At a glance

Licence status
Voluntary certification See the source
Routes
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Your roadmap

Licensed in another province

  • Listed one-time fees: $150
  • 5 steps without a listed fee
  • Listed time: 0.9 to 1.4 months (only 1 of 6 steps state a time)
  1. You start your application by clicking Apply Now, which requires a basic Alberta.ca Account and an Alberta Student Number.

    Source
    “Begin your application by clicking Apply Now here.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
  2. You upload a clear copy of your trade certificate, and documents in a language other than English must be translated by a member of a recognized translator association.

    Source
    “Upload and attach a clear copy of your trade certificate to your application.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
  3. You pay the non-refundable application fee of 150 Canadian dollars.

    Source
    “Pay the non-refundable $150 (CAD) application fee.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
  4. Time: 4 to 6 weeks
    Time source
    “Processing time is approximately 4 to 6 weeks.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
    Source
    “We review your application and verify your trade certificate with the issuing jurisdiction.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
  5. You are notified of the date, time, and location of your exam through your MyTradesecrets profile after your application is approved, and you write the required theory exam.

    Source
    “All trades require a theory exam, and some also require a practical exam.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
  6. If you complete all program requirements within 18 months, your journeyperson certificate and wallet card are mailed to you.

    Source
    “If you complete all Trades Qualifier – Recognized Credential program requirements within 18 months, your journeyperson certificate and wallet card is mailed to you.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $150

One-time fees listed for Licensed in another province, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Application $150 100%
One-time total $150 100%

5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Trained outside Canada

  • Listed one-time fees: $150
  • 5 steps without a listed fee
  • Listed time: 0.9 to 1.4 months (only 1 of 6 steps state a time)
  1. You start your application by clicking Apply Now, which requires a basic Alberta.ca Account and an Alberta Student Number.

    Source
    “Begin your application by clicking Apply Now here.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
  2. You upload a clear copy of your trade certificate, and documents in a language other than English must be translated by a member of a recognized translator association.

    Source
    “Upload and attach a clear copy of your trade certificate to your application.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
  3. You pay the non-refundable application fee of 150 Canadian dollars.

    Source
    “Pay the non-refundable $150 (CAD) application fee.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
  4. The regulator reviews your application and verifies your trade certificate with the issuing jurisdiction, and if your recognized credential is from outside Canada it may take longer.

    Time: 4 to 6 weeks
    Time source
    “Processing time is approximately 4 to 6 weeks.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
    Source
    “We review your application and verify your trade certificate with the issuing jurisdiction.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
  5. You are notified of the date, time, and location of your exam through your MyTradesecrets profile after your application is approved, and you write the required theory exam.

    Source
    “All trades require a theory exam, and some also require a practical exam.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
  6. If you complete all program requirements within 18 months, your journeyperson certificate and wallet card are mailed to you.

    Source
    “If you complete all Trades Qualifier – Recognized Credential program requirements within 18 months, your journeyperson certificate and wallet card is mailed to you.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $150

One-time fees listed for Trained outside Canada, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Application $150 100%
One-time total $150 100%

5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Requirements

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Already licensed in another province?

Not stated

The page says slickline operators with legislated certification in good standing elsewhere in Canada may be eligible for certification in Alberta, but does not state whether extra steps are required.

Source
“Slickline operators with legislated certification in good standing elsewhere in Canada may be eligible for certification in Alberta.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/slickline-operator

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Alberta and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Alberta $25.00 $48.50 $70.00 Moderate (3 of 5)
Canada $26.37 $47.12 $70.00 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Alberta

Wages in every province and territory

Slickline operators in other provinces and territories

  • British Columbia Not confirmed yet
  • Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
  • Manitoba Not confirmed yet
  • Ontario Not confirmed yet
  • Quebec Not confirmed yet
  • New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
  • Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
  • Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
  • Yukon Not confirmed yet
  • Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
  • Nunavut Not confirmed yet

Compare slickline operator licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Slickline Operator: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/slickline-operator · fetched October 8, 2026
  2. Tradesecrets - Trades Qualifier- Recognized Credential Program Details tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/... · fetched October 9, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a slickline operator in Alberta?

No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Alberta. Certification is managed by Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training.

Which exams are required?

theory exam.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.