How to Become a Massage Therapist in New Brunswick
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the College of Massage Therapy New Brunswick to work as a massage therapist in New Brunswick or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“After successfully completing the registration examination and meeting all other entry-to-practice requirements, individuals may register with CMTNB and become registered massage therapists (RMTs) in New Brunswick.”
From cmtnb.ca/exams, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 4 steps
- Licensed in another province: 1 step
- Trained outside Canada: 1 step
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Massage Therapy New Brunswick
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 4 done
- 4 steps without a listed fee
-
Applicants fill out the exam registration form with their personal, school and graduation information and answer the disclosure questions.
Source
“Candidates who have received their massage therapy education in New Brunswick can apply to take the registration examinations.”
cmtnb.ca/exams/exam-registration -
Once the application is approved, the applicant receives payment information with the exam confirmation letter and pays by email money transfer, credit card or money order.
Source
“All applicants who's application is approved will receive payment information with the exam confirmation letter Forms of payment: Email money transfer, credit card (visa/Master card) and money order”
cmtnb.ca/exams/exam-registration -
The applicant takes the certification exams, which are held in Moncton, NB on the published OSCE and MCQ dates.
-
After meeting the entry-to-practice requirements, the applicant selects APPLY NOW and completes the registration application through the member portal.
Source
“Select APPLY NOW below and we'll redirect you to our member portal to complete your application process.”
cmtnb.ca/registration/applications
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with College of Massage Therapy New Brunswick
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 1 done
- 1 step without a listed fee
-
Applicants educated outside New Brunswick contact the College by email to verify their eligibility to take the registration examinations.
Source
“If you received your massage therapy education outside of New Brunswick please contact [email protected] to verify your eligibility.”
cmtnb.ca/exams/exam-registration
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with College of Massage Therapy New Brunswick
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 1 done
- 1 step without a listed fee
-
Applicants educated outside New Brunswick contact the College by email to verify their eligibility to take the registration examinations.
Source
“If you received your massage therapy education outside of New Brunswick please contact [email protected] to verify your eligibility.”
cmtnb.ca/exams/exam-registration
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with College of Massage Therapy New Brunswick
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- OSCE exam fee: $850 (for the OSCE certification exam)
Source
“OSCE Exam Dates: April 13, 14, 15, 2026 $850CADAugust 6, 7, 8, 9, 2026 $850 CADOctober 24, 25, 2026 $850 CAD”
cmtnb.ca/exams/exam-registration - MCQ exam fee: $550 (for the MCQ certification exam)
Source
“MCQ Exam Dates: April 13, 14, 15, 2026 $550CADAugust 6, 7, 8, 9, 2026 $550 CADOctober 24, 25, 2026 $550 CAD”
cmtnb.ca/exams/exam-registration - Initial registration fee: $720 (for applications received between February 1st and July 31st of each year)
Source
“Fees are $720 for applications received between February 1st and July 31st of each year.”
cmtnb.ca/registration/applications - Initial registration fee: $470 (for applications received between August 1st and December 31st of each year)
Source
“Fees are $470 for applications received between August 1st and December 31st of each year.”
cmtnb.ca/registration/applications
Requirements
Education
Applicants must have received massage therapy education, and those educated in New Brunswick can apply directly while others must verify eligibility with the College.
Source
“Candidates who have received their massage therapy education in New Brunswick can apply to take the registration examinations. If you received your massage therapy education outside of New Brunswick please contact [email protected] to verify your eligibility.”
cmtnb.ca/exams/exam-registration
Other
Applicants must provide evidence that they are a Canadian citizen or are lawfully admitted to and entitled to work in Canada.
Source
“Evidence that you are a Canadian citizen or are lawfully admitted to and entitled to work in Canada.”
cmtnb.ca/exams/exam-registration
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages do not state how someone already licensed in another Canadian province or territory registers in New Brunswick. Source
“Have you attempted certification exams in another regulated province?”
cmtnb.ca/exams/exam-registration
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Massage Therapy New Brunswick
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Massage Therapy New Brunswick
Exams
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Massage Therapy New Brunswick
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Massage Therapy New Brunswick
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Massage Therapy New Brunswick
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Massage Therapy New Brunswick
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| New Brunswick | $33,481 | $33,481 | $56,000 | Good (4 of 5) |
| Canada | $32,867 | $32,867 | $62,400 | — |
Massage therapists in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Not confirmed yet
- Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba Not confirmed yet
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Exams - CMTNB cmtnb.ca/exams · fetched October 10, 2026
- Exam Registration - CMTNB cmtnb.ca/exams/exam-registration · fetched October 10, 2026
- Applications - CMTNB cmtnb.ca/registration/applications · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
1
Do you need a licence to work as a massage therapist in New Brunswick?
Yes. Registration with the College of Massage Therapy New Brunswick is required to practise in New Brunswick.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.