At a glance

Licence status
Certification required See the source
Routes
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 4 steps without a listed fee
  1. If you are new to the trade, register as an apprentice to begin learning and working toward your Journeyperson Certificate.

    Source
    “If you are new to the trade, register as an apprentice to begin learning and working toward your Journeyperson Certificate.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/about-designated-trades
  2. Source
    “1560 hours work experience per period”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/012
  3. Complete 8 weeks of classroom instruction in each period of the program.

    Source
    “8 weeks classroom instruction per period”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/012
  4. Pass the theory exam required in each period of the program.

    Source
    “Theory exam required”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/012

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Licensed in another province

  • Listed one-time fees: $160
  • 1 step without a listed fee
  1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.

    Source
    “1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/012
  2. Pass a practical exam that costs $160.00.

    Source
    “3. Pass a practical exam ($160.00).”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/012

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $160

One-time fees listed for Licensed in another province, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Exams $160 100%
One-time total $160 100%

1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Trained outside Canada

No separate route for this group.

Source
“1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/012

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

Requirements

Education

  • To enroll in classroom instruction, apprentices must have passed English 10-2 and Math 10-3, or a GED/CAEC, or pass an entrance exam.

    Source
    “Entrance requirements: - English 10-2 and Math 10-3 - or GED/CAEC - or Entrance Exam”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/012

Experience

Already licensed in another province?

Extra steps

Welders from other provinces and territories can work in Alberta if they hold a certificate or license recognized by Alberta, and the Recognized Credentials Program requires them to pass a theory exam and a practical exam.

Source
“Welders from other provinces and territories can work in Alberta if they hold a certificate or license recognized by Alberta.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/welder

  1. Submit recognized trade certificate

    Source
    “1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/012
  2. Pass the practical exam

    Source
    “3. Pass a practical exam ($160.00).”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/012

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Alberta and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Alberta $25.00 $38.00 $52.18 Limited (2 of 5)
Canada $22.00 $30.00 $47.00 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Alberta

Wages in every province and territory

Welders in other provinces and territories

Compare welder licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Tradesecrets - Welder tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/012 · fetched October 10, 2026
  2. Tradesecrets - About Designated Trades tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/about-designated-trades · fetched October 9, 2026
  3. Tradesecrets - Entrance Exams tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/ent... · fetched October 9, 2026
  4. Tradesecrets - Types of Exams tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/typ... · fetched October 9, 2026
  5. Welder: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/welder · fetched October 8, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a welder in Alberta?

Yes. Certification, or registration as an apprentice, is required to work in the trade in Alberta. Certification is managed by Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training.

Which exams are required?

Theory exam, Practical exam, Red Seal exam.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.