How to Become a Dental Assistant in Nova Scotia
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the Nova Scotia Regulator of Dentistry and Dental Assisting to work as a dental assistant in Nova Scotia or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“All dentists and dental assistants practising in Nova Scotia must be registered and licensed with the NSRDDA.”
From nsrdda.ca, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 7 steps, listed one-time fees $131
- Licensed in another province: 9 steps, listed one-time fees $65 (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Trained outside Canada: 8 steps, listed one-time fees $131
- Annual fees
-
- Annual license fee: $324 (reduced to $162 if licensing after October 31)
Source
“$324 annual license fee (May 1 – April) (Note that the licence fee is reduced to $162 if licensing after October 31.)”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/registered-dental-assistants/first-application... - Annual license fee (reduced): $162 (if licensing after October 31)
Source
“the licence fee is reduced to $162 if licensing after October 31”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/registered-dental-assistants/first-application...
- Annual license fee: $324 (reduced to $162 if licensing after October 31)
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 7 done
- Listed one-time fees: $131
- 5 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $324 (reduced to $162 if licensing after October 31), $162 (if licensing after October 31)
-
You create a profile in the regulator's system by signing up through the login window.
Source
“Your first step will be to create a profile within our system. To do this, you will need to follow the link below which will bring you to our “Login” window. There you will have to click on “Sign up” to start the process of creating your profile.”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/registered-dental-assistants/first-application... -
You log in, click Apply, and upload all required supporting documents in the online application.
Source
“Once your profile is created, you can log in and you will see an area to apply for a licence. You will see an “Apply” button which you can click to begin your application. You will need to upload your supporting documents within the online application.”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/registered-dental-assistants/first-application... -
After submitting, you pay a non-refundable application fee through the online portal.
- Application fee: $65
Source
“non-refundable application fee of $65”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/registered-dental-assistants/first-application...
Source
“When you submit your application, you will be sent an email asking you to pay a non-refundable application fee of $65, through our online portal, after which time your application will be reviewed.”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/registered-dental-assistants/first-application... - Application fee: $65
-
The Registrar reviews the application and supporting documentation.
Source
“The application and supporting documentation are reviewed by Registrar.”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/registered-dental-assistants/first-application... -
The office contacts you to schedule a meeting with the Registrar to discuss your application.
Source
“Our office will contact the applicant to schedule an appointment to meet with the Registrar to discuss their application.”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/registered-dental-assistants/first-application... -
Once approved, you pay the initial registration fee and the annual licence fee through the online portal.
- Initial registration fee: $66
Source
“$66 initial registration fee”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/registered-dental-assistants/first-application...
Source
“Once your application has been approved, you will be required to pay the following non-refundable fees through our online portal: - $66 initial registration fee - $324 annual license fee (May 1 – April)”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/registered-dental-assistants/first-application... - Initial registration fee: $66
-
If you are a new graduate without an NDAEB certificate, you receive a Conditional Licence and have one year from licensure to pass the NDAEB exam and submit your certificate.
Source
“If you do not yet have an NDAEB certificate and you are a new graduate, you will be issued a Conditional Licence. You will have one year from your date of licensure to successfully complete the NDAEB exam and submit a copy of your certificate to the PDBNS.”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/registered-dental-assistants/first-application...
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $131
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $65 | 50% |
| Registration | $66 | 50% |
| One-time total | $131 | 100% |
5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Annual license fee: $324 (reduced to $162 if licensing after October 31)
Source
“$324 annual license fee (May 1 – April) (Note that the licence fee is reduced to $162 if licensing after October 31.)”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/registered-dental-assistants/first-application... - Annual license fee (reduced): $162 (if licensing after October 31)
Source
“the licence fee is reduced to $162 if licensing after October 31”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/registered-dental-assistants/first-application...
Licensed in another province
0 of 9 done
- Listed one-time fees: $65
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 7 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $324 (reduced to $162 if licensing after October 31), $162 (if licensing after October 31)
-
You create a profile in the regulator's system by signing up through the login window.
Source
“Your first step will be to create a profile within our system. To do this, you will need to follow the link below which will bring you to our “Login” window. There you will have to click on “Sign up” to start the process of creating your profile.”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/registered-dental-assistants/already-or-previo... -
You must ask every jurisdiction where you are currently licensed to send a Certificate of Standing directly to the regulator's office.
Source
“You must request that a Certificate of standing be sent directly to our office from every jurisdiction where you are currently licensed.”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/registered-dental-assistants/already-or-previo... -
You log in, click Apply, and upload all required supporting documents in the online application.
Source
“Once your profile is created, you can log in and you will see an area to apply for a licence. You will see an “Apply” button which you can click to begin your application. You will need to upload your supporting documents within the online application.”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/registered-dental-assistants/already-or-previo... -
After submitting, you pay a non-refundable application fee through the online portal, unless you are currently licensed as a dental assistant elsewhere in Canada.
- Application fee: $65
Source
“non-refundable application fee of $65”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/registered-dental-assistants/already-or-previo...
Source
“When you submit your application, you will be sent an email asking you to pay a non-refundable application fee of $65, through our online portal, after which time your application will be reviewed. (This fee will be waived if you are currently licensed as a dental assistant elsewhere in Canada in compliance with the Nova Scotia Patient Access to Care Act.”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/registered-dental-assistants/already-or-previo... - Application fee: $65
-
If you do not already have an NDAEB certificate, you must pass the Written Exam before registering for the CPE.
Source
“Individuals who do not already have an NDAEB certificate will be required to pass the Written Exam prior to registration for the CPE.”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/registered-dental-assistants/already-or-previo... -
If you have not met the currency of practice requirement, you must pass the Clinical Practice Evaluation administered by the NDAEB.
Source
“An applicant who has not met the currency of practice requirement will be required to pass the Clinical Practice Evaluation (CPE) administered by the National Dental Assisting Examining Board (NDAEB).”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/registered-dental-assistants/already-or-previo... -
The Registrar reviews the application and supporting documentation.
Source
“The application and supporting documentation are reviewed by Registrar.”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/registered-dental-assistants/already-or-previo... -
The office contacts you to schedule a meeting with the Registrar to discuss your application.
Source
“Our office will contact the applicant to schedule an appointment to meet with the Registrar to discuss their application.”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/registered-dental-assistants/already-or-previo... -
Once approved, you pay the annual licence fee and the initial registration fee, both waived if you are currently licensed as a dental assistant elsewhere in Canada.
- Initial registration fee: $66 (waived if you are currently licensed as a dental assistant elsewhere in Canada)
Source
“$66 initial registration fee (This fee will be waived if you are currently licensed as a dental assistant elsewhere in Canada”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/registered-dental-assistants/already-or-previo...
Source
“Once your application has been approved, you will be required to pay the following fee(s): - $324 annual license fee (May 1 – April 30) Note that the license fee is reduced to $162 if licensing after October 31. - $66 initial registration fee (This fee will be waived if you are currently licensed as a dental assistant elsewhere in Canada in compliance with the Nova Scotia Patient Access to Care Act.”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/registered-dental-assistants/already-or-previo... - Initial registration fee: $66 (waived if you are currently licensed as a dental assistant elsewhere in Canada)
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $65
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $65 | 100% |
| One-time total | $65 | 100% |
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
7 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Annual license fee: $324 (reduced to $162 if licensing after October 31)
Source
“$324 annual license fee (May 1 – April) (Note that the licence fee is reduced to $162 if licensing after October 31.)”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/registered-dental-assistants/first-application... - Annual license fee (reduced): $162 (if licensing after October 31)
Source
“the licence fee is reduced to $162 if licensing after October 31”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/registered-dental-assistants/first-application...
Trained outside Canada
0 of 8 done
- Listed one-time fees: $131
- 6 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $324 (reduced to $162 if licensing after October 31), $162 (if licensing after October 31)
-
You must successfully complete the Written Examination administered by the NDAEB.
Source
“An individual who has graduated from non-accredited dentistry or dental hygiene programs, who wishes to become licensed as a dental assistant in Nova Scotia, must successfully complete the Written Examination and the Clinical Practice Evaluation (CPE) administered by the National Dental Assisting Examining Board (NDAEB).”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/internationally-educated-dental-professionals/... -
You must successfully complete the Clinical Practice Evaluation administered by the NDAEB.
Source
“An individual who has graduated from non-accredited dentistry or dental hygiene programs, who wishes to become licensed as a dental assistant in Nova Scotia, must successfully complete the Written Examination and the Clinical Practice Evaluation (CPE) administered by the National Dental Assisting Examining Board (NDAEB).”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/internationally-educated-dental-professionals/... -
You create a profile in the regulator's system by signing up through the login window.
Source
“Your first step will be to create a profile within our system. To do this, you will need to follow the link below which will bring you to our “Login” window. There you will have to click on “Sign up” to start the process of creating your profile.”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/internationally-educated-dental-professionals/... -
You log in, click Apply, and upload all required supporting documents in the online application.
Source
“Once your profile is created, you can log in and you will see an area to apply for a licence. You will see an “Apply” button which you can click to begin your application. You will need to upload your supporting documents within the online application.”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/internationally-educated-dental-professionals/... -
After submitting, you pay a non-refundable application fee through the online portal.
- Application fee: $65
Source
“non-refundable application fee of $65”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/internationally-educated-dental-professionals/...
Source
“When you submit your application, you will be sent an email asking you to pay a non-refundable application fee of $65, through our online portal, after which time your application will be reviewed.”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/internationally-educated-dental-professionals/... - Application fee: $65
-
The Registrar reviews the application and supporting documentation.
Source
“The application and supporting documentation are reviewed by Registrar.”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/internationally-educated-dental-professionals/... -
The office contacts you to schedule a meeting with the Registrar to discuss your application.
Source
“Our office will contact the applicant to schedule an appointment to meet with the Registrar to discuss their application.”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/internationally-educated-dental-professionals/... -
Once approved, you pay the initial registration fee and the annual licence fee through the online portal.
- Initial registration fee: $66
Source
“$66 initial registration fee”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/internationally-educated-dental-professionals/...
Source
“Once your application has been approved, you will be required to pay the following non-refundable fees through our online portal: - $66 initial registration fee - $324 annual license fee (May 1 – April)”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/internationally-educated-dental-professionals/... - Initial registration fee: $66
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $131
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $65 | 50% |
| Registration | $66 | 50% |
| One-time total | $131 | 100% |
6 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Annual license fee: $324 (reduced to $162 if licensing after October 31)
Source
“$324 annual license fee (May 1 – April) (Note that the licence fee is reduced to $162 if licensing after October 31.)”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/registered-dental-assistants/first-application... - Annual license fee (reduced): $162 (if licensing after October 31)
Source
“the licence fee is reduced to $162 if licensing after October 31”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/registered-dental-assistants/first-application...
Requirements
Education
Applicants on the first-application route must graduate from a dental assisting program accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of Canada (CDAC) or the American Dental Association Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA).
Source
“A certified photocopy of your graduation certificate from a dental assisting program accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of Canada (CDAC), or the American Dental Association Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA)”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/registered-dental-assistants/first-application...Internationally educated applicants must provide a certified photocopy of their graduation certificate from a recognized dentistry or dental hygiene program.
Source
“A certified photocopy of your graduation certificate from a recognized dentistry or dental hygiene program”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/internationally-educated-dental-professionals/...
Experience
Applicants from Ontario or Quebec who previously worked only in those provinces must provide verification that they have been engaged in clinical dental assisting within the past 5 years.
Source
“You will need to provide verification that you have been engaged in clinical dental assisting within the past 5 years. (For example, this might be letter from an employer.)”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/registered-dental-assistantsApplicants not currently licensed must provide a letter from their last employer verifying currency of practice, defined as having practised intraoral dental assisting skills within the preceding 5 years.
Source
“provide a letter from your last employer verifying currency of practice (defined as having practised intraoral dental assisting skills within the preceding 5 years).”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/registered-dental-assistants/already-or-previo...
Police check
Applicants must provide a Vulnerable Sector Search and a Criminal Record Check performed within the previous 12 months.
Source
“A Vulnerable Sector Search and a Criminal Record Check (Performed within the previous 12 months)”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/registered-dental-assistants/first-application...
Insurance
Applicants must provide verification of professional liability insurance as set out in the Standard of Practice for Dental Assisting.
Source
“Verification of professional liability insurance (PLI) as set out in the Standard of Practice for Dental Assisting”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/registered-dental-assistants/first-application...
Good character
Applicants must provide two written character references from non-family members who have known them for the past four years.
Source
“Two written character references from non-family members who have known you for the past four years”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/registered-dental-assistants/first-application...
Residency
Applicants must provide a certified photocopy of their Canadian birth certificate, citizenship card, or proof of permanent residency, or details of their citizenship status and authorization to practise in Canada.
Source
“An applicant must provide a certified photocopy of their Canadian birth certificate, Canadian citizenship card, or proof of permanent Canadian residency status.”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/registered-dental-assistants/first-application...
Other
Applicants must provide verification of certification in Basic Life Support obtained within the past 12 months from an in-person hands-on course.
Source
“Verification of your certification in BLS obtained within the past 12 months (must be an in-person hands-on course from a recognized provider)”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/registered-dental-assistants/first-application...
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
Applicants already licensed in another Canadian province or territory apply through the online application and, if they hold an NDAEB certificate and meet currency of practice, are licensed without retaking an entry-to-practice exam; those without an NDAEB certificate receive a Conditional Licence with one year to pass the NDAEB exam, and those not meeting currency of practice must pass the CPE. Source
“If you do not yet have an NDAEB certificate, you will be issued a Conditional Licence and you will have one year from your date of licensure to successfully complete the NDAEB exam”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/registered-dental-assistants/already-or-previo...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Nova Scotia Regulator of Dentistry and Dental Assisting
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Nova Scotia Regulator of Dentistry and Dental Assisting
Exams
-
National Dental Assistants Examining Board (NDAEB) exam
Source
“You will have one year from your date of licensure to successfully complete the NDAEB exam and submit a copy of your certificate to the PDBNS.”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/registered-dental-assistants/first-application... -
Written Exam
Source
“Individuals who do not already have an NDAEB certificate will be required to pass the Written Exam prior to registration for the CPE.”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/registered-dental-assistants/already-or-previo... -
Clinical Practice Evaluation (CPE)
Source
“An applicant who has not met the currency of practice requirement will be required to pass the Clinical Practice Evaluation (CPE) administered by the National Dental Assisting Examining Board (NDAEB).”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/registered-dental-assistants/already-or-previo... -
Written Examination
Source
“must successfully complete the Written Examination and the Clinical Practice Evaluation (CPE) administered by the National Dental Assisting Examining Board (NDAEB)”
nsrdda.ca/applicants/internationally-educated-dental-professionals/...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Nova Scotia Regulator of Dentistry and Dental Assisting
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Nova Scotia Regulator of Dentistry and Dental Assisting
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Nova Scotia Regulator of Dentistry and Dental Assisting
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nova Scotia | $20.00 | $25.00 | $32.00 | Good (4 of 5) |
| Canada | $21.00 | $27.00 | $35.00 | — |
Dental assistants in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Licence required
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Nova Scotia Regulator of Dentistry and Dental Assisting | Protecting the Public Interest in Dental Care nsrdda.ca · fetched October 10, 2026
- First Application for a Dental Assisting License in Canada | Nova Scotia Regulator of Dentistry and Dental Assisting nsrdda.ca/applicants/registered-dental-assistants/first-application... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Already or Previously Licensed in Another Province – Dental Assisting | Nova Scotia Regulator of Dentistry and Dental Assisting nsrdda.ca/applicants/registered-dental-assistants/already-or-previo... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Graduates of Non-Accredited Dentistry and Dental Hygiene Programs Wishing to be Licensed as Dental Assistants | Nova Scotia Regulator of Dentistry and Dental Assisting nsrdda.ca/applicants/internationally-educated-dental-professionals/... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Dental Assisting | Nova Scotia Regulator of Dentistry and Dental Assisting nsrdda.ca/applicants/registered-dental-assistants · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a dental assistant in Nova Scotia?
Yes. Registration with Nova Scotia Regulator of Dentistry and Dental Assisting is required to practise in Nova Scotia.
Which exams are required?
National Dental Assistants Examining Board (NDAEB) exam, Written Exam, Clinical Practice Evaluation (CPE), Written Examination.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.