At a glance

Licence status
Licence required See the source
Routes
Annual fees
  • Membership fees: $70 (paid by individual cosmetologists to be licensed)
    Source
    “Individual cosmetologists are licensed through the Cosmetologist Association of NB. This means that they have completed their training and have paid their membership fees of $70.”
    canb.ca/en/association/licensing-regulations-faqs

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • Listed one-time fees: $150
  • 3 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total
  • 4 steps without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $70 (paid by individual cosmetologists to be licensed)
  1. Submit an application to the Registrar before your training start date.

    Source
    “Any person desiring to become a cosmetologist (student) must make an application to the Registrar prior to the commencement date.”
    canb.ca/en/licensing/students
  2. Wait until the Registrar approves you, since training hours only count after pre-approval.

    Source
    “Hours of training will not be accumulated until the student has been pre-approved. ... Upon approval from the Registrar the student may commence training.”
    canb.ca/en/licensing/students
  3. Register as a student with the Association and have the school submit your fees within 30 days of enrollment.

    • Student Registration - Hairstyling and Technical Cutting Stylist: $355 (for student registration in hairstyling and technical cutting stylist)
      Source
      “Student Registration - Hairstyling and Technical Cutting Stylist Application Fees - 355.00 CAD”
      canb.ca/en/applications-fees/make-a-payment
    • Student Registration - Aesthetic, Make-Up, Nail Technician, Lash & Brow Technician and Eyelash Technician: $280 (for student registration in aesthetic, make-up, nail technician, lash and brow technician and eyelash technician)
      Source
      “Student Registration - Aesthetic, Make-Up, Nail Technician, Lash & Brow Technician and Eyelash Technician Application Fees - 280.00 CAD”
      canb.ca/en/applications-fees/make-a-payment
    • Student Registration - Aesthetic eyelash: $440 (for student registration in aesthetic eyelash)
      Source
      “Student Registration - Aesthetic eyelash Application Fees - 440.00 CAD”
      canb.ca/en/applications-fees/make-a-payment
    Source
    “All students must be registered with the Association. ... All schools must register each student and payment of fees must be submitted 30 days after enrollment.”
    canb.ca/en/licensing/students
  4. Complete your training under the direct supervision of a licensed instructor in a licensed school, including the prescribed number of clients.

    Source
    “All training must take place under the direct supervision of a licensed instructor in a licensed school. ... Students must complete the prescribed number of clients required.”
    canb.ca/en/licensing/students
  5. Before the exam, show the Committee satisfactory evidence that you completed the prescribed hours of theory and practical instruction under a licensed instructor in a registered school.

    Source
    “Before submitting to an examination held pursuant to this Act, a student shall provide evidence satisfactory to the Committee that the student has been trained as a student in cosmetology, in a registered school, for the number of hours prescribed in the by-laws for theory and practical instruction under the supervision of a licensed cosmetology instructor.”
    canb.ca/en/licensing/students
  6. Complete the provincial theory and practical exams as part of your training.

    Source
    “Training includes extensive theory, practical, clinical, and client quotas, and completing a provincial theory and practical exams.”
    canb.ca/en/association/licensing-regulations-faqs
  7. Pay your membership fees to become a licensed cosmetologist.

    Source
    “Individual cosmetologists are licensed through the Cosmetologist Association of NB. This means that they have completed their training and have paid their membership fees of $70.”
    canb.ca/en/association/licensing-regulations-faqs

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $150

One-time fees listed for Trained in Canada, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Exams $110 73%
Registration $40 27%
One-time total $150 100%

3 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.

4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.

  • Membership fees: $70 (paid by individual cosmetologists to be licensed)
    Source
    “Individual cosmetologists are licensed through the Cosmetologist Association of NB. This means that they have completed their training and have paid their membership fees of $70.”
    canb.ca/en/association/licensing-regulations-faqs

Licensed in another province

  • 4 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total
  • 1 step without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $70 (paid by individual cosmetologists to be licensed)
  1. Fill out the out-of-province application form if you were trained outside New Brunswick and want to practise there.

    Source
    “Our regulations require an out-of-province application form to be completed if a cosmetologist trained out of province wishes to practice in NB.”
    canb.ca/en/association/licensing-regulations-faqs
  2. Provide documents such as proof of training, curriculums, licence if applicable, and work experience.

    Source
    “The application requires documentation such as proof of training, curriculums, license (if applicable) work experience, etc.”
    canb.ca/en/association/licensing-regulations-faqs
  3. Depending on the documentation you submit, you may or may not have to pass the provincial theory and practical exam.

    Source
    “Depending on the documentation received the candidate may or may not be required to pass the provincial theory and practical exam, which is a requirement to become licensed and able to work as a cosmetologist in NB.”
    canb.ca/en/association/licensing-regulations-faqs

Listed fees for this route

4 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.

1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.

  • Membership fees: $70 (paid by individual cosmetologists to be licensed)
    Source
    “Individual cosmetologists are licensed through the Cosmetologist Association of NB. This means that they have completed their training and have paid their membership fees of $70.”
    canb.ca/en/association/licensing-regulations-faqs

Trained outside Canada

  • Annual fees: $70 (paid by individual cosmetologists to be licensed)

No separate route for this group.

Source
“We work with cosmetologists entering New Brunswick to ensure compliance with our provincial certification and public health standards”
canb.ca/en/association/licensing-regulations-faqs

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

Requirements

Education

  • A student must have completed grade 12 with a diploma.

    Source
    “A student shall have completed grade 12 with a diploma and be 18 years of age at the completion of their training.”
    canb.ca/en/licensing/students
  • All training must take place under the direct supervision of a licensed instructor in a licensed school, and online training is not accepted.

    Source
    “All training must take place under the direct supervision of a licensed instructor in a licensed school. ... The CANB does not accept ONLINE training”
    canb.ca/en/licensing/students
  • Students must complete the prescribed number of clients required.

    Source
    “Students must complete the prescribed number of clients required.”
    canb.ca/en/licensing/students
  • Before an exam, a student must show satisfactory evidence of the prescribed hours of theory and practical instruction in a registered school under a licensed cosmetology instructor.

    Source
    “Before submitting to an examination held pursuant to this Act, a student shall provide evidence satisfactory to the Committee that the student has been trained as a student in cosmetology, in a registered school, for the number of hours prescribed in the by-laws for theory and practical instruction under the supervision of a licensed cosmetology instructor.”
    canb.ca/en/licensing/students
  • Hairstylists require no less than 1600 hours of training, with other categories requiring between 300 and 1300 hours.

    Source
    “Hairstylists require no less than 1600 hours; assistant hair stylist 300; depilatory technician 300 hours; aesthetics 1300 hours; Lash & Brow technician 375 hours; make-up 300 hours; nail technician 450 hours, technical cutting stylist 1000 hours, creative specific hairstylist 350 hours.”
    canb.ca/en/association/licensing-regulations-faqs

Other

  • A student must be 18 years of age at the completion of their training.

    Source
    “A student shall have completed grade 12 with a diploma and be 18 years of age at the completion of their training.”
    canb.ca/en/licensing/students
  • Mature students must be 21 years of age and have no less than grade 10 education with proof.

    Source
    “Mature students must be 21 years of age and have no less than grade 10 education with proof.”
    canb.ca/en/licensing/students

Already licensed in another province?

Extra steps

An out-of-province cosmetologist must complete an out-of-province application with documentation and may or may not be required to pass the provincial theory and practical exam.

Source
“Our regulations require an out-of-province application form to be completed if a cosmetologist trained out of province wishes to practice in NB. ... Depending on the documentation received the candidate may or may not be required to pass the provincial theory and practical exam, which is a requirement to become licensed and able to work as a cosmetologist in NB.”
canb.ca/en/association/licensing-regulations-faqs

  1. Complete out-of-province application

    Source
    “Our regulations require an out-of-province application form to be completed if a cosmetologist trained out of province wishes to practice in NB.”
    canb.ca/en/association/licensing-regulations-faqs
  2. Submit documentation

    Source
    “The application requires documentation such as proof of training, curriculums, license (if applicable) work experience, etc.”
    canb.ca/en/association/licensing-regulations-faqs
  3. Possibly pass provincial exams

    Source
    “Depending on the documentation received the candidate may or may not be required to pass the provincial theory and practical exam, which is a requirement to become licensed and able to work as a cosmetologist in NB.”
    canb.ca/en/association/licensing-regulations-faqs

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Cosmetology Association of New Brunswick

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with Cosmetology Association of New Brunswick

Exams

  • Provincial theory and practical exam

    Source
    “Depending on the documentation received the candidate may or may not be required to pass the provincial theory and practical exam, which is a requirement to become licensed and able to work as a cosmetologist in NB.”
    canb.ca/en/association/licensing-regulations-faqs

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Cosmetology Association of New Brunswick

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Cosmetology Association of New Brunswick

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with Cosmetology Association of New Brunswick

Demand and pay

No Job Bank wage or outlook data for this occupation yet.

Cosmetologists in other provinces and territories

  • British Columbia Not confirmed yet
  • Alberta Not confirmed yet
  • Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
  • Manitoba Not confirmed yet
  • Ontario Not confirmed yet
  • Quebec Not confirmed yet
  • Nova Scotia Licence required
  • Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
  • Yukon Not confirmed yet
  • Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
  • Nunavut Not confirmed yet

Compare cosmetologist licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Certified Occupations www2.gnb.ca/content/gnb/en/departments/post-secondary_education_tra... · fetched October 10, 2026
  2. Students - CANB canb.ca/en/licensing/students · fetched October 10, 2026
  3. Make a Payment - CANB canb.ca/en/applications-fees/make-a-payment · fetched October 10, 2026
  4. Frequently Asked Questions - CANB canb.ca/en/association/licensing-regulations-faqs · fetched October 10, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a cosmetologist in New Brunswick?

Yes. Registration with the Cosmetology Association of New Brunswick is required to practise in New Brunswick.

Which exams are required?

Provincial theory and practical exam.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.