How to Become an Acupuncturist in British Columbia
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the College of Complementary Health Professionals of BC to work as an acupuncturist in British Columbia or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Acupuncture became a designated health profession under the Health Professions Act on April 1, 1996, and traditional Chinese medicine followed on December 4, 2000.”
From cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/traditional-chinese-medicine-and-acupun..., checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 6 steps, listed one-time fees $225 (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Licensed in another province: 0 steps
- Trained outside Canada: 7 steps, listed one-time fees $525 (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Annual fees
-
- Full licence: $990
- Late renewal: $350 (when renewal is late)
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 6 done
- Listed one-time fees: $225
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $990
-
Complete a TCMA education program from a recognized program listed in the College Bylaws.
Source
“Please refer to the College Bylaws for a list of recognized TCMA programs.”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/traditional-chinese-medicine-and-acupun... -
Complete at least two years of liberal arts or sciences study comprising at least 60 credits at an accredited college or university acceptable to the Licence Committee.
Source
“All applicants are required to complete no less than two (2) years of liberal arts or sciences study (comprised of at least 60 credits) in an accredited college or chartered/approved university acceptable to the Licence Committee.”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/traditional-chinese-medicine-and-acupun... -
Pass the Pan Canadian Acupuncturists Examination to become an R.Ac.
- Application Fee for PCE-Acupuncturists Examinations: $410 (one application fee when applying for more than 1 type of exam in the same administration)
Source
“Application Fee for Dr.TCM, PCE-Acupuncturists, PCE-TCM Herbalists, or PCE-TCM Practitioner Examinations (one application fee when applying for more than 1 type of exam in the same administration): $410”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/traditional-chinese-medicine-and-acupun...
Source
“To become an R.Ac. = Pan Canadian Acupuncturists Examination”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/traditional-chinese-medicine-and-acupun... - Application Fee for PCE-Acupuncturists Examinations: $410 (one application fee when applying for more than 1 type of exam in the same administration)
-
Successfully complete the Interactive Safety Course, including the modules required for the R.Ac. licence title.
Source
“All applicants applying for licence with the College must successfully complete the Interactive Safety Course.”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/traditional-chinese-medicine-and-acupun... -
Complete a Criminal Record Check conducted by the Criminal Records Review Program before submitting the registration application.
Source
“Before you submit your registration application, you are responsible for completing a Criminal Record Check (CRC) conducted by the Criminal Records Review Program (CRRP).”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/traditional-chinese-medicine-and-acupun... -
Submit the required documents, including proof of identity and education credentials, at the time of examination application.
- Application fee, Full licence: $225
Source
“APPLICATION FEES Full licence: $225”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/traditional-chinese-medicine-and-acupun...
Source
“All examination applicants are required to submit the following documents at the time of examination application:”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/traditional-chinese-medicine-and-acupun... - Application fee, Full licence: $225
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $225
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $225 | 100% |
| One-time total | $225 | 100% |
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $990 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
- Full licence: $990
- Late renewal: $350 (when renewal is late)
Licensed in another province
- Annual fees: $990
Steps not listed by the regulator Check with CCHPBC
Trained outside Canada
0 of 7 done
- Listed one-time fees: $525
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $990
-
Have the education program completed outside of BC assessed individually through the Equivalency Determination process to confirm it is substantially equivalent to recognized programs.
- Equivalency Determination Fee: $300
Source
“Equivalency Determination Fee: $300”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/traditional-chinese-medicine-and-acupun...
Source
“CCHPBC assesses TCMA education programs outside of BC on an individual basis through the Equivalency Determination process.”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/traditional-chinese-medicine-and-acupun... - Equivalency Determination Fee: $300
-
Submit a credential evaluation report including a copy of the transcript issued by a member of the Alliance of Credential Evaluation Services of Canada if the education was completed outside of Canada.
Source
“Credential evaluation report (including a copy of transcript) issued by members of Alliance of Credential Evaluation Services of Canada – if completed outside of Canada”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/traditional-chinese-medicine-and-acupun... -
Complete at least two years of liberal arts or sciences study comprising at least 60 credits at an accredited college or university acceptable to the Licence Committee.
Source
“All applicants are required to complete no less than two (2) years of liberal arts or sciences study (comprised of at least 60 credits) in an accredited college or chartered/approved university acceptable to the Licence Committee.”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/traditional-chinese-medicine-and-acupun... -
Pass the Pan Canadian Acupuncturists Examination to become an R.Ac.
- Application Fee for PCE-Acupuncturists Examinations: $410 (one application fee when applying for more than 1 type of exam in the same administration)
Source
“Application Fee for Dr.TCM, PCE-Acupuncturists, PCE-TCM Herbalists, or PCE-TCM Practitioner Examinations (one application fee when applying for more than 1 type of exam in the same administration): $410”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/traditional-chinese-medicine-and-acupun...
Source
“To become an R.Ac. = Pan Canadian Acupuncturists Examination”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/traditional-chinese-medicine-and-acupun... - Application Fee for PCE-Acupuncturists Examinations: $410 (one application fee when applying for more than 1 type of exam in the same administration)
-
Successfully complete the Interactive Safety Course, including the modules required for the R.Ac. licence title.
Source
“All applicants applying for licence with the College must successfully complete the Interactive Safety Course.”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/traditional-chinese-medicine-and-acupun... -
Complete a Criminal Record Check conducted by the Criminal Records Review Program before submitting the registration application.
Source
“Before you submit your registration application, you are responsible for completing a Criminal Record Check (CRC) conducted by the Criminal Records Review Program (CRRP).”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/traditional-chinese-medicine-and-acupun... -
Submit the required documents, including proof of identity and education credentials, at the time of examination application.
- Application fee, Full licence: $225
Source
“APPLICATION FEES Full licence: $225”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/traditional-chinese-medicine-and-acupun...
Source
“All examination applicants are required to submit the following documents at the time of examination application:”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/traditional-chinese-medicine-and-acupun... - Application fee, Full licence: $225
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $525
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $525 | 100% |
| One-time total | $525 | 100% |
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $990 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
- Full licence: $990
- Late renewal: $350 (when renewal is late)
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Jurisprudence exam: $197
Source
“Jurisprudence exam: $197”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/traditional-chinese-medicine-and-acupun... - Administrative Fee for Changing Examinations After Approval: $140 (when changing examinations after approval)
Source
“Administrative Fee for Changing Examinations After Approval: $140”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/traditional-chinese-medicine-and-acupun... - Certificate of Standing: $50
Source
“Certificate of Standing: $50”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/traditional-chinese-medicine-and-acupun... - Reinstatement to Full licence (after three years or less): $225 (after three years or less)
Source
“Reinstatement to Full licence (after three years or less): $225”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/traditional-chinese-medicine-and-acupun... - Reinstatement to Full licence (after more than three years): $300 (after more than three years)
Source
“Reinstatement to Full licence (after more than three years): $300”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/traditional-chinese-medicine-and-acupun... - Transfer from Non-Practising to Full licence on or before March 1, 2027: $225 (on or before March 1, 2027)
Source
“Transfer from Non-Practising to Full licence on or before March 1, 2027: $225”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/traditional-chinese-medicine-and-acupun...
Requirements
Education
Applicants must complete at least two years (60 credits) of liberal arts or sciences study at an accredited college or university acceptable to the Licence Committee, and courses cannot count toward both this and the acupuncturist education requirement.
Source
“All applicants are required to complete no less than two (2) years of liberal arts or sciences study (comprised of at least 60 credits) in an accredited college or chartered/approved university acceptable to the Licence Committee. Courses cannot be used to satisfy more than one requirement (e.g., for both Acupuncturist education and Two Years of Liberal Arts or Sciences Study).”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/traditional-chinese-medicine-and-acupun...
Police check
Applicants must complete a Criminal Record Check conducted by the Criminal Records Review Program before submitting their registration application.
Source
“Before you submit your registration application, you are responsible for completing a Criminal Record Check (CRC) conducted by the Criminal Records Review Program (CRRP).”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/traditional-chinese-medicine-and-acupun...
Insurance
Applicants must confirm they have professional liability protection or liability insurance coverage of at least $5,000,000 per claim or occurrence.
Source
“The Licence Applicant is required to provide confirmation of compliance, with requirement to have professional liability protection or liability insurance coverage in an amount of at least $5,000,000 per claim or occurrence.”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/traditional-chinese-medicine-and-acupun...
Good character
Applicants must provide a declaration or other information showing they are of good character and will practise in an ethical manner.
Source
“The Licence Applicant is required to provide declaration or other information demonstrating the License Applicant is of good character and will practise Traditional Chinese Medicine and Acupuncture in an ethical manner”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/traditional-chinese-medicine-and-acupun...
Other
Applicants must hold current certification in Standard First Aid CPR and AED Level C, or an equivalent or exceeding certification.
Source
“Standard First Aid CPR and AED Level C Certifications equivalent or exceeding the certification courses listed above are acceptable.”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/traditional-chinese-medicine-and-acupun...Applicants must provide information confirming their English language proficiency in accordance with the English Language Proficiency policy.
Source
“The Licence Applicant is required to provide information confirming the Licence Applicant’s English language proficiency in a form satisfactory to, or in accordance with, the English Language Proficiency policy.”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/traditional-chinese-medicine-and-acupun...Applicants who graduated more than 3 years ago or are attempting the licence examination for the 2nd or 3rd time must complete a pre-approved Refresher Program/Course before the examination application deadline.
Source
“You are required to complete a Refresher Program/Course prior to the examination application deadline if you have graduated from a TCM/A education program more than 3 years ago OR if you are attempting the licence examination for the 2nd or 3rd time.”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/traditional-chinese-medicine-and-acupun...
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The page lists a section for current TCM/A licensees in another regulated Canadian jurisdiction but does not state what steps they must take. Source
“Current TCM/A licensee in another regulated Canadian Jurisdiction”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/traditional-chinese-medicine-and-acupun...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with CCHPBC
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with CCHPBC
Exams
-
Pan Canadian Acupuncturists Examination
Source
“To become an R.Ac. = Pan Canadian Acupuncturists Examination”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/traditional-chinese-medicine-and-acupun... -
Jurisprudence exam
Source
“Jurisprudence exam: $197”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/traditional-chinese-medicine-and-acupun... -
Interactive Safety Course
Source
“All applicants applying for licence with the College must successfully complete the Interactive Safety Course.”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/traditional-chinese-medicine-and-acupun...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with CCHPBC
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with CCHPBC
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with CCHPBC
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | $37,929 | $37,929 | $71,000 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $32,867 | $32,867 | $79,500 | — |
Acupuncturists in other provinces and territories
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba Not confirmed yet
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Traditional Chinese Medicine Practitioners and Acupuncturists - CCHPBC cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/traditional-chinese-medicine-and-acupun... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Traditional Chinese Medicine Practitioners and Acupuncturists - Applicants - CCHPBC cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/traditional-chinese-medicine-and-acupun... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Fees: Traditional Chinese Medicine Practitioners and Acupuncturists - CCHPBC cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/traditional-chinese-medicine-and-acupun... · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as an acupuncturist in British Columbia?
Yes. Registration with the College of Complementary Health Professionals of BC is required to practise in British Columbia.
Which exams are required?
Pan Canadian Acupuncturists Examination, Jurisprudence exam, Interactive Safety Course.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.