How to Become a Paramedic in Nova Scotia
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the Nova Scotia Regulator of Paramedicine to work as a paramedic in Nova Scotia or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Establish registration and licensing processes to ensure only qualified registrants are permitted to practice.”
From nsrop.ca/about/aboutnsrp, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 14 steps, listed one-time fees $175 (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Licensed in another province: 13 steps
- Trained outside Canada: 18 steps, listed one-time fees $250 (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Annual fees
-
- Annual License Renewal Fee: $575
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 14 done
- Listed one-time fees: $175
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 12 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $575
-
The applicant pays the application fee of $175.00 (CDN).
- Application fee: $175
-
The applicant completes the Initial Registration and Licensure Application with all required documentation.
Source
“A complete Initial Registration and Licensure Application, which includes all requisite documentation.”
nsrop.ca/licensing/new -
The applicant provides proof of legal name such as a government issued birth certificate, marriage license, or legal affidavit.
Source
“Proof of legal name, which may be in the form of a Government issued birth certificate, marriage license, or legal affidavit.”
nsrop.ca/licensing/new -
The applicant provides proof of identification such as a driver's license, passport, or other government issued photo identification.
Source
“Proof of identification, which may be in the form of a copy of their drivers license or passport, or other government issued photo identification.”
nsrop.ca/licensing/new -
The applicant provides evidence of Canadian citizenship or legal entitlement to live and work in Canada.
Source
“Evidence of Canadian Citizenship or Legal Entitlement to live and work in Canada, which may be in the form of a Canadian Birth Certificate or documentation from Citizenship and Immigration Canada”
nsrop.ca/licensing/new -
If applicable, the applicant provides verification of registration or licensure with a different regulated health care profession.
Source
“Verification of Registration/Licensure with a different Regulated Health Care Profession (if applicable)”
nsrop.ca/licensing/new -
The applicant provides a Criminal Record Search with Vulnerable Record Check or International Criminal Record Search with Vulnerable Record Check that is current within three months.
Source
“Criminal Record Search with Vulnerable Record Check or International Criminal Record Search with Vulnerable Record Check (must include all current and former names including middle names). Current within the three months prior to the applicant’s registration and/or licensure.”
nsrop.ca/licensing/new -
The applicant provides proof of Board approved professional liability insurance.
-
The applicant provides a resume detailing employment and education history including paramedic or other regulated health care profession employment.
Source
“Resume detailing employment and education history including paramedic, or other regulated health care profession employment of the applicant.”
nsrop.ca/licensing/new -
The applicant submits the electronic copy of the Initial Registration and Licensure Application Form generated automatically once the form is completed.
Source
“Electronic copy of the Initial Registration and Licensure Application Form, which is generated automatically once the form is completed.”
nsrop.ca/licensing/new -
The applicant provides any additional information required by the Registrar or committees when the file is being assessed for completion.
Source
“Any additional information required by the Registrar, Registration and Licensing Committee or Registration and Licensing Review Committee, when the applicants file is being assessed for completion.”
nsrop.ca/licensing/new -
The applicant provides a Record of Program Completion.
-
The applicant provides a record of passing the Provincial Entry to Practice Examination, such as a COPR Candidate Score Report.
Source
“Record of Passing the Provincial Entry to Practice Examination (E.g. COPR Candidate Score Report).”
nsrop.ca/licensing/new -
Upon a completed and successful application, the applicant pays the $575 Registration & Licensure fee.
- Registration & Licensure fee: $575 (upon a completed and successful application)
Source
“Upon a completed and successful application, the applicant will pay a $575 Registration & Licensure fee.”
nsrop.ca/licensing/new
Source
“Upon a completed and successful application, the applicant will pay a $575 Registration & Licensure fee.”
nsrop.ca/licensing/new - Registration & Licensure fee: $575 (upon a completed and successful application)
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $175
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $175 | 100% |
| One-time total | $175 | 100% |
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
12 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Annual License Renewal Fee: $575
Licensed in another province
0 of 13 done
- 13 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $575
-
The applicant completes the Initial Registration and Licensure Application with all required documentation.
Source
“A complete Initial Registration and Licensure Application, which includes all requisite documentation.”
nsrop.ca/licensing/cfta -
The applicant provides proof of legal name such as a government issued birth certificate, marriage license, or legal affidavit.
Source
“Proof of legal name, which may be in the form of a Government issued birth certificate, marriage license, or legal affidavit.”
nsrop.ca/licensing/cfta -
The applicant provides proof of identification such as a driver's license, passport, or other government issued photo identification.
Source
“Proof of identification, which may be in the form of a copy of their drivers license or passport, or other government issued photo identification.”
nsrop.ca/licensing/cfta -
The applicant provides evidence of Canadian citizenship or legal entitlement to live and work in Canada.
Source
“Evidence of Canadian Citizenship or Legal Entitlement to live and work in Canada, which may be in the form of a Canadian Birth Certificate or documentation from Citizenship and Immigration Canada”
nsrop.ca/licensing/cfta -
If applicable, the applicant provides verification of registration or licensure with a different regulated health care profession.
Source
“Verification of Registration/Licensure with a different Regulated Health Care Profession (if applicable)”
nsrop.ca/licensing/cfta -
The applicant provides a Criminal Record Search with Vulnerable Record Check or International Criminal Record Search with Vulnerable Record Check that is current within three months.
Source
“Criminal Record Search with Vulnerable Record Check or International Criminal Record Search with Vulnerable Record Check (must include all current and former names including middle names). Current within the three months prior to the applicant’s registration and/or licensure.”
nsrop.ca/licensing/cfta -
The applicant provides proof of Board approved professional liability insurance.
-
The applicant submits the electronic copy of the Initial Registration and Licensure Application Form generated automatically once the form is completed.
Source
“Electronic copy of the Initial Registration and Licensure Application Form, which is generated automatically once the form is completed.”
nsrop.ca/licensing/cfta -
The applicant provides any additional information required by the Registrar or committees when the file is being assessed for completion.
Source
“Any additional information required by the Registrar, Registration and Licensing Committee or Registration and Licensing Review Committee, when the applicants file is being assessed for completion.”
nsrop.ca/licensing/cfta -
The applicant provides verification of certification or registration as a paramedic in another Canadian province or territory for each jurisdiction where they are currently practising.
Source
“Verification of Certification/Registration as a paramedic in another Canadian province or territory – with which an applicant has ever been registered/licensed, for each jurisdiction where they are currently practising.”
nsrop.ca/licensing/cfta -
The applicant provides a resume detailing employment and education history including paramedic or other regulated health care profession employment.
Source
“Resume detailing employment and education history including paramedic, or other regulated health care profession employment of the applicant.”
nsrop.ca/licensing/cfta -
The applicant provides continuing competence development similar to the Regulator's Continuing Competence Program requirements for each year.
Source
“Continuing Competence Development – Note this must be similar to the Regulator’s Continuing Competence Program requirements for each year.”
nsrop.ca/licensing/cfta -
English as a second language applicants who were not required to prove English language proficiency in their previous jurisdiction must provide English language proficiency scores.
Source
“English Language Proficiency Scores (if applicable) – Note this is a requirement for any English as a Second Language (ESL) applicant who registered and licensed in another Canadian jurisdiction, where they were not required to provide proof of English Language proficiency for registration and licensure.”
nsrop.ca/licensing/cfta
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Nova Scotia Regulator of Paramedicine
13 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Annual License Renewal Fee: $575
Trained outside Canada
0 of 18 done
- Listed one-time fees: $250
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 16 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $575
-
The applicant pays the application fee of $250.00 (CDN).
- Application fee: $250
-
The applicant completes the Initial Registration and Licensure Application with all required documentation.
Source
“A complete Initial Registration and Licensure Application, which includes all requisite documentation.”
nsrop.ca/licensing/intl -
The applicant provides proof of legal name such as a government issued birth certificate, marriage license, or legal affidavit.
Source
“Proof of legal name, which may be in the form of a Government issued birth certificate, marriage license, or legal affidavit.”
nsrop.ca/licensing/intl -
The applicant provides proof of identification such as a driver's license, passport, or other government issued photo identification.
Source
“Proof of identification, which may be in the form of a copy of their drivers license or passport, or other government issued photo identification.”
nsrop.ca/licensing/intl -
The applicant provides evidence of Canadian citizenship or legal entitlement to live and work in Canada.
Source
“Evidence of Canadian Citizenship or Legal Entitlement to live and work in Canada, which may be in the form of a Canadian Birth Certificate or documentation from Citizenship and Immigration Canada.”
nsrop.ca/licensing/intl -
If applicable, the applicant provides verification of registration or licensure with a different regulated health care profession.
Source
“Verification of Registration/Licensure with a different Regulated Health Care Profession (if applicable).”
nsrop.ca/licensing/intl -
The applicant provides a Criminal Record Search with Vulnerable Record Check or International Criminal Record Search with Vulnerable Record Check that is current within three months.
Source
“Criminal Record Search with Vulnerable Record Check or International Criminal Record Search with Vulnerable Record Check (must include all current and former names including middle names). Current within the three months prior to the applicant’s registration and/or licensure.”
nsrop.ca/licensing/intl -
The applicant provides proof of Board approved professional liability insurance.
-
The applicant submits the electronic copy of the Initial Registration and Licensure Application Form generated automatically once the form is completed.
Source
“Electronic copy of the Initial Registration and Licensure Application Form, which is generated automatically once the form is completed.”
nsrop.ca/licensing/intl -
The applicant provides any additional information required by the Registrar or committees when the file is being assessed for completion.
Source
“Any additional information required by the Registrar, Registration and Licensing Committee or Registration and Licensing Review Committee, when the applicants file is being assessed for completion.”
nsrop.ca/licensing/intl -
If applicable, the applicant provides a Record of Program Completion.
-
The applicant provides a record of passing the Provincial Entry to Practice Examination, such as a COPR Candidate Score Report or COPR Certificate.
Source
“Record of Passing the Provincial Entry to Practice Examination (E.g. COPR Candidate Score Report or COPR Certificate).”
nsrop.ca/licensing/intl -
The applicant provides verification of certification or registration as a paramedic in their country of origin.
Source
“Verification of Certification/Registration as a paramedic in their country of origin.”
nsrop.ca/licensing/intl -
The applicant provides a resume detailing employment and education history including paramedic or other regulated health care profession employment.
Source
“Resume detailing employment and education history including paramedic, or other regulated health care profession employment of the applicant.”
nsrop.ca/licensing/intl -
The applicant and their employer complete a form provided by the Regulator detailing the competencies required to practice in Nova Scotia compared to the applicant's jurisdiction.
Source
“Employment statements – Note this is a form provided by the Regulator and that must be completed by both the applicant and their employer. This document details the competencies that are required to practice in Nova Scotia in comparison to the applicant’s jurisdiction.”
nsrop.ca/licensing/intl -
The applicant provides continuing competence development similar to the Regulator's Continuing Competence Program requirements for each year.
Source
“Continuing Competence Development – Note this must be similar to the Regulator’s Continuing Competence Program requirements for each year.”
nsrop.ca/licensing/intl -
English as a second language applicants from another country must provide English language proficiency scores.
Source
“English Language Proficiency Scores (if applicable) – Note this is a requirement for any English as a Second Language (ESL) applicant from another country.”
nsrop.ca/licensing/intl -
Upon a completed and successful application, the applicant pays the $575 Registration & Licensure fee.
- Registration & Licensure fee: $575 (upon a completed and successful application)
Source
“Upon a completed and successful application, the applicant will pay a $575 Registration & Licensure fee.”
nsrop.ca/licensing/intl
Source
“Upon a completed and successful application, the applicant will pay a $575 Registration & Licensure fee.”
nsrop.ca/licensing/intl - Registration & Licensure fee: $575 (upon a completed and successful application)
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $250
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $250 | 100% |
| One-time total | $250 | 100% |
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
16 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Annual License Renewal Fee: $575
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Verification of Certification/Registration for a Current and Former Registrant Fee: $60 (for a current and former registrant)
Source
“The Verification of Certification/Registration for a Current and Former Registrant Fee is $60.00 and is non-refundable”
nsrop.ca/licensing/fees - Change in Category fee: $60 (for current registrants upon a completed application)
Source
“Upon a completed application, the applicant will pay a $60 Change in Category fee.”
nsrop.ca/licensing/category
Requirements
Education
Applicants must provide a Record of Program Completion.
Police check
Applicants must provide a Criminal Record Search with Vulnerable Record Check or International Criminal Record Search with Vulnerable Record Check that is current within three months prior to registration and licensure.
Source
“Criminal Record Search with Vulnerable Record Check or International Criminal Record Search with Vulnerable Record Check (must include all current and former names including middle names). Current within the three months prior to the applicant’s registration and/or licensure.”
nsrop.ca/licensing/new
Insurance
Applicants must provide proof of Board approved professional liability insurance.
Other
Applicants must provide evidence of Canadian citizenship or legal entitlement to live and work in Canada.
Source
“Evidence of Canadian Citizenship or Legal Entitlement to live and work in Canada, which may be in the form of a Canadian Birth Certificate or documentation from Citizenship and Immigration Canada”
nsrop.ca/licensing/newApplicants must provide a record of passing the Provincial Entry to Practice Examination, such as a COPR Candidate Score Report.
Source
“Record of Passing the Provincial Entry to Practice Examination (E.g. COPR Candidate Score Report).”
nsrop.ca/licensing/newNew graduates who apply for an EMR/Paramedic Graduate license before writing COPR must apply for the first available COPR exam following program completion to be eligible.
Source
“New graduates must apply for the first available COPR exam following program completion to be eligible.”
nsrop.ca/licensing/new
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated by the regulator Check with Nova Scotia Regulator of Paramedicine
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Nova Scotia Regulator of Paramedicine
Exams
-
Provincial Entry to Practice Examination
Source
“Record of Passing the Provincial Entry to Practice Examination (E.g. COPR Candidate Score Report).”
nsrop.ca/licensing/new -
COPR
Source
“An EMR/Paramedic Graduate license can be applied for before COPR is written.”
nsrop.ca/licensing/new -
AEMCA
Source
“Applicants from Ontario that wrote the AEMCA (within 2 years of graduation) are also required to submit the Regulator’s Verification of Certification/Registration to the Ministry of Health.”
nsrop.ca/licensing/new
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Nova Scotia Regulator of Paramedicine
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Nova Scotia Regulator of Paramedicine
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Nova Scotia Regulator of Paramedicine
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nova Scotia | $22.00 | $31.00 | $44.00 | Good (4 of 5) |
| Canada | $25.56 | $38.00 | $49.00 | — |
Paramedics in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Licence required
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- About the Regulator of Paramedicine: Nova Scotia Regulator of ParamedicineBox Clever nsrop.ca/about/aboutnsrp · fetched October 10, 2026
- New to Practice: Nova Scotia Regulator of ParamedicineBox CleverBox Clever nsrop.ca/licensing/new · fetched October 10, 2026
- From another Canadian Jurisdiction: Nova Scotia Regulator of ParamedicineBox CleverBox Clever nsrop.ca/licensing/cfta · fetched October 10, 2026
- International: Nova Scotia Regulator of ParamedicineBox CleverBox Clever nsrop.ca/licensing/intl · fetched October 10, 2026
- Fees: Nova Scotia Regulator of ParamedicineBox CleverBox Clever nsrop.ca/licensing/fees · fetched October 10, 2026
- Change in Category of Licensure: Nova Scotia Regulator of ParamedicineBox CleverBox Clever nsrop.ca/licensing/category · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a paramedic in Nova Scotia?
Yes. Registration with Nova Scotia Regulator of Paramedicine is required to practise in Nova Scotia.
Which exams are required?
Provincial Entry to Practice Examination, COPR, AEMCA.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.