How to Become a Canada Lands Surveyor in Canada (federal)
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the Association of Canada Lands Surveyors to work as a canada lands surveyor in Canada or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Only licensed CLS professionals are legally authorized to conduct cadastral surveys, the surveys that establish and define legal interests in land, often referred to as boundary or legal surveying.”
From acls-aatc.ca/en/Student-hub, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 9 steps, listed one-time fees $1,140
- Licensed in another province: 6 steps, listed one-time fees $340
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Association of Canada Lands Surveyors
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 9 done
- Listed one-time fees: $1,140
- 5 steps without a listed fee
- Listed time: 6 to 24 months (only 1 of 9 steps state a time)
-
Register as a Direct Entry candidate and pay the fee.
- Admission as an ACLS direct entry or labour mobility candidate: $285
Source
“1. Admission as an ACLS direct entry or labour mobility candidate $285.00”
acls-aatc.ca/en/article/2026-bylaw-amendments
- Admission as an ACLS direct entry or labour mobility candidate: $285
-
Once accepted as a Direct Entry candidate, complete the Application for Training Period.
Source
“2. Once accepted as a DE Candidate, you will be asked to complete the Application for Training Period:”
acls-aatc.ca/en/become-a-cls -
Register for the Enhanced Getting It Right workshop.
Source
“3. Register for Enhanced Getting it Right (GIR) workshop: *Coming soon!*”
acls-aatc.ca/en/become-a-cls -
While remaining an ACLS student member, complete two years of practical experience and a project report submitted according to the Candidate Handbook guidelines.
- Filing of Affidavit of Training and Experience, and Project Report: $200
Source
“4. Filing of Affidavit of Training and Experience, and Project Report $200.00”
acls-aatc.ca/en/article/2026-bylaw-amendments
Source
“Candidates will remain ACLS student members while completing their two (2) years of practical experience and project.”
acls-aatc.ca/en/become-a-cls - Filing of Affidavit of Training and Experience, and Project Report: $200
-
- Professional Assessment Interview: $600
Source
“5. To register for the Professional Practice Interview: *Coming soon!*”
acls-aatc.ca/en/become-a-cls -
Once the Board of Examiners recommends your Commission and it is approved, apply to become a Regular Member of the ACLS and pay the fee.
-
Apply for an ACLS Licence, submit the training and experience affidavit, and pay the fee.
Source
“2. Apply for an ACLS Licence, submit training and experience affidavit, pay the fee”
acls-aatc.ca/en/become-a-cls -
Undertake the oath and pay the fee, after which your commission and licence will be issued by the Registrar.
- For a Commission: $55
-
After being issued your commission and licence, complete a mandatory Onboarding Period expected to take between 6 and 24 months, including a required Getting It Right workshop and a mandatory practice review.
Time: 6 to 24 monthsSource
“all new licensees must complete the mandatory Onboarding Period, expected to take between 6 and 24 months. This will include a required *Getting It Right* workshop (*waived for Direct Entry Candidates who completed this training before their professional practice interview*) and mandatory practice review, early on in your CLS practice.”
acls-aatc.ca/en/become-a-cls
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $1,140
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $1,140 | 100% |
| One-time total | $1,140 | 100% |
5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 6 done
- Listed one-time fees: $340
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Listed time: 6 to 24 months (only 1 of 6 steps state a time)
-
Register as a candidate with the ACLS and pay the required fee.
- Admission as an ACLS direct entry or labour mobility candidate: $285
Source
“1. Admission as an ACLS direct entry or labour mobility candidate $285.00”
acls-aatc.ca/en/article/2026-bylaw-amendments
- Admission as an ACLS direct entry or labour mobility candidate: $285
-
Provide letters of good conduct to the ACLS Registrar from every jurisdiction where you currently hold a commission.
Source
“Provide letters of good conduct to the ACLS Registrar from every jurisdiction where you currently hold a commission (these can be uploaded to the candidate form linked above).”
acls-aatc.ca/en/become-a-cls -
Apply to become a Regular Member of the ACLS and pay the fee.
-
Apply for an ACLS Licence and pay the fee, including providing proof of insurance in the federal jurisdiction.
Source
“4. Apply for an ACLS Licence & pay the fee: (Includes a requirement for proof of insurance in the federal jurisdiction).”
acls-aatc.ca/en/become-a-cls -
If the Board of Examiners approves your application and Council recommends it, undertake the oath and pay the fee.
- For a Commission: $55
Source
“5. If approved, you are expected to undertake the oath & pay the fee:”
acls-aatc.ca/en/become-a-cls -
After being issued your commission and licence, complete a mandatory Onboarding Period expected to take between 6 and 24 months, including a required Getting It Right workshop and a mandatory practice review.
Time: 6 to 24 monthsSource
“all new licencees must complete the mandatory Onboarding Period, expected to take between 6 and 24 months. This will include a required *Getting It Right* workshop and mandatory practice review, early on in your CLS practice.”
acls-aatc.ca/en/become-a-cls
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $340
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $340 | 100% |
| One-time total | $340 | 100% |
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Hydrographic Surveying Examination: $200
- Appeal a decision of the Board of Examiners: $135
Source
“5. Appeal a decision of the Board of Examiners $135.00”
acls-aatc.ca/en/article/2026-bylaw-amendments - Purchase an excerpt of the Register: $25
- Purchase an electronic member's seal for practicing members: $35 (for practicing members)
Source
“8. Purchase an electronic member's seal for practicing members $35.00”
acls-aatc.ca/en/article/2026-bylaw-amendments - Assessment for reinstatement of revoked or lapsed license or permit (if lapsed 3 years or more): $250 (if lapsed 3 years or more)
Source
“9. Assessment for reinstatement of revoked or lapsed license or permit (if lapsed 3 years or more) $250.00”
acls-aatc.ca/en/article/2026-bylaw-amendments - Assessment for reinstatement of revoked or lapsed license or permit (if lapsed under 3 years): $175 (if lapsed under 3 years)
Source
“10. Assessment for reinstatement of revoked or lapsed license or permit (if lapsed under 3 years) $175.00”
acls-aatc.ca/en/article/2026-bylaw-amendments - Monument Fee per new monument placed: $20 (per new monument placed)
- Document Fee per document recorded: $100 (per document recorded)
- Community Wide Parcel Renewal Project: $2,000 (maximum fee for a Community Wide Parcel Renewal Project)
Source
“3. Community Wide Parcel Renewal Project $2,000.00 where $2,000 is the maximum fee for a Community Wide Parcel Renewal Project”
acls-aatc.ca/en/article/2026-bylaw-amendments - Penalty for late payment of annual dues or license: $500
Source
“failure to provide changes to licensure criteria within 30 days - $50/day to a maximum of $500.00”
acls-aatc.ca/en/article/2026-bylaw-amendments
Requirements
Education
Direct Entry applicants must hold a Certificate of Completion from the Canadian Board of Examiners for Professional Surveyors.
Source
“Direct Entry Pathway: Hold a Certificate of Completion (C of C) from the Canadian Board of Examiners for Professional Surveyors (CBEPS).”
acls-aatc.ca/en/become-a-cls
Experience
Direct Entry candidates must complete two years of practical experience and a project.
Source
“Candidates will remain ACLS student members while completing their two (2) years of practical experience and project.”
acls-aatc.ca/en/become-a-cls
Insurance
To qualify for an ACLS licence, applicants must provide proof of professional liability insurance with a policy limit of not less than $250,000 for each single occurrence and $500,000 for all occurrences in any 12 month period, or proof of exemption.
Source
“has provided proof of the required professional liability insurance (policy limit not be less than $250,000 for each single occurrence and $500,000 for all occurrences in any 12 month period) or proof of exemption; and”
acls-aatc.ca/en/licences
Good character
Labour Mobility applicants must provide letters of good conduct from every jurisdiction where they currently hold a commission.
Source
“Provide letters of good conduct to the ACLS Registrar from every jurisdiction where you currently hold a commission (these can be uploaded to the candidate form linked above).”
acls-aatc.ca/en/become-a-clsEarning a Commission requires that the applicant has demonstrated good character and professional competence.
Other
To qualify for an ACLS licence, the applicant must be a regular member of the ACLS.
To qualify for an ACLS licence, the applicant must have successfully completed the professional training period in accordance with the Candidate Handbook.
Source
“- has successfully completed the professional training period in accordance with the Candidate Handbook;”
acls-aatc.ca/en/licencesTo qualify for an ACLS licence, the applicant must have provided a project report approved by the Board of Examiners.
Source
“- has provided a project report according to the Project Report requirements of the Candidate Handbook that has been approved by the Board of Examiners;”
acls-aatc.ca/en/licencesTo qualify for an ACLS licence, the applicant must have provided an affidavit according to the Canada Lands Surveyors Regulations.
Source
“- has provided an affidavit according to the Canada Lands Surveyors Regulations;”
acls-aatc.ca/en/licences
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
A land surveyor holding a commission or licence in a Canadian province can qualify through the Labour Mobility pathway based on their current credentials, without retaking an entry-to-practice exam or competence assessment. Source
“Labour Mobility Pathway: Hold a Commission or Licence as a land surveyor in a Canadian province.”
acls-aatc.ca/en/become-a-cls
Register as a candidate
Provide letters of good conduct
Source
“Provide letters of good conduct to the ACLS Registrar from every jurisdiction where you currently hold a commission (these can be uploaded to the candidate form linked above).”
acls-aatc.ca/en/become-a-clsApply for Regular Membership
Apply for an ACLS Licence
Source
“4. Apply for an ACLS Licence & pay the fee: (Includes a requirement for proof of insurance in the federal jurisdiction).”
acls-aatc.ca/en/become-a-clsUndertake the oath
Source
“5. If approved, you are expected to undertake the oath & pay the fee:”
acls-aatc.ca/en/become-a-cls
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Association of Canada Lands Surveyors
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Association of Canada Lands Surveyors
Exams
-
Professional Practice Interview
Source
“A new two-hour Professional Practice Interview will be conducted by a three-member panel from the Board of Examiners.”
acls-aatc.ca/en/become-a-cls -
Hydrographic Surveying Examination
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Association of Canada Lands Surveyors
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Association of Canada Lands Surveyors
Supervised practice
Required
All new licensees must complete a mandatory Onboarding Period expected to take between 6 and 24 months, including a required Getting It Right workshop and a mandatory practice review. Source
“all new licencees must complete the mandatory Onboarding Period, expected to take between 6 and 24 months. This will include a required *Getting It Right* workshop and mandatory practice review, early on in your CLS practice.”
acls-aatc.ca/en/become-a-cls
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Canada | $29.00 | $42.20 | $60.51 | — |
Canada lands surveyors in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Not confirmed yet
- Alberta Not confirmed yet
- Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba Not confirmed yet
- Ontario Not confirmed yet
- Quebec Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- ACLS - Student Hub acls-aatc.ca/en/Student-hub · fetched October 10, 2026
- ACLS - Become a CLS acls-aatc.ca/en/become-a-cls · fetched October 10, 2026
- ACLS - 2026 Bylaw Amendments acls-aatc.ca/en/article/2026-bylaw-amendments · fetched October 10, 2026
- ACLS - Licences acls-aatc.ca/en/licences · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a canada lands surveyor in Canada?
Yes. A licence or certificate from the Association of Canada Lands Surveyors is required to work in Canada.
Which exams are required?
Professional Practice Interview, Hydrographic Surveying Examination.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.