How to Become an Optometrist in Nova Scotia
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the Nova Scotia College of Optometrists to work as an optometrist in Nova Scotia or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- optometrist
Show the source
“(c) use verbally or otherwise the title of optometrist or any abbreviation of such title, or any name, title, description or designation that may lead any person to believe that such a person is an optometrist licensed to practise or entitled to practise as an optometrist”
From nsco.ca/site/regulations/optometryact, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 5 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Licensed in another province: 3 steps
- Trained outside Canada: 4 steps
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Nova Scotia College of Optometrists
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 5 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Listed time: 3.1 months (only 2 of 5 steps state a time)
-
Fill out and submit the NSCO application online, uploading required documents as they are received.
Source
“Students can begin the application process in their final semester of school. They may begin to fill out the application and upload the required documents as received.”
nsco.ca/site/licensing/registration -
Take the OEBC examination, after which a processing period applies before final registration.
Time: 3 monthsTime source
“*Candidates should expect a three month processing period after sitting the OEBC before obtaining final registration in Nova Scotia.”
nsco.ca/site/licensing/LicensureSource
“*Candidates should expect a three month processing period after sitting the OEBC before obtaining final registration in Nova Scotia.”
nsco.ca/site/licensing/Licensure -
Successfully complete the jurisprudence exam, which is administered online on an individual basis once the application is complete.
- Jurisprudence exam fee: $200 (refundable if the applicant has not written the jurisprudence exam)
Source
“*If an applicant has not written the jurisprudence exam then the exam amount, $200.00, is refundable.*”
nsco.in1touch.org/site/licensing/FAQ
Time: 2 to 4 daysTime source
“*The applicant is notified typically within 2-4 business days*”
nsco.in1touch.org/site/licensing/FAQSource
“Upon successful completion of the jurisprudence exam, a licensing application and invoice will be issued to the applicant.”
nsco.ca/site/licensing/Licensure - Jurisprudence exam fee: $200 (refundable if the applicant has not written the jurisprudence exam)
-
Complete the licensing application issued after the jurisprudence exam and pay all fees so the licence can be issued.
Source
“When the licensing application is completed and all fees are paid, a license to practice optometry in the province of Nova Scotia will be issued to the applicant.”
nsco.ca/site/licensing/Licensure -
After Board approval, complete an annual membership report form.
Source
“Upon approval by the Board of the NSCO the applicant must complete an annual membership report form.”
nsco.ca/site/licensing/registration
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 3 done
- 3 steps without a listed fee
-
Satisfy the College that you possess the qualifications required in the regulations for registration in the register.
Source
“(a) satisfies the College that the person possesses the qualifications required in the regulations for registration in the register;”
nsco.ca/site/regulations/optometryact -
Provide a letter of good standing from the jurisdiction where you practised optometry before applying.
Source
“(b) produces a letter of good standing from the jurisdiction in which the person has practised optometry before applying pursuant to this Section;”
nsco.ca/site/regulations/optometryact -
Comply with the Act, regulations, by-laws and any conditions imposed, and pay any fees and file any documents required.
Source
“(c) complies with this Act, the regulations and the by-laws and any conditions imposed by the Registrar and the College; and (d) pays any fees and files any document required under this Act or any by-law or regulation enacted pursuant to this Act.”
nsco.ca/site/regulations/optometryact
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Nova Scotia College of Optometrists
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 4 done
- 4 steps without a listed fee
-
Have your credentials assessed by FORAC before seeking registration in any Canadian province or territory except Quebec.
Source
“If you are an internationally educated optometrist or eye care professional seeking registration to practice optometry in any Canadian Province or Territory (except) Quebec, you must first have your credentials assessed by FORAC.”
nsco.in1touch.org/site/aboutus/faq -
Complete the NSCO application and submit all required documents and fees.
-
Successfully complete all examinations set or approved by the NSCO, including the OEBC and the jurisprudence exam.
Source
“The applicant must successfully complete all examinations set or approved by the NSCO.”
nsco.ca/site/licensing/registration -
Be approved by the Board of the NSCO, then complete the licensing application and pay all fees to receive the licence.
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Nova Scotia College of Optometrists
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Requirements
Education
The applicant must have graduated from a school of optometry accredited by the Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE).
Source
“The applicant must have graduated from a school of optometry, accredited by the Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE).”
nsco.ca/site/licensing/registration
Police check
The applicant must not have been convicted of a criminal offense or an offense under the Narcotic Control Act (Canada) or the Food and Drug Act (Canada) or of any offense of similar laws in any other country.
Source
“The applicant must not have been convicted of a criminal offense or an offense under the Narcotic Control Act (Canada) or the Food and Drug Act (Canada) or of any offense of similar laws in any other country.”
nsco.ca/site/licensing/registration
Good character
If the applicant has previously practised optometry, they must be a member of good standing in all jurisdictions where they hold a certificate of registration.
Source
“If the applicant has previously practiced optometry, he or she must be a member of good standing in all jurisdictions where he or she holds a certificate of registration.”
nsco.ca/site/licensing/registration
Residency
The applicant must have Canadian citizenship, permanent residency or authorization under the Immigration Act (Canada) to engage in the practice of optometry.
Source
“The applicant must have Canadian citizenship, permanent residency or authorization under the Immigration Act (Canada) to engage in the practice of optometry.”
nsco.ca/site/licensing/registration
Other
The applicant must successfully complete all examinations set or approved by the NSCO.
Source
“The applicant must successfully complete all examinations set or approved by the NSCO.”
nsco.ca/site/licensing/registrationThe applicant must be approved by the Board of the NSCO.
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages state that an applicant who has practised optometry in another jurisdiction must produce a letter of good standing, but they do not say whether the entry-to-practice exam or a competence assessment can be skipped. Source
“(b) produces a letter of good standing from the jurisdiction in which the person has practised optometry before applying pursuant to this Section;”
nsco.ca/site/regulations/optometryact
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Nova Scotia College of Optometrists
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Nova Scotia College of Optometrists
Exams
-
OEBC
Source
“*Candidates should expect a three month processing period after sitting the OEBC before obtaining final registration in Nova Scotia.”
nsco.ca/site/licensing/Licensure -
jurisprudence exam
Source
“Upon successful completion of the jurisprudence exam, a licensing application and invoice will be issued to the applicant.”
nsco.ca/site/licensing/Licensure
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Nova Scotia College of Optometrists
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Nova Scotia College of Optometrists
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Nova Scotia College of Optometrists
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nova Scotia | — | $85,000 | — | Undetermined |
| Canada | $32,867 | $81,000 | $162,000 | — |
Optometrists in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Licence required
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Optometry Act - Nova Scotia College of Optometrists nsco.ca/site/regulations/optometryact · fetched October 10, 2026
- Registration - Guide Information - Nova Scotia College of Optometrists nsco.ca/site/licensing/registration · fetched October 10, 2026
- Licensure - Nova Scotia College of Optometrists nsco.ca/site/licensing/Licensure · fetched October 10, 2026
- FAQ - Nova Scotia College of Optometrists nsco.in1touch.org/site/licensing/FAQ · fetched October 10, 2026
- FAQ - Nova Scotia College of Optometrists nsco.in1touch.org/site/aboutus/faq · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as an optometrist in Nova Scotia?
Yes. Registration with the Nova Scotia College of Optometrists is required to practise in Nova Scotia, and to use the title optometrist.
Which exams are required?
OEBC, jurisprudence exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.