How to Become a Heavy Equipment Operator (grader) in New Brunswick
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Heavy equipment operator (grader) is a voluntary trade in New Brunswick. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“New Brunswick has 12 compulsory trades under the Apprenticeship and Occupational Certification Act (AOC Act). In these trades, workers must hold the appropriate trade certification or be registered as an apprentice to perform the work.”
From gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr..., checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 3 steps, listed one-time fees $250
- Licensed in another province: 2 steps
- Trained outside Canada: 5 steps, listed one-time fees $350
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 3 done
- Listed one-time fees: $250
- 2 steps without a listed fee
-
You work the required number of hours in the skilled trade.
Source
“Trade Qualification — work the required number of hours in a particular skilled trade, supply proof of those hours, scope coverage and challenge the Certification Exam.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice... -
You supply proof of those hours and scope coverage.
Source
“Trade Qualification — work the required number of hours in a particular skilled trade, supply proof of those hours, scope coverage and challenge the Certification Exam.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice... -
You challenge the Certification Exam.
- Certificate of qualification examination: $250
Source
“Certificate of qualification examination | $250”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms...
Source
“Trade Qualification — work the required number of hours in a particular skilled trade, supply proof of those hours, scope coverage and challenge the Certification Exam.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice... - Certificate of qualification examination: $250
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $250
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Exams | $250 | 100% |
| One-time total | $250 | 100% |
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 2 done
- 2 steps without a listed fee
-
You provide proof of a certificate of qualification from a jurisdiction outside New Brunswick.
Source
“Equivalency Standards — supply proof of a certificate of qualification from a jurisdiction outside New Brunswick and application to challenge the certification examination or to recognize the certification based on equivalent standards.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice... -
You apply either to challenge the certification examination or to have your certification recognized based on equivalent standards.
Source
“Equivalency Standards — supply proof of a certificate of qualification from a jurisdiction outside New Brunswick and application to challenge the certification examination or to recognize the certification based on equivalent standards.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 5 done
- Listed one-time fees: $350
- 3 steps without a listed fee
-
You start by getting a job in your trade and gaining local experience.
Source
“Start by getting a job in your trade and gaining local experience then, contact Skilled Trades NB to see if you can challenge the certification exam or if the apprenticeship program is the better path for your success.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... -
You contact Skilled Trades NB to find out whether you can challenge the certification exam or whether the apprenticeship program is the better path.
Source
“Start by getting a job in your trade and gaining local experience then, contact Skilled Trades NB to see if you can challenge the certification exam or if the apprenticeship program is the better path for your success.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... -
Your international education and work experience are reviewed to identify credit toward NB certification.
- Foreign credential assessment fee: $100
Source
“Foreign credential assessment fee | $100”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms...
Source
“Assessment of your experience: Your international education and work experience are reviewed to identify credit toward NB certification.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... - Foreign credential assessment fee: $100
-
A plan is developed and completed with Skilled Trades NB and your employer to address differences in language, terminology, safety, and trade practices and standards.
Source
“Personalized learning plan: Develop and complete a plan is created with Skilled Trades NB and your employer to address differences in language, terminology and safety and trade practices and standards.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... -
You attend training or challenge the exam when ready.
- Certificate of qualification examination: $250
Source
“Certificate of qualification examination | $250”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms...
Source
“Training and certification exam: Attend training or challenge the exam when ready.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... - Certificate of qualification examination: $250
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $350
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Assessment | $100 | 29% |
| Exams | $250 | 71% |
| One-time total | $350 | 100% |
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Certificate of qualification challenger assessment: $100
Source
“Certificate of qualification challenger assessment | $100”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Certificate of qualification re-examination: $120
Source
“Certificate of qualification re-examination | $120”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Assessment for prior learning: $100
Source
“Assessment for prior learning | $100”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Apprentice registration: $25
Source
“Apprentice registration | $25”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Practical examination: $350
Source
“Practical examination | $350”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Letter of authenticity: $200
Source
“Letter of authenticity | $200”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Replacement certificate: $20
Source
“Replacement certificate | $20”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Photo identification card replacement: $20
Source
“Photo identification card replacement | $20”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Progress record book replacement: $25
Source
“Progress record book replacement | $25”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms...
Requirements
Experience
A person who has gained the equivalent of 3,600 hours of practical experience in the heavy equipment operator (grader) occupation may apply to challenge the certification examination.
Source
“A person who has gained the equivalent of 3,600 hours of practical experience in the heavy equipment operator (grader) occupation may apply to challenge the certification examination.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated...
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
New Brunswick recognizes valid Red Seal endorsements, Certificates of Qualification, and other trade certificates issued by Canadian provinces and territories, so certified tradespeople can move to New Brunswick and work in their trade without first obtaining a New Brunswick Certificate of Qualification. Source
“New Brunswick recognizes valid Red Seal endorsements, Certificates of Qualification (C of Q), and other trade certificates issued by Canadian provinces and territories. This means certified tradespeople can move to New Brunswick and work in their trade without first obtaining a New Brunswick Certificate of Qualification (C of Q).”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Exams
-
Certification Exam
Source
“Trade Qualification — work the required number of hours in a particular skilled trade, supply proof of those hours, scope coverage and challenge the Certification Exam.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice... -
certification examination
Source
“A person who has gained the equivalent of 3,600 hours of practical experience in the heavy equipment operator (grader) occupation may apply to challenge the certification examination.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Demand and pay
No Job Bank wage or outlook data for this occupation yet.
Heavy equipment operators (grader) in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Not confirmed yet
- Alberta Not confirmed yet
- Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba Not confirmed yet
- Ontario Not confirmed yet
- Quebec Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Compare heavy equipment operator (grader) licensing across Canada
Sources checked
- Internationally and nationally trained or certified trades people - gnb.ca gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... · fetched October 11, 2026
- The apprenticeship and occupational certification program - gnb.ca gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice... · fetched October 11, 2026
- Fees and forms - gnb.ca gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... · fetched October 11, 2026
- List of designated occupations - gnb.ca gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated... · fetched October 11, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a heavy equipment operator (grader) in New Brunswick?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in New Brunswick. Certification is managed by the New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour.
Which exams are required?
Certification Exam, certification examination.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.