How to Become a Dietitian in New Brunswick
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the New Brunswick Association of Dietitians to work as a dietitian in New Brunswick or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Dietitian, Registered Dietitian
Show the source
“NOTE: Registration with the NBAD is required before a dietitian can engage in the practice of dietetics or use to the titles “Dietitian” or “Registered Dietitian” in New Brunswick.”
From adnb-nbad.com/register-nbad, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 4 steps, listed one-time fees $100 (2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total)
- Licensed in another province: 1 step
- Trained outside Canada: 8 steps, listed one-time fees $4,120
- Annual fees
-
- Active and Temporary Registration Annual Fee: $505 (April 1, 2026 – March 31, 2027)
Source
“Active and Temporary Registration Annual Fee: April 1, 2026 – March 31, 2027 – $505”
adnb-nbad.com/register-nbad/canadian-trained-applicants
- Active and Temporary Registration Annual Fee: $505 (April 1, 2026 – March 31, 2027)
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 4 done
- Listed one-time fees: $100
- 2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total
- 3 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $505 (April 1, 2026 – March 31, 2027)
-
The applicant completes the online application form.
Source
“1. Complete the online application form. ”
adnb-nbad.com/register-nbad/canadian-trained-applicants -
The applicant ensures the requested documents, including transcripts, internship completion letter, criminal record check and government-issued ID, are sent to the NBAD.
Source
“Ensure the following requested documents are sent to the NBAD: ”
adnb-nbad.com/register-nbad/canadian-trained-applicants -
The applicant completes the Canadian Dietetic Registration Exam online application form.
Source
“Complete the Canadian Dietetic Registration Exam (CDRE) online application form”
adnb-nbad.com/register-nbad/canadian-trained-applicants -
The applicant pays all applicable application fees through the online platform after receiving login credentials by email.
- Administration Fee: $100
- Active and Temporary Registration Annual Fee: $505 (April 1, 2026 – March 31, 2027)
Source
“Active and Temporary Registration Annual Fee: April 1, 2026 – March 31, 2027 – $505”
adnb-nbad.com/register-nbad/canadian-trained-applicants - Half-Year Registration Fee: $252.50 (for membership from October 1, 2026 to March 31, 2027)
Source
“Half-Year Registration Fee for membership from October 1, 2026 to March 31, 2027 (Active and Temporary Registration) – $252.50”
adnb-nbad.com/register-nbad/canadian-trained-applicants
Source
“Pay all applicable application fees: Once your online application is submitted and the NBAD has received all required documents, you will receive an email with access to our online platform.”
adnb-nbad.com/register-nbad/canadian-trained-applicants
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $100
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $100 | 100% |
| One-time total | $100 | 100% |
2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Active and Temporary Registration Annual Fee: $505 (April 1, 2026 – March 31, 2027)
Source
“Active and Temporary Registration Annual Fee: April 1, 2026 – March 31, 2027 – $505”
adnb-nbad.com/register-nbad/canadian-trained-applicants
Licensed in another province
0 of 1 done
- 1 step without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $505 (April 1, 2026 – March 31, 2027)
-
Applicants fully licensed with another Canadian dietetic regulatory body apply for registration with the NBAD.
Source
“Applicants that are fully licensed with another Canadian dietetic regulatory body and are seeking registration as a Registered Dietitian in New Brunswick. Apply for registration”
adnb-nbad.com/register-nbad
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with New Brunswick Association of Dietitians
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Active and Temporary Registration Annual Fee: $505 (April 1, 2026 – March 31, 2027)
Source
“Active and Temporary Registration Annual Fee: April 1, 2026 – March 31, 2027 – $505”
adnb-nbad.com/register-nbad/canadian-trained-applicants
Trained outside Canada
0 of 8 done
- Listed one-time fees: $4,120
- 3 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $505 (April 1, 2026 – March 31, 2027)
- Listed time: 1 month (only 1 of 8 steps state a time)
-
The applicant completes the Canadian Dietetic Orientation and Assessment Tool to assess their knowledge and skills against Canadian standards.
Source
“Step 1 Complete the Canadian Dietetic Orientation and Assessment Tool. It will give you a general overview of dietetic practice in Canada and will help you assess your knowledge and skills against the standards required to practice dietetics in Canada.”
adnb-nbad.com/internationally-educated-applicant -
The applicant completes and submits their PLAR application package to the NBAD, meeting eligibility requirements for education, practical training and language proficiency.
- PLAR assessment fee: $400
Source
“Once your PLAR application package is received (including payment of assessment fee of $400), the Registrar will determine if you meet the eligibility requirements to proceed with the PLAR process.”
adnb-nbad.com/internationally-educated-applicant
Source
“Step 2 Complete and submit your PLAR application package to NBAD.”
adnb-nbad.com/internationally-educated-applicant - PLAR assessment fee: $400
-
The Registrar determines whether the applicant is eligible for the PLAR process and the applicant receives a written response within 30 days.
Time: 30 daysTime source
“You will receive a written response within 30 days.”
adnb-nbad.com/internationally-educated-applicantSource
“the Registrar will determine if you meet the eligibility requirements to proceed with the PLAR process. You will receive a written response within 30 days.”
adnb-nbad.com/internationally-educated-applicant -
If deemed eligible, the applicant completes the Knowledge and Competency Assessment Tool, a computer-based exam taken in Toronto, Ontario in February.
- KCAT exam fee: $400
Source
“The KCAT exam is taken in Toronto, Ontario in February and there is an exam fee of $400.”
adnb-nbad.com/internationally-educated-applicant
Source
“you will complete the first PLAR assessment: a computer-based exam called the Knowledge and Competency Assessment Tool (KCAT). The KCAT exam is taken in Toronto, Ontario in February and there is an exam fee of $400.”
adnb-nbad.com/internationally-educated-applicant - KCAT exam fee: $400
-
If the KCAT allows, the applicant completes the Performance-Based Assessment, a written and oral assessment taken in Toronto, Ontario in June.
- PBA exam fee: $2,300
Source
“The PBA exam is taken in Toronto, Ontario in June and there is an exam fee of $2,300.”
adnb-nbad.com/internationally-educated-applicant
Source
“you can proceed to the second PLAR assessment: a written and oral assessment called the Performance-Based Assessment (PBA). The PBA exam is taken in Toronto, Ontario in June and there is an exam fee of $2,300.”
adnb-nbad.com/internationally-educated-applicant - PBA exam fee: $2,300
-
After successfully completing the PBA, the applicant applies for Temporary Membership with the NBAD, which allows practice as a Registered Dietitian (Candidate) while waiting to write the CDRE.
- Temporary Membership registration fee: $395
Source
“you will be eligible to submit your application for a Temporary Membership with NBAD ($395 for registration fees and $100 for administration fees).”
adnb-nbad.com/internationally-educated-applicant - Administration fee: $100
Source
“you will be eligible to submit your application for a Temporary Membership with NBAD ($395 for registration fees and $100 for administration fees).”
adnb-nbad.com/internationally-educated-applicant
Source
“After successfully completing the PBA, you will be eligible to submit your application for a Temporary Membership with NBAD ($395 for registration fees and $100 for administration fees).”
adnb-nbad.com/internationally-educated-applicant - Temporary Membership registration fee: $395
-
The applicant writes the Canadian Dietetic Registration Examination, which is offered twice a year in May and November.
- CDRE exam fee: $525
Source
“The CDRE is written two times per year (May and November) and there are exam fees of $525.”
adnb-nbad.com/internationally-educated-applicant
Source
“The CDRE is written two times per year (May and November) and there are exam fees of $525.”
adnb-nbad.com/internationally-educated-applicant - CDRE exam fee: $525
-
After successfully completing the CDRE, the applicant obtains an Active Membership with the NBAD as a Registered Dietitian.
Source
“Step 7 After successfully completing the CDRE, you will obtain an Active Membership with NBAD as a Registered Dietitian.”
adnb-nbad.com/internationally-educated-applicant
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $4,120
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $4,120 | 100% |
| One-time total | $4,120 | 100% |
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Active and Temporary Registration Annual Fee: $505 (April 1, 2026 – March 31, 2027)
Source
“Active and Temporary Registration Annual Fee: April 1, 2026 – March 31, 2027 – $505”
adnb-nbad.com/register-nbad/canadian-trained-applicants
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Application assessment fee: $600
Source
“Submit your application assessment fee of $600 CAD. Review how to pay your fees.”
adnb-nbad.com/register-nbad/iea - Internship/Practicum competency report assessment fee: $400
Source
“The fee to complete this assessment is $400. Review how to pay your fees.”
adnb-nbad.com/register-nbad/iea
Requirements
Education
Canadian trained applicants must be graduates of a Canadian university and internship programs accredited by EQual.
Source
“Canadian trained applicants who are graduates of a Canadian university and internship programs accredited by EQualmay apply for registration with the NBAD using the application process outlined.”
adnb-nbad.com/register-nbad/canadian-trained-applicantsTo be eligible for the paper-based credential assessment, the applicant must have completed a bachelor's degree reasonably related to dietetics with courses in the three core areas of dietetic practice, or a science degree followed by a dietetics-related program.
Source
“Completion of a bachelor’s degree reasonably related to dietetics, with evidence of completed courses in the three core areas of dietetic practice (nutrition care, population & public health and food service management).”
adnb-nbad.com/register-nbad/ieaTo be eligible for the PLAR process, the applicant must have completed a degree reasonably related to dietetics, nutrition or food.
Source
“- Have completed a degree reasonably related to dietetics, nutrition or food;”
adnb-nbad.com/internationally-educated-applicantDietitians must have completed at minimum four years of recognized university level education in human nutrition and dietetics.
Source
“have, at minimum, completed four years of recognized university level education in human nutrition and dietetics;”
adnb-nbad.com/aboutdietitians
Experience
To be eligible for the paper-based credential assessment, the applicant must have completed supervised dietetic practical training.
To be eligible for the PLAR process, the applicant must have completed practical training in dietetics or show that their degree alone qualified them to practice in the country where they studied.
Source
“- Have completed practical training in dietetics or demonstrate that your degree alone (without practical training) qualified you to practice in the country where the education institution is location;”
adnb-nbad.com/internationally-educated-applicantDietitians must have completed a one-year dietetic practicum of at least 1250 hours in clinical nutrition care, population and public health nutrition and nutrition management.
Source
“have completed a one-year (minimum 1250 hrs) dietetic practicum in clinical nutrition care, population and public health nutrition and nutrition management;”
adnb-nbad.com/aboutdietitians
Police check
Canadian trained applicants must provide a criminal record check that is current within one year.
Source
“Criminal record check (current within one year): Either through the RCMP or city Police Station (mail original copy to NBAD office), CSI Background Screening through the econsent option, or through My Back Check.”
adnb-nbad.com/register-nbad/canadian-trained-applicants
Other
To be eligible for the paper-based credential assessment, the applicant must demonstrate English or French language proficiency.
To be eligible for the PLAR process, the applicant must meet the minimum language proficiency requirement in English or French.
Source
“- Meet the minimum language proficiency requirement in English or French.”
adnb-nbad.com/internationally-educated-applicantApplicants for Temporary Membership must meet eligibility requirements including language proficiency, authorization to work in Canada and a criminal record check.
Source
“You must also meet the eligibility requirements for Temporary Membership including language proficiency, authorization to work in Canada, criminal record check, etc.”
adnb-nbad.com/register-nbad/ieaApplicants must provide proof of Canadian citizenship, permanent residency or authorization to work under the Canadian Immigration Act.
Source
“Applicant must provide proof of Canadian Citizen or Permanent residency or authorization to work under the Canadian Immigration Act.”
adnb-nbad.com/register-nbad/iea/iea-application
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages state that applicants fully licensed with another Canadian dietetic regulatory body may apply for registration in New Brunswick, but do not state whether they can register based on their current licence without an exam or assessment. Source
“Applicants that are fully licensed with another Canadian dietetic regulatory body and are seeking registration as a Registered Dietitian in New Brunswick.”
adnb-nbad.com/register-nbad
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Association of Dietitians
Credential assessment
Prior Learning Assessment and Recognition (PLAR)
assesses what the internationally educated applicant currently knows and can do against national entry-to-practice standards for Canadian graduates
Source
“The Prior Learning Assessment and Recognition (PLAR) is a process administered through the College of Dietitians of Ontario. It directly assesses what you currently know and can do.”
adnb-nbad.com/register-nbad/ieaPaper-based credential assessment
NBAD reviews the applicant's transcripts, course descriptions and practical training information against national standards for dietetics education and training programs in Canada
Source
“If an internationally trained applicant chooses the paper-based credential assessment, NBAD will review your transcripts, course descriptions and information about the formal structure and learning objectives of practical training against the national standards for dietetics education and training programs in Canada.”
adnb-nbad.com/register-nbad/iea
Exams
-
Canadian Dietetic Registration Examination (CDRE)
Source
“A Temporary Membership allows the member to practice dietetics in New Brunswick as a Registered Dietitian (Candidate) while waiting to write the Canadian Dietetic Registration Examination (CDRE).”
adnb-nbad.com/register-nbad -
Knowledge and Competency Assessment Tool (KCAT)
Source
“the first step in the process is the KCAT – a computer-based multiple-choice exam designed to assess your knowledge as compared to the foundational knowledge and academic performance indicators in the national competencies.”
adnb-nbad.com/register-nbad/iea -
Performance-Based Assessment (PBA)
Source
“The PBA is a practical assessment that includes oral and written components to assess competency compared to standards for dietetic practice in Canada.”
adnb-nbad.com/register-nbad/iea
Language tests
| Test | Overall | Listening | Reading | Writing | Speaking | CLB | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TOEFL iBT | 79 | — | — | — | — | — | Source“TOEFL iBT report with overall Score of 79 Report (report sent directly to NBAD from the institution). Language proficiency report must be current within two years.”adnb-nbad.com/register-nbad/iea/iea-application |
| IELTS (Academic) | 6.5 | — | — | — | — | — | Source“IELTS (Academic) overall band score of 6.5 (report sent directly to NBAD from the institution). Language proficiency report must be current within two years.”adnb-nbad.com/register-nbad/iea/iea-application |
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Association of Dietitians
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Association of Dietitians
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| New Brunswick | $20.00 | $40.00 | $46.00 | Good (4 of 5) |
| Canada | $22.53 | $41.63 | $50.00 | — |
Dietitians in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Licence required
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Dietitians Association of New Brunswick adnb-nbad.com/register-nbad · fetched October 10, 2026
- Dietitians Association of New Brunswick adnb-nbad.com/register-nbad/canadian-trained-applicants · fetched October 10, 2026
- Dietitians Association of New Brunswick adnb-nbad.com/register-nbad/iea · fetched October 10, 2026
- Dietitians Association of New Brunswick adnb-nbad.com/internationally-educated-applicant · fetched October 10, 2026
- Dietitians Association of New Brunswick adnb-nbad.com/register-nbad/iea/iea-application · fetched October 10, 2026
- Dietitians Association of New Brunswick adnb-nbad.com/aboutdietitians · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a dietitian in New Brunswick?
Yes. Registration with the New Brunswick Association of Dietitians is required to practise in New Brunswick, and to use the title Dietitian or Registered Dietitian.
Which exams are required?
Canadian Dietetic Registration Examination (CDRE), Knowledge and Competency Assessment Tool (KCAT), Performance-Based Assessment (PBA).
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.