How to Become a Roofer in Alberta
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Roofer is a voluntary trade in Alberta. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“4-Period Apprenticeship Program Optional Certification”
From tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/028, checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 4 steps
- Licensed in another province: 6 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Trained outside Canada: 6 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 4 done
- 4 steps without a listed fee
-
You apply to become a registered apprentice once you have confirmed you meet the eligibility requirements.
Source
“Before you apply to become a registered apprentice, make sure you are eligible.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... -
Before enrolling in your first period of classroom instruction you must meet the entrance requirements, which for this trade are not specified.
Source
“Entrance requirements: - There are no specified entrance requirements for this trade.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/028 -
In periods 1, 2 and 3 you complete 1420 hours of work experience and 6 weeks of classroom instruction per period, and in period 4 you complete 1600 hours of work experience.
Source
“Period 1, 2, and 3: - 1420 hours work experience per period - 6 weeks classroom instruction per period - Period 4: - 1600 hours work experience”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/028 -
You must pass a theory exam in every period of the program.
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 6 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 5 steps without a listed fee
- Listed time: 0.9 to 1.4 months (only 1 of 6 steps state a time)
-
You start your application online, which requires a basic Alberta.ca Account and an Alberta Student Number.
Source
“You will need a basic Alberta.ca Account and an Alberta Student Number to begin your application.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/... -
You upload a clear copy of your trade certificate with your application, and documents in another language must be translated into English.
Source
“Upload and attach a clear copy of your trade certificate to your application.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/... -
You pay the non-refundable application fee of 150 Canadian dollars.
- Application fee: $150 (non-refundable)
Source
“Pay the non-refundable $150 (CAD) application fee.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
Source
“Pay the non-refundable $150 (CAD) application fee.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/... - Application fee: $150 (non-refundable)
-
Time: 4 to 6 weeks
Time source
“Processing time is approximately 4 to 6 weeks.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...Source
“We review your application and verify your trade certificate with the issuing jurisdiction.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/... -
You are notified of the date, time and location of your exam through your MyTradesecrets profile after your application is approved, and you must pass the theory exam.
Source
“All trades require a theory exam, and some also require a practical exam.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/... -
If you complete all program requirements within 18 months, your journeyperson certificate and wallet card are mailed to you.
Source
“If you complete all Trades Qualifier – Recognized Credential program requirements within 18 months, your journeyperson certificate and wallet card is mailed to you.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 6 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 5 steps without a listed fee
-
You start your application online, which requires a basic Alberta.ca Account and an Alberta Student Number.
Source
“You will need a basic Alberta.ca Account and an Alberta Student Number to begin your application.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/... -
You upload a clear copy of your trade certificate with your application, and documents in another language must be translated into English.
Source
“Documents written in a language other than English must be translated into English by a member of a recognized translator association.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/... -
You pay the non-refundable application fee of 150 Canadian dollars.
- Application fee: $150 (non-refundable)
Source
“Pay the non-refundable $150 (CAD) application fee.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
Source
“Pay the non-refundable $150 (CAD) application fee.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/... - Application fee: $150 (non-refundable)
-
Source
“If your recognized credential is from outside Canada, it may take longer.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/... -
You are notified of the date, time and location of your exam through your MyTradesecrets profile after your application is approved, and you must pass the theory exam.
Source
“All trades require a theory exam, and some also require a practical exam.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/... -
If you complete all program requirements within 18 months, your journeyperson certificate and wallet card are mailed to you.
Source
“If you complete all Trades Qualifier – Recognized Credential program requirements within 18 months, your journeyperson certificate and wallet card is mailed to you.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Requirements
Education
Applicants to the Recognized Credentials Program must hold a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.
Source
“1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/028There are no specified entrance requirements for this trade.
Source
“There are no specified entrance requirements for this trade.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/028
Experience
Applicants to the Work Experience Program must complete 72 months and 8790 hours of verifiable Roofer work experience.
Source
“1. Complete 72 months and 8790 hours of verifiable Roofer work experience.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/028
Other
Applicants to the Work Experience Program must provide an Employer Declaration Letter.
Source
“3. Provide an Employer Declaration Letter (EDL).”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/028
Already licensed in another province?
Extra steps
Roofers trained in other provinces can work in Alberta if they hold a certificate or licence recognized by Alberta or have the skills and knowledge of an Alberta journeyperson, and the Recognized Credentials Program requires submitting a recognized trade certificate and passing a theory exam. Source
“Roofers trained in other provinces and territories can work in Alberta if they hold a certificate or license recognized by Alberta or have the skills and knowledge expected of a journeyperson certified in Alberta.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/roofer
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Exams
-
theory exam
-
Red Seal exam
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alberta | $22.00 | $28.00 | $38.00 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $22.00 | $30.97 | $44.24 | — |
Roofers in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Voluntary certification
- Saskatchewan Voluntary certification
- Manitoba Voluntary certification
- Ontario Voluntary certification
- Quebec Certification required
- New Brunswick Voluntary certification
- Nova Scotia Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador Voluntary certification
- Yukon Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories Voluntary certification
- Nunavut Voluntary certification
Sources checked
- Tradesecrets - Roofer tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/028 · fetched October 10, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Meet Requirements tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... · fetched October 9, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Trades Qualifier- Recognized Credential Program Details tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/... · fetched October 9, 2026
- Roofer: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/roofer · fetched October 8, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a roofer in Alberta?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Alberta. Certification is managed by Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training.
Which exams are required?
theory exam, Red Seal exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.