Licence status by province and territory

Where cranes and hoisting equipment operators - wellhead boom truck need certification
Alberta: Certification requiredNunavut: Voluntary certification

Boundaries simplified for display. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada. Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census boundary files.

  • Certification required
  • Voluntary certification
  • Not confirmed yet
  • British Columbia: Not confirmed yet
  • Alberta: Certification required
  • Saskatchewan: Not confirmed yet
  • Manitoba: Not confirmed yet
  • Ontario: Not confirmed yet
  • Quebec: Not confirmed yet
  • New Brunswick: Not confirmed yet
  • Nova Scotia: Not confirmed yet
  • Prince Edward Island: Not confirmed yet
  • Newfoundland and Labrador: Not confirmed yet
  • Yukon: Not confirmed yet
  • Northwest Territories: Not confirmed yet
  • Nunavut: Voluntary certification
Crane and hoisting equipment operator - wellhead boom truck: licence status, regulator and guide in each jurisdiction
WhereLicence statusRegulatorGuide
British Columbia Not confirmed yet — —
Alberta Certification required Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training Read the guide for Alberta
Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet — —
Manitoba Not confirmed yet — —
Ontario Not confirmed yet — —
Quebec Not confirmed yet — —
New Brunswick Not confirmed yet — —
Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet — —
Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet — —
Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet — —
Yukon Not confirmed yet — —
Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet — —
Nunavut Voluntary certification Apprenticeship, Trade and Occupations Certification Read the guide for Nunavut

Compare the provinces

Listed one-time fees

Listed one-time fees for cranes and hoisting equipment operators - wellhead boom truck by province and territoryListed fees in Alberta: $310, for people licensed in another province. Listed fees in Nunavut: not listed.$0$100$200$300$400Listed fees in Alberta: $310, for people licensed in another provinceAlberta$310Listed fees in Nunavut: not listedNunavutNot listed
The fees the regulator lists for the steps of one route, added up in Canadian dollars. Fees that depend on your situation and annual fees are not included. Not listed: the guide lists no fee for that route. No-fee steps: steps of that route with no listed fee.
Listed one-time fees for cranes and hoisting equipment operators - wellhead boom truck by province and territory (table)
WhereFeesRouteNo-fee steps
Alberta$310Licensed in another province2
NunavutNot listed——

Listed time

Time not stated for every step: Alberta and Nunavut.

Side by side

Routes, exams, language, listed fees and time, median wage and outlook in each province or territory with a full guide
WhereRoutesExamsLanguage Listed feesListed timeMedian wageOutlook
Alberta Licensed in another province Theory exams, Practical exam — $310 (Licensed in another province) — — —
Nunavut — Practical Level Examinations, Written Level Examinations, Practical Final Examination, Written Certification Examination — Not listed — — —

Moving between provinces

Crane and hoisting equipment operator - wellhead boom truck: moving a licence between provinces and territories
  • Extra steps (1)
  • Not stated (1)
All answers as a table
Crane and hoisting equipment operator - wellhead boom truck: moving a licence between provinces and territories. Rows: licensed in; columns: moving to.
Licensed in / moving toAlbertaNunavut
AlbertaSame placeNot stated, Alberta to Nunavut
NunavutExtra steps, Nunavut to AlbertaSame place

Check one move in the licence transfer checker

Tools and tables

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.