberta?
Yes. Registration with the College of Alberta Psychologists is required to practise in Alberta.
Which exams are required?
Law and Ethics for Alberta Psychologists (LEAP) Examination.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.