Province comparison
Boilermaker Licensing by Province
Licence status by province and territory
Boundaries simplified for display. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada. Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census boundary files.
- Certification required
- Voluntary certification
- Not confirmed yet
- British Columbia: Voluntary certification
- Alberta: Certification required
- Saskatchewan: Voluntary certification
- Manitoba: Voluntary certification
- Ontario: Voluntary certification
- Quebec: Certification required
- New Brunswick: Certification required
- Nova Scotia: Certification required
- Prince Edward Island: Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador: Voluntary certification
- Yukon: Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories: Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut: Not confirmed yet
Compare the provinces
Listed one-time fees
| Where | Fees | Route | No-fee steps |
|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | $120 | Trained outside Canada | 6 |
| Alberta | Not listed | Trained in Canada | 3 |
| Saskatchewan | Not listed | — | — |
| Manitoba | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 6 |
| Ontario | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 5 |
| Quebec | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 2 |
| New Brunswick | $100 | Trained outside Canada | 4 |
| Nova Scotia | Not listed | Trained in Canada | 5 |
| Prince Edward Island | Not listed | — | — |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 1 |
Listed time
Time not stated for every step: British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, and Newfoundland and Labrador.
Side by side
| Where | Routes | Exams | Language | Listed fees | Listed time | Median wage | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | certification exam, practical assessment, Red Seal exam | — | $120 (Trained outside Canada) | 1.8 to 2.3 months (partial) | $51.07 an hour | Undetermined |
| Alberta | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province | Entrance exam, Practical exam | — | Not listed | — | $51.81 an hour | Very limited (1 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | — | Interprovincial Journeyperson Examination, written exam, practical exam | — | Not listed | — | $48.05 an hour | Undetermined |
| Manitoba | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Red Seal exam, Level Placement Exam | — | Not listed | 1.8 months (partial) | $47.87 an hour | Undetermined |
| Ontario | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | certifying exam, in-school exemption test | — | Not listed | — | $48.21 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Quebec | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Provincial qualification examination | — | Not listed | 0.7 months (partial) | $47.00 an hour | Very limited (1 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Certification Exam, certification examination, final examination | — | $100 (Trained outside Canada) | — | $43.64 an hour | Undetermined |
| Nova Scotia | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province | Certification Exam | — | Not listed | — | $45.46 an hour | Undetermined |
| Prince Edward Island | — | Written Level Examinations | — | Not listed | — | — | Undetermined |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | certification exam, Red Seal exam | — | Not listed | — | $41.33 an hour | Undetermined |
Moving between provinces
- Direct transfer (63)
- Extra steps (9)
- Not stated (18)
All answers as a table
Demand and pay
Median wage
| Where | Low | Median | High |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canada | $37.66 | $49.00 | $54.57 |
| British Columbia | $48.00 | $51.07 | $56.74 |
| Alberta | $42.35 | $51.81 | $56.00 |
| Saskatchewan | $40.49 | $48.05 | $52.30 |
| Manitoba | $34.00 | $47.87 | $51.81 |
| Ontario | $31.21 | $48.21 | $54.21 |
| Quebec | $42.00 | $47.00 | $48.95 |
| New Brunswick | $36.00 | $43.64 | $52.00 |
| Nova Scotia | $38.19 | $45.46 | $54.00 |
| Prince Edward Island | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | $31.07 | $41.33 | $52.67 |
| Yukon | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Northwest Territories | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Nunavut | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Job outlook
| Where | Outlook |
|---|---|
| British Columbia | Outlook not determined |
| Alberta | Very limited (1 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Outlook not determined |
| Manitoba | Outlook not determined |
| Ontario | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Quebec | Very limited (1 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Outlook not determined |
| Nova Scotia | Outlook not determined |
| Prince Edward Island | Outlook not determined |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Outlook not determined |
| Yukon | Outlook not determined |
| Northwest Territories | Outlook not determined |
| Nunavut | Outlook not determined |
Tools and tables
- Licence transfer checker Already licensed in one province? See what another province asks for.
- Roadmap builder Your steps, listed fees and time for one occupation and province.
- Language test scores Minimum IELTS, CELPIP and other scores, by occupation and province.
- Credential assessments Which regulators ask for an assessment of your education.
- Licensing exams Which exams each regulator asks for.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.