At a glance

Licence status
Licence required See the source
Routes
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with CPSBC

Your roadmap

Trained outside Canada

  • 1 step without a listed fee
  1. The applicant determines which licence class they may qualify for, such as provisional, clinical observer, assessment or associate physician.

    Source
    “Internationally trained physicians (ITPs) who do not qualify for the full class can apply for a licence in the provisional class, clinical observer class, assessment class or associate physician class.”
    cpsbc.ca/licensees/licensing/itp

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with CPSBC

1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

  • physiciansapply.ca account setup: $150 (one-time setup fee)
    Source
    “### physiciansapply.ca account setup One-time setup fee Learn about physiciansapply.ca ### $150.00”
    mcc.ca/fees
  • Source verification request: $232 (per medical credential)
    Source
    “### Source verification request Per medical credential Learn about SVRs ### $232.00”
    mcc.ca/fees
  • File transfer service: $65 (per document transferred)
    Source
    “### $65.00 Per document transferred”
    mcc.ca/fees
  • File transfer service: $260 (four or more documents transferred to the same third party in a single transaction)
    Source
    “### $260.00 Four or more documents transferred to the same third party in a single transaction”
    mcc.ca/fees
  • MCCQE application: $1,500
    Source
    “### MCCQE (formerly MCCQE Part I) application Learn about the MCCQE ### $1,500.00”
    mcc.ca/fees
  • MCCQE withdrawal fee: $750 (if withdrawing from the MCCQE in certain circumstances)
    Source
    “In certain circumstances, you may be eligible for a refund; however, a $750.00 withdrawal fee would be charged.”
    mcc.ca/fees
  • MCCQE eligibility window extension: $120
    Source
    “#### Eligibility window extension<br>$120.00”
    mcc.ca/fees
  • Appeal fee: $1,200
    Source
    “#### Appeal fee<br>$1,200.00”
    mcc.ca/fees
  • LMCC application: $50
    Source
    “### LMCC application Learn about the LMCC ### $50.00”
    mcc.ca/fees
  • LMCC document replacement: $100 (per document)
    Source
    “#### $100.00 per document”
    mcc.ca/fees
  • Application for medical registration: $240
    Source
    “### Application for medical registration Learn about AMR ### $240.00”
    mcc.ca/fees
  • Registration fee (British Columbia): $665
    Source
    “Registration fee, $665; preliminary assessment of qualifications, $650”
    mcc.ca/credentials-and-services/pathways-to-licensure/application-f...
  • Preliminary assessment of qualifications (British Columbia): $650
    Source
    “Registration fee, $665; preliminary assessment of qualifications, $650”
    mcc.ca/credentials-and-services/pathways-to-licensure/application-f...
  • OET English proficiency testing: $455
    Source
    “| OET | English proficiency testing | AU $587 or USD $455 |”
    cpsbc.ca/licensees/licensing/timelines
  • IELTS English proficiency testing: $342 (approximately CAD $342-379)
    Source
    “| IELTS | English proficiency testing | Approximately CAD $342-379 |”
    cpsbc.ca/licensees/licensing/timelines
  • CELPIP English proficiency testing: $290
    Source
    “| CELPIP | English proficiency testing | CAD $290 |”
    cpsbc.ca/licensees/licensing/timelines

Requirements

Education

  • The applicant must have completed a minimum of one year of accredited training as a medical or surgical specialist before applying.

    Source
    “have completed a minimum of one year accredited training as a medical or surgical specialist prior to applying for licensure”
    cpsbc.ca/licensees/licensing/itp/associate-physician
  • The applicant must have a medical degree from a school listed in the World Directory of Medical Schools with a Canadian sponsor note.

    Source
    “have a medical degree from a medical school listed in the World Directory of Medical Schools which includes a Canadian sponsor note”
    cpsbc.ca/registrants/current-registrants/registration-and-licensing...
  • The applicant must meet at least one of the listed certification or training requirements, such as certification with the College of Family Physicians of Canada.

    Source
    “meet at least one of the following requirements: - have obtained certification with the College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC)”
    cpsbc.ca/registrants/current-registrants/registration-and-licensing...
  • If accredited postgraduate training was completed in Canada, the applicant must have obtained certification with the CFPC and the LMCC.

    Source
    “if accredited postgraduate training was completed in Canada, applicants are required to have obtained certification with the CFPC and have obtained the LMCC”
    cpsbc.ca/registrants/current-registrants/registration-and-licensing...
  • The applicant must be a graduate of an American Osteopathic Association accredited school of osteopathic medicine.

    Source
    “be a graduate of a school or college of osteopathic medicine accredited by the American Osteopathic Association, acceptable to the Licence Committee”
    cpsbc.ca/registrants/current-registrants/registration-and-licensing...
  • The applicant must have completed postgraduate training and certification in an American Osteopathic Association accredited program and passed the three-part Comprehensive Osteopathic Medical Licensing Examinations.

    Source
    “postgraduate training and certification in a program accredited by the American Osteopathic Association, acceptable to the Licence Committee, and - the three-part Comprehensive Osteopathic Medical Licensing Examinations administered by the United States National Board of Osteopathic Medical Examiners”
    cpsbc.ca/registrants/current-registrants/registration-and-licensing...
  • The applicant must have successfully completed a minimum of two years of postgraduate training in a foreign jurisdiction covering the listed specialties.

    Source
    “have, to the satisfaction of the Licence Committee, successfully completed a minimum of two years of postgraduate training in a foreign jurisdiction that includes training in the following: - medicine - surgery - obstetrics/gynecology - pediatrics - psychiatry - emergency medicine, and - family practice, leading to registration or recognition as a family physician in that jurisdiction”
    cpsbc.ca/licensees/licensing/itp/assessment

Insurance

Residency

Other

Already licensed in another province?

Extra steps

Applicants who hold a clinical or surgical assistant licence in certain other Canadian provinces may qualify to apply under the Canadian Free Trade Agreement, and all such applications must be initiated through Health Match BC.

Source
“Applicants who hold a clinical or surgical assistant licence in Alberta, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Newfoundland, Prince Edward Island, may qualify to apply under the Canadian Free Trade Agreement.”
cpsbc.ca/licensees/licensing/itp/associate-physician

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with CPSBC

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with CPSBC

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with CPSBC

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with CPSBC

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with CPSBC

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in British Columbia and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
British Columbia $56,864 $160,960 $348,082 Good (4 of 5)
Canada $90,826 $232,227 $435,240 —

Wages by region and job outlook in British Columbia

Wages in every province and territory

Physicians in other provinces and territories

Compare physician licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Licensing | College of Physicians and Surgeons of BC cpsbc.ca/registrants/current-registrants/registration-and-licensing · fetched October 10, 2026
  2. Internationally trained physicians | College of Physicians and Surgeons of BC cpsbc.ca/licensees/licensing/itp · fetched October 10, 2026
  3. Associate physician | College of Physicians and Surgeons of BC cpsbc.ca/licensees/licensing/itp/associate-physician · fetched October 10, 2026
  4. Family practice | College of Physicians and Surgeons of BC cpsbc.ca/registrants/current-registrants/registration-and-licensing... · fetched October 10, 2026
  5. Osteopathic | College of Physicians and Surgeons of BC cpsbc.ca/registrants/current-registrants/registration-and-licensing... · fetched October 10, 2026
  6. Assessment | College of Physicians and Surgeons of BC cpsbc.ca/licensees/licensing/itp/assessment · fetched October 10, 2026
  7. Examination and service fees | Medical Council of Canada mcc.ca/fees · fetched October 10, 2026
  8. Application for medical registration | Medical Council of Canada mcc.ca/credentials-and-services/pathways-to-licensure/application-f... · fetched October 10, 2026
  9. Application timelines and fees | College of Physicians and Surgeons of BC cpsbc.ca/licensees/licensing/timelines · fetched October 10, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a physician in British Columbia?

Yes. Registration with the College of Physicians and Surgeons of BC is required to practise in British Columbia.

Which exams are required?

MCCQE (formerly MCCQE Part I), Comprehensive Osteopathic Medical Licensing Examinations, Practice Ready Assessment – British Columbia (PRA-BC) program.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.