How to Become an Architect in New Brunswick
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the Architects' Association of New Brunswick to work as an architect in New Brunswick or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Architect, registered architect, licensed architect, qualified architect
Show the source
“Except as otherwise provided in this Act or in the by-laws, only the members or licensees, or proprietorship, partnerships or corporations holding a Certificate of Practice shall be entitled within New Brunswick to take or use, directly or indirectly, the title or designation “architect”, “registered architect”, “licensed architect”, “qualified architect”, duly qualified architect”, or any like words, initials, or expression.”
From aanb.org/en/act-by-laws, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 8 steps
- Licensed in another province: 2 steps
- Trained outside Canada: 2 steps
- Annual fees
-
- Registered Membership: $1,328.25
Source
“Registered Membership | $830.00 | $124.50 | $954.50 | + Administration fee | $325.00 | $48.75 | $373.75 | Total | $1,328.25”
aanb.org/en/membership-fees-dues - Reciprocal Membership – outside of New Brunswick: $1,328.25 (for members outside of New Brunswick)
Source
“Reciprocal Membership – outside of New Brunswick | $830.00 | $124.50 | $954.50 | + Administration fee | $325.00 | $48.75 | $373.75 | Total | $1,328.25”
aanb.org/en/membership-fees-dues - Intern Membership: $120.75
Source
“Intern Membership | $105.00 | $15.75 | $120.75 | Total | $120.75”
aanb.org/en/membership-fees-dues - Certificate of Practice Per Architect: $1,190.25 (per Architect who is a Partner, Officer or Director responsible for the practice of architecture and authorized to apply the seal on behalf of the Firm)
Source
“Certificate of Practice Per Architect who:<ul><li>is a Partner, Officer or Director responsible for the practice of architecture</li><li>authorized to apply the seal on behalf of the Firm</li></ul> | $710.00 | $106.50 | $816.50 | + Administration fee | $325.00 | $48.75 | $373.75 | Total | $1,190.25”
aanb.org/en/membership-fees-dues - Registered Membership: $954.50
- Registered Membership: + Administration fee: $373.75
- Reciprocal Membership – outside of New Brunswick: $954.50 (for members outside of New Brunswick)
Source
“Reciprocal Membership – outside of New Brunswick | $830.00 | $124.50 | $954.50”
aanb.org/en/membership-fees-dues - Certificate of Practice Per Architect who: is a Partner, Officer or Director responsible for the practice of architecture; authorized to apply the seal on behalf of the Firm: $816.50 (per Architect who is a Partner, Officer or Director responsible for the practice of architecture or authorized to apply the seal on behalf of the Firm)
Source
“Certificate of Practice Per Architect who:<ul><li>is a Partner, Officer or Director responsible for the practice of architecture</li><li>authorized to apply the seal on behalf of the Firm</li></ul> | $710.00 | $106.50 | $816.50”
aanb.org/en/membership-fees-dues
- Registered Membership: $1,328.25
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 8 done
- 8 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $2,777.25
-
Graduate with a professional degree in architecture or successfully complete the RAIC Syllabus Program.
Source
“Have graduated with a professional degree in architecture or have successfully completed the RAIC Syllabus Program”
aanb.org/en/intern-architects -
Receive academic certification from the Canadian Architectural Certification Board, which is required to be eligible to apply to the IAP.
Source
“Have received academic certification from the Canadian Architectural Certification Board (CACB) – www.cacb.ca. This is the institution responsible for assessing the educational qualifications of all architectural graduates and certification is required to be eligible to apply to the IAP.”
aanb.org/en/intern-architects -
Submit a completed application for Intern Membership and pay the required fees.
Source
“Submit a completed application for Intern Membership and pay the required fees.”
aanb.org/en/intern-architects -
Select a Mentor, who can be a licensed Architect or Retired Member of the AANB and must be independent of the Intern's place of employment, before recording architectural experience.
Source
“In keeping with the IAP, the AANB requires that all Intern members select their Mentor prior to recording architectural experience in the Canadian Experience Record Book (CERB). The Mentor can be a licensed Architect or Retired Member of the AANB and must be independent of the Interns place of employment.”
aanb.org/en/intern-architects -
Record all experience in the online Canadian Experience Record Book, have it approved by the Supervising Architect and Mentor, and complete a minimum of 3,720 hours in specific categories in an acceptable employment situation.
Source
“All experience must be recorded in the online Canadian Experience Record Book (CERB) and approved by the Supervising Architect and Mentor. - A minimum of 3,720 hours in specific categories must be completed in an acceptable employment situation.”
aanb.org/en/intern-architects -
Complete the three modules of the AANB Admissions Course, which is a mandatory requirement for interns on the pathway to licensure.
Source
“Completion of the 3 modules of the AANB Admissions Course is a mandatory requirement for interns in their pathway to licensure as an Architect.”
aanb.org/en/intern-architects -
Successfully complete all four sections of the Examination for Architects in Canada.
Source
“Interns must successfully complete all four (4) sections of the Examination for Architects in Canada in order to become licensed with the AANB.”
aanb.org/en/intern-architects -
Submit a completed application for licensing with the AANB after completing the education, experience, ExAC and admissions course requirements.
Source
“In order to be eligible for licensing with the AANB, an individual must: - Complete the education requirement - Complete the experience requirements as noted in the IAP - Successfully complete all four (4) sections of the ExAC - Successfully complete all sections of the AANB admissions course - Submit a completed application for licensing with the AANB.”
aanb.org/en/intern-architects
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Architects' Association of New Brunswick
8 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $2,777.25 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 4 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.
- Registered Membership: $1,328.25
Source
“Registered Membership | $830.00 | $124.50 | $954.50 | + Administration fee | $325.00 | $48.75 | $373.75 | Total | $1,328.25”
aanb.org/en/membership-fees-dues - Reciprocal Membership – outside of New Brunswick: $1,328.25 (for members outside of New Brunswick)
Source
“Reciprocal Membership – outside of New Brunswick | $830.00 | $124.50 | $954.50 | + Administration fee | $325.00 | $48.75 | $373.75 | Total | $1,328.25”
aanb.org/en/membership-fees-dues - Intern Membership: $120.75
Source
“Intern Membership | $105.00 | $15.75 | $120.75 | Total | $120.75”
aanb.org/en/membership-fees-dues - Certificate of Practice Per Architect: $1,190.25 (per Architect who is a Partner, Officer or Director responsible for the practice of architecture and authorized to apply the seal on behalf of the Firm)
Source
“Certificate of Practice Per Architect who:<ul><li>is a Partner, Officer or Director responsible for the practice of architecture</li><li>authorized to apply the seal on behalf of the Firm</li></ul> | $710.00 | $106.50 | $816.50 | + Administration fee | $325.00 | $48.75 | $373.75 | Total | $1,190.25”
aanb.org/en/membership-fees-dues - Registered Membership: $954.50
- Registered Membership: + Administration fee: $373.75
- Reciprocal Membership – outside of New Brunswick: $954.50 (for members outside of New Brunswick)
Source
“Reciprocal Membership – outside of New Brunswick | $830.00 | $124.50 | $954.50”
aanb.org/en/membership-fees-dues - Certificate of Practice Per Architect who: is a Partner, Officer or Director responsible for the practice of architecture; authorized to apply the seal on behalf of the Firm: $816.50 (per Architect who is a Partner, Officer or Director responsible for the practice of architecture or authorized to apply the seal on behalf of the Firm)
Source
“Certificate of Practice Per Architect who:<ul><li>is a Partner, Officer or Director responsible for the practice of architecture</li><li>authorized to apply the seal on behalf of the Firm</li></ul> | $710.00 | $106.50 | $816.50”
aanb.org/en/membership-fees-dues
Licensed in another province
0 of 2 done
- 2 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $2,777.25
-
Be licensed or registered by a reciprocal Canadian provincial or territorial architectural regulatory association.
Source
“Be licensed/registered by a reciprocal Canadian provincial or territorial architectural regulatory association and submit a completed application for licensing with the AANB.”
aanb.org/en/intern-architects -
Submit a completed application for licensing with the AANB.
Source
“Be licensed/registered by a reciprocal Canadian provincial or territorial architectural regulatory association and submit a completed application for licensing with the AANB.”
aanb.org/en/intern-architects
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Architects' Association of New Brunswick
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $2,777.25 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 4 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.
- Registered Membership: $1,328.25
Source
“Registered Membership | $830.00 | $124.50 | $954.50 | + Administration fee | $325.00 | $48.75 | $373.75 | Total | $1,328.25”
aanb.org/en/membership-fees-dues - Reciprocal Membership – outside of New Brunswick: $1,328.25 (for members outside of New Brunswick)
Source
“Reciprocal Membership – outside of New Brunswick | $830.00 | $124.50 | $954.50 | + Administration fee | $325.00 | $48.75 | $373.75 | Total | $1,328.25”
aanb.org/en/membership-fees-dues - Intern Membership: $120.75
Source
“Intern Membership | $105.00 | $15.75 | $120.75 | Total | $120.75”
aanb.org/en/membership-fees-dues - Certificate of Practice Per Architect: $1,190.25 (per Architect who is a Partner, Officer or Director responsible for the practice of architecture and authorized to apply the seal on behalf of the Firm)
Source
“Certificate of Practice Per Architect who:<ul><li>is a Partner, Officer or Director responsible for the practice of architecture</li><li>authorized to apply the seal on behalf of the Firm</li></ul> | $710.00 | $106.50 | $816.50 | + Administration fee | $325.00 | $48.75 | $373.75 | Total | $1,190.25”
aanb.org/en/membership-fees-dues - Registered Membership: $954.50
- Registered Membership: + Administration fee: $373.75
- Reciprocal Membership – outside of New Brunswick: $954.50 (for members outside of New Brunswick)
Source
“Reciprocal Membership – outside of New Brunswick | $830.00 | $124.50 | $954.50”
aanb.org/en/membership-fees-dues - Certificate of Practice Per Architect who: is a Partner, Officer or Director responsible for the practice of architecture; authorized to apply the seal on behalf of the Firm: $816.50 (per Architect who is a Partner, Officer or Director responsible for the practice of architecture or authorized to apply the seal on behalf of the Firm)
Source
“Certificate of Practice Per Architect who:<ul><li>is a Partner, Officer or Director responsible for the practice of architecture</li><li>authorized to apply the seal on behalf of the Firm</li></ul> | $710.00 | $106.50 | $816.50”
aanb.org/en/membership-fees-dues
Trained outside Canada
0 of 2 done
- 2 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $2,777.25
-
Architects licensed in a jurisdiction without a reciprocal agreement with the AANB, with the required minimum post-licensure experience, may follow the Broadly Experienced Foreign Architect pathway.
Source
“YES | YES <br>Licensed in a jurisdiction with which the AANB does not have a reciprocal licensing agreement | YES <br>Minimum post licensure experience in Architecture required. Those with less experience may apply to the IAP where the international experience may count towards the IAP requirements. | Broadly Experienced Foreign Architect (BEFA)”
aanb.org/en/pathways-to-licensure -
Those with less post-licensure experience may apply to the IAP, where their international experience may count towards the IAP requirements.
Source
“Minimum post licensure experience in Architecture required. Those with less experience may apply to the IAP where the international experience may count towards the IAP requirements.”
aanb.org/en/pathways-to-licensure
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Architects' Association of New Brunswick
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $2,777.25 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 4 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.
- Registered Membership: $1,328.25
Source
“Registered Membership | $830.00 | $124.50 | $954.50 | + Administration fee | $325.00 | $48.75 | $373.75 | Total | $1,328.25”
aanb.org/en/membership-fees-dues - Reciprocal Membership – outside of New Brunswick: $1,328.25 (for members outside of New Brunswick)
Source
“Reciprocal Membership – outside of New Brunswick | $830.00 | $124.50 | $954.50 | + Administration fee | $325.00 | $48.75 | $373.75 | Total | $1,328.25”
aanb.org/en/membership-fees-dues - Intern Membership: $120.75
Source
“Intern Membership | $105.00 | $15.75 | $120.75 | Total | $120.75”
aanb.org/en/membership-fees-dues - Certificate of Practice Per Architect: $1,190.25 (per Architect who is a Partner, Officer or Director responsible for the practice of architecture and authorized to apply the seal on behalf of the Firm)
Source
“Certificate of Practice Per Architect who:<ul><li>is a Partner, Officer or Director responsible for the practice of architecture</li><li>authorized to apply the seal on behalf of the Firm</li></ul> | $710.00 | $106.50 | $816.50 | + Administration fee | $325.00 | $48.75 | $373.75 | Total | $1,190.25”
aanb.org/en/membership-fees-dues - Registered Membership: $954.50
- Registered Membership: + Administration fee: $373.75
- Reciprocal Membership – outside of New Brunswick: $954.50 (for members outside of New Brunswick)
Source
“Reciprocal Membership – outside of New Brunswick | $830.00 | $124.50 | $954.50”
aanb.org/en/membership-fees-dues - Certificate of Practice Per Architect who: is a Partner, Officer or Director responsible for the practice of architecture; authorized to apply the seal on behalf of the Firm: $816.50 (per Architect who is a Partner, Officer or Director responsible for the practice of architecture or authorized to apply the seal on behalf of the Firm)
Source
“Certificate of Practice Per Architect who:<ul><li>is a Partner, Officer or Director responsible for the practice of architecture</li><li>authorized to apply the seal on behalf of the Firm</li></ul> | $710.00 | $106.50 | $816.50”
aanb.org/en/membership-fees-dues
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Temporary Licence to resolve a contravention of the AANB Act: $3,450 (to resolve a contravention of the AANB Act)
Source
“Temporary Licence to resolve a contravention of the AANB Act | $3,000.00 | $450.00 | $3,450.00 | Total | $3,450.00”
aanb.org/en/membership-fees-dues - Temporary Licence Fee + Certificate of Practice Fee: $6,210
Source
“Temporary Licence Fee + Certificate of Practice Fee Fees shall be for a project year commencing with the earlier of the date when the design work was first commenced on the project by the applicant or the date of issuance of the licence and Certificate of Practice. The applicant shall agree to remain licenced for the duration of the project and for a period of one (1) year following substantial completion of the specified project. | $5,400.00 | $810.00 | $6,210.00”
aanb.org/en/membership-fees-dues
Requirements
Education
The applicant must be a graduate of an accredited School of Architecture or a programme of study recognized by Council.
Source
“1. The applicant shall be a graduate of an accredited School of Architecture or programme of study recognized by Council. Documentation Required: Copies of all diplomas.”
aanb.org/en/policy-statementsThe applicant must have obtained certification of their academic qualifications from the Canadian Architectural Certification Board.
Source
“2. The applicant shall have obtained certification of their academic qualifications from the Canadian Architectural Certification Board.”
aanb.org/en/policy-statements
Experience
The applicant must have fulfilled the requirements of approved architectural experience as set by Council.
Source
“3. The applicant shall have fulfilled the requirements of approved architectural experience as set from time to time by Council.”
aanb.org/en/policy-statementsInterns must complete a minimum of 3,720 hours of experience in specific categories in an acceptable employment situation.
Source
“A minimum of 3,720 hours in specific categories must be completed in an acceptable employment situation.”
aanb.org/en/intern-architects
Insurance
The Act provides for the establishment of minimum requirements of professional liability insurance to be maintained by persons entitled to practice architecture.
Source
“(n) the establishment of minimum requirements of professional liability insurance to be maintained by persons entitled to practice architecture hereunder;”
aanb.org/en/act-by-laws
Good character
The applicant must provide evidence of good character by means of completed references.
Source
“5. The applicant shall provide evidence of good character by means of completed references.”
aanb.org/en/policy-statements
Other
The applicant must have successfully completed the preregistration examinations specified by Council.
Source
“4. The applicant shall have successfully completed preregistration examinations as specified by Council. See Policy Statement 8906.”
aanb.org/en/policy-statements
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
An architect licensed or registered by a reciprocal Canadian provincial or territorial architectural regulatory association can submit a completed application for licensing with the AANB, with no additional exam or assessment stated. Source
“Be licensed/registered by a reciprocal Canadian provincial or territorial architectural regulatory association and submit a completed application for licensing with the AANB.”
aanb.org/en/intern-architects
Submit licensing application
Source
“Be licensed/registered by a reciprocal Canadian provincial or territorial architectural regulatory association and submit a completed application for licensing with the AANB.”
aanb.org/en/intern-architects
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Architects' Association of New Brunswick
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Architects' Association of New Brunswick
Exams
-
Examination for Architects in Canada (ExAC)
Source
“Interns must successfully complete all four (4) sections of the Examination for Architects in Canada in order to become licensed with the AANB.”
aanb.org/en/intern-architects
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Architects' Association of New Brunswick
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Architects' Association of New Brunswick
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Architects' Association of New Brunswick
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| New Brunswick | $26.65 | $39.22 | $54.45 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $26.44 | $38.94 | $74.52 | — |
Architects in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Licence required
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Licence required
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Act & By-Laws | Architects' Association of New Brunswick aanb.org/en/act-by-laws · fetched October 10, 2026
- Intern Architects | Architects' Association of New Brunswick aanb.org/en/intern-architects · fetched October 10, 2026
- Pathways to Licensure | Architects' Association of New Brunswick aanb.org/en/pathways-to-licensure · fetched October 10, 2026
- Policy Statements | Architects' Association of New Brunswick aanb.org/en/policy-statements · fetched October 10, 2026
- Membership Fees & Dues | Architects' Association of New Brunswick aanb.org/en/membership-fees-dues · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as an architect in New Brunswick?
Yes. Registration with the Architects' Association of New Brunswick is required to practise in New Brunswick, and to use the title Architect, registered architect or licensed architect.
Which exams are required?
Examination for Architects in Canada (ExAC).
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.