Province comparison
Chemist Licensing by Province
Licence status by province and territory
Boundaries simplified for display. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada. Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census boundary files.
- Licence required
- Voluntary certification
- Title protected
- Not confirmed yet
- British Columbia: Voluntary certification
- Alberta: Title protected
- Saskatchewan: Voluntary certification
- Manitoba: Not confirmed yet
- Ontario: Voluntary certification
- Quebec: Licence required
- New Brunswick: Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia: Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island: Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador: Not confirmed yet
- Yukon: Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories: Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut: Not confirmed yet
Compare the provinces
Listed one-time fees
No one-time fees are listed in the guides for British Columbia, Alberta, Quebec, and Nova Scotia.
Listed time
Time not stated for every step: British Columbia, Alberta, Quebec, and Nova Scotia.
Side by side
| Where | Routes | Exams | Language | Listed fees | Listed time | Median wage | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | — | — | Not listed | — | $39.95 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Alberta | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Jurisprudence | — | Not listed | — | $43.74 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Quebec | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Examen de français de l’Office québécois de la langue française | — | Not listed | — | $38.88 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Nova Scotia | Trained in Canada | — | — | Not listed | — | $39.23 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
Moving between provinces
- Direct transfer (10)
- Not stated (20)
All answers as a table
Demand and pay
Median wage
| Where | Low | Median | High |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canada | $24.00 | $38.46 | $65.93 |
| British Columbia | $26.69 | $39.95 | $59.34 |
| Alberta | $27.00 | $43.74 | $68.19 |
| Saskatchewan | $27.86 | $42.97 | $72.14 |
| Manitoba | $27.22 | $39.40 | $67.01 |
| Ontario | $27.09 | $39.49 | $66.67 |
| Quebec | $24.94 | $38.88 | $60.75 |
| New Brunswick | $25.30 | $36.83 | $56.10 |
| Nova Scotia | $26.52 | $39.23 | $56.76 |
| Prince Edward Island | $22.00 | $36.41 | $51.79 |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | $29.36 | $43.69 | $70.91 |
| Yukon | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Northwest Territories | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Nunavut | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Job outlook
| Where | Outlook |
|---|---|
| British Columbia | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Alberta | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Good (4 of 5) |
| Manitoba | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Ontario | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Quebec | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Outlook not determined |
| Nova Scotia | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Prince Edward Island | Good (4 of 5) |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Outlook not determined |
| Yukon | Outlook not determined |
| Northwest Territories | Outlook not determined |
| Nunavut | Outlook not determined |
Tools and tables
- Licence transfer checker Already licensed in one province? See what another province asks for.
- Roadmap builder Your steps, listed fees and time for one occupation and province.
- Language test scores Minimum IELTS, CELPIP and other scores, by occupation and province.
- Credential assessments Which regulators ask for an assessment of your education.
- Licensing exams Which exams each regulator asks for.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.