How to Become a Registered Clinical Social Worker in British Columbia
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the BC College of Social Workers to work as a registered clinical social worker in British Columbia or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“A regulator is a provincial or federal statutory body that requires an individual to hold membership, accreditation, licensing or registration to be authorized to work in a specific occupation.”
From privatetraininginstitutions.gov.bc.ca/students/career-occupations-o..., checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 8 steps, listed one-time fees $315
- Licensed in another province: no separate route
- Trained outside Canada: 8 steps, listed one-time fees $315
- Annual fees
-
- Annual Registration Fee: $373.25
Source
“Annual Registration Fee: $373.25”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registration - Annual Registration Fee for New Graduates: $292.20 (for applicants who completed their studies in the current year or the preceding year)
Source
“Annual Registration Fee for New Graduates*: $292.20 *The new graduate annual registration fee is a discounted initial registration fee for applicants who completed their studies in the current year or the preceding year.”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registration
- Annual Registration Fee: $373.25
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 8 done
- Listed one-time fees: $315
- 7 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $373.25
- Listed time: 0.7 to 0.9 months (only 2 of 8 steps state a time)
-
Source
“Applicants must review the clinical application pathways prior to applying and select the pathway that corresponds to their qualifications.”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registratio... -
Create an online application profile once all requirements have been gathered, knowing incomplete applications expire after three months.
- Application Fee: $315
Source
“Application Fee: $315.00”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registration
Source
“Please create an online application profile once you have gathered all requirements. Incomplete applications will expire after three (3) months”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registratio... - Application Fee: $315
-
Arrange for documents such as an official transcript, clinical supervision reference form and references to be sent directly to the College.
Source
“You must arrange for an official transcript to be sent directly to BCCSW by the degree-granting institution. The transcript must clearly confirm that the degree has been awarded.”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registratio... -
Once all required documents are received, the College reviews the application and, if it meets the requirements, emails approval to take the licensure exam.
Source
“Once all of the required documents have been received, the College will review the application in its entirety. If it is determined that the application meets the registration requirements, the applicant will receive an email from the College notifying that they have been approved to take the licensure exam by the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB).”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registratio... -
After receiving the exam approval email, register for the exam through the ASWB website and read the Candidate Handbook.
Source
“After receiving the exam approval email from the College, the applicant can register for the exam through the ASWB. Please visit the ASWB’s website (www.aswb.org) and read the Candidate Handbook (PDF) under the Exam Candidates section.”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registratio... -
Once exam registration is complete, ASWB sends an Authorization to Test and the applicant schedules an exam appointment at a designated test centre.
Source
“Once registration for the exam is complete, ASWB will send the applicant an Authorization to Test. When the applicant receives this authorization, they can schedule an appointment for the exam through the test centre designated by ASWB.”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registratio... -
After the exam, the College receives an official score report and, if the applicant passed, sends an approval email with an invoice for the registration fee, whose payment completes registration.
Time: 1 to 2 weeksTime source
“Within 1-2 weeks after the exam has been taken, the College will receive an official score report from the ASWB.”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registratio...Source
“Within 1-2 weeks after the exam has been taken, the College will receive an official score report from the ASWB. If the applicant has passed the exam, the College will send them an application approval email with an invoice for a registration fee. Payment of the registration fee will complete the registration process.”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registratio... -
Applicants approved for registration must submit proof of professional liability insurance within two weeks.
Time: 2 weeksTime source
“Applicants who are approved for registration will be required to submit proof of professional liability insurance within 2 weeks, in accordance with the requirements set out in the bylaws.”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registratio...Source
“Applicants who are approved for registration will be required to submit proof of professional liability insurance within 2 weeks, in accordance with the requirements set out in the bylaws.”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registratio...
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $315
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $315 | 100% |
| One-time total | $315 | 100% |
7 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $373.25 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
- Annual Registration Fee: $373.25
Source
“Annual Registration Fee: $373.25”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registration - Annual Registration Fee for New Graduates: $292.20 (for applicants who completed their studies in the current year or the preceding year)
Source
“Annual Registration Fee for New Graduates*: $292.20 *The new graduate annual registration fee is a discounted initial registration fee for applicants who completed their studies in the current year or the preceding year.”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registration
Licensed in another province
- Annual fees: $373.25
No separate route for this group. Source
“The temporary registration class is intended for use by out-of-province social workers, already registered or licensed in the equivalent of the full or clinical class of registration with a statutory social work regulatory body in another jurisdiction in Canada or the United States”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/temporary-registration
Trained outside Canada
0 of 8 done
- Listed one-time fees: $315
- 7 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $373.25
- Listed time: 0.7 to 0.9 months (only 2 of 8 steps state a time)
-
Source
“Applicants must review the clinical application pathways prior to applying and select the pathway that corresponds to their qualifications.”
bccsw.ca/applicants-with-a-degree-outside-of-canada-or-the-usa -
Create an online application profile once all requirements are gathered, knowing incomplete applications expire after three months.
- Application Fee: $315
Source
“Application Fee: $315.00”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registration
Source
“Please create an online application profile once you have gathered all requirements. Incomplete applications will expire after three (3) months”
bccsw.ca/applicants-with-a-degree-outside-of-canada-or-the-usa - Application Fee: $315
-
Arrange for an official transcript, clinical supervision reference form and the required references to be sent directly to the College.
Source
“You must arrange for an official transcript to be sent directly to BCCSW by the degree-granting institution. The transcript must clearly confirm that the degree has been awarded.”
bccsw.ca/applicants-with-a-degree-outside-of-canada-or-the-usa -
Once all required documents are received, the College reviews the application and, if it meets the requirements, emails approval to take the licensure exam.
Source
“Once all of the required documents have been received, the College will review the application in its entirety. If it is determined that the application meets the registration requirements, the applicant will receive an email from the College notifying that they have been approved to take the licensure exam by the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB).”
bccsw.ca/applicants-with-a-degree-outside-of-canada-or-the-usa -
After receiving the exam approval email, register for the exam through the ASWB website and read the Candidate Handbook.
Source
“After receiving the exam approval email from the College, the applicant can register for the exam through the ASWB. Please visit the ASWB’s website (www.aswb.org) and read the Candidate Handbook (PDF) under the Exam Candidates section.”
bccsw.ca/applicants-with-a-degree-outside-of-canada-or-the-usa -
Once exam registration is complete, ASWB sends an Authorization to Test and the applicant schedules an exam appointment at a designated test centre.
Source
“Once registration for the exam is complete, ASWB will send the applicant an Authorization to Test. When the applicant receives this authorization, they can schedule an appointment for the exam through the test centre designated by ASWB.”
bccsw.ca/applicants-with-a-degree-outside-of-canada-or-the-usa -
After the exam, the College receives an official score report and, if the applicant passed, sends an approval email with an invoice for the registration fee, whose payment completes registration.
Time: 1 to 2 weeksTime source
“Within 1-2 weeks after the exam has been taken, the College will receive an official score report from the ASWB.”
bccsw.ca/applicants-with-a-degree-outside-of-canada-or-the-usaSource
“Within 1-2 weeks after the exam has been taken, the College will receive an official score report from the ASWB. If the applicant has passed the exam, the College will send them an application approval email with an invoice for a registration fee. Payment of the registration fee will complete the registration process.”
bccsw.ca/applicants-with-a-degree-outside-of-canada-or-the-usa -
Applicants approved for registration must submit proof of professional liability insurance within two weeks.
Time: 2 weeksTime source
“Applicants who are approved for registration will be required to submit proof of professional liability insurance within 2 weeks, in accordance with the requirements set out in the bylaws.”
bccsw.ca/applicants-with-a-degree-outside-of-canada-or-the-usaSource
“Applicants who are approved for registration will be required to submit proof of professional liability insurance within 2 weeks, in accordance with the requirements set out in the bylaws.”
bccsw.ca/applicants-with-a-degree-outside-of-canada-or-the-usa
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $315
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $315 | 100% |
| One-time total | $315 | 100% |
7 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $373.25 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
- Annual Registration Fee: $373.25
Source
“Annual Registration Fee: $373.25”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registration - Annual Registration Fee for New Graduates: $292.20 (for applicants who completed their studies in the current year or the preceding year)
Source
“Annual Registration Fee for New Graduates*: $292.20 *The new graduate annual registration fee is a discounted initial registration fee for applicants who completed their studies in the current year or the preceding year.”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registration
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Criminal Record Check Fee: $28
Source
“Criminal Record Check Fee: $28.00”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registration - Substantial Equivalency Assessment Fees: $367.50 (for applicants without a master’s degree in social work approved by the board)
Source
“Substantial Equivalency Assessment Fees: $367.50 (For applicants without a master’s degree in social work approved by the board).”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registration
Requirements
Education
Applicants must hold a master's or doctoral degree in social work from an institution accredited by CASWE or NIAB and approved by the College.
Source
“Hold a master’s or doctoral degree in social work from an educational institution accredited by the Canadian Association for Social Work Education (CASWE) or National Indigenous Accreditation Board (NIAB) and approved by the College.”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registratio...Applicants must provide evidence of coursework in human behaviour and development, assessment and diagnosis at an advanced level, and psychotherapy and clinical practice at the graduate level.
Source
“Provide evidence of completion of coursework in: Human behavior and development at an undergraduate or graduate level Assessment and diagnosis at an advanced level Psychotherapy and clinical practice at the graduate level”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registratio...
Experience
Applicants must complete at least 3,000 hours of supervised clinical social work practice after the qualifying degree, over not less than 2 and not more than 4 years.
Source
“Complete at least 3,000 hours of supervised clinical social work practice, which must: Be completed after the qualifying degree Be completed over a period of not less than 2 years and not more than 4 years”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registratio...Applicants must complete at least 100 hours of supervision distributed across the supervised practice period and provided one-on-one by a single supervisor approved by the Registrar.
Source
“Complete at least 100 hours of supervision, which must: 1.Be distributed across the period of supervised practice 2.Be provided by a one-on-one with a single supervisor approved by the Registrar”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registratio...
Insurance
Registrants must hold professional liability insurance in a form and amount satisfactory to the College.
Source
“In accordance with Bylaw 82, registrants must hold professional liability insurance in a form and amount satisfactory to the College.”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registratio...
Good character
Clinical registration applicants must provide one character reference and one clinical supervision reference from a qualifying professional with direct knowledge of their clinical practice.
Source
“clinical registration applicants must provide one character reference and one clinical supervision reference.”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registratio...
Other
Applicants for clinical registration must demonstrate sufficient proficiency in English to the satisfaction of the Registration Committee.
Source
“Applicants for full, clinical and provisional registration must demonstrate sufficient proficiency in English to the satisfaction of the Registration Committee.”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registratio...
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages do not state how someone already licensed in another Canadian province or territory registers as a registered clinical social worker in British Columbia. Source
“The temporary registration class is intended for use by out-of-province social workers, already registered or licensed in the equivalent of the full or clinical class of registration with a statutory social work regulatory body in another jurisdiction in Canada or the United States”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/temporary-registration
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with BCCSW
Credential assessment
credential evaluation service providers approved by the College’s Registration Committee
Assess credentials of applicants educated outside Canada/USA
Source
“International credentials are required to be assessed by any of the credential evaluation service providers approved by the College’s Registration Committee by arranging for a basic report sent to the College directly by one of the approved credential evaluation service providers.”
bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/full-registration/re...
Exams
Not stated by the regulator Check with BCCSW
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with BCCSW
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with BCCSW
Supervised practice
Required · 3,000 hours
Demand and pay
No Job Bank wage or outlook data for this occupation yet.
Registered clinical social workers in other provinces and territories
- Alberta Not confirmed yet
- Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba Not confirmed yet
- Ontario Not confirmed yet
- Quebec Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Compare registered clinical social worker licensing across Canada
Sources checked
- Career Occupations and Other Regulators | Private Training Institutions Regulatory Unit privatetraininginstitutions.gov.bc.ca/students/career-occupations-o... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Canadian MSW/Doctorial Degree in SW – bccsw.ca bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registratio... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Clinical Registration – bccsw.ca bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/clinical-registration · fetched October 10, 2026
- Temporary Registration – bccsw.ca bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/temporary-registration · fetched October 10, 2026
- Applicants with a degree outside of Canada or the USA – bccsw.ca bccsw.ca/applicants-with-a-degree-outside-of-canada-or-the-usa · fetched October 10, 2026
- Applicants with a degree outside of Canada or the USA – bccsw.ca bccsw.ca/for-applicants/apply-for-registration/full-registration/re... · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
1
Do you need a licence to work as a registered clinical social worker in British Columbia?
Yes. Registration with the BC College of Social Workers is required to practise in British Columbia.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.