Province comparison
Customs Broker Licensing by Province
Licence status by province and territory
Boundaries simplified for display. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada. Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census boundary files.
- Licence required
- Not confirmed yet
- British Columbia: Not confirmed yet
- Alberta: Not confirmed yet
- Saskatchewan: Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba: Not confirmed yet
- Ontario: Not confirmed yet
- Quebec: Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick: Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia: Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island: Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador: Not confirmed yet
- Yukon: Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories: Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut: Not confirmed yet
- Federal (all of Canada): Licence required
| Where | Licence status | Regulator | Guide |
|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Alberta | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Saskatchewan | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Manitoba | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Ontario | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Quebec | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| New Brunswick | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Nova Scotia | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Prince Edward Island | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Yukon | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Northwest Territories | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Nunavut | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Federal (all of Canada) | Licence required | Canada Border Services Agency | Read the guide for Federal (all of Canada) |
What the federal guide lists
The federal guide lists no one-time fees and does not state a time for every step.
| Where | Routes | Exams | Language | Listed fees | Listed time | Median wage | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Federal (all of Canada) | Trained in Canada | Customs Brokers Professional Examination | — | Not listed | — | $27.12 an hour | — |
Demand and pay
Median wage
| Where | Low | Median | High |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canada | $20.51 | $27.12 | $36.63 |
| British Columbia | $21.89 | $30.86 | $40.13 |
| Alberta | $23.57 | $30.33 | $41.01 |
| Saskatchewan | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Manitoba | $19.36 | $24.65 | $28.74 |
| Ontario | $22.12 | $28.00 | $38.46 |
| Quebec | $22.30 | $29.57 | $39.45 |
| New Brunswick | $18.53 | $23.34 | $28.19 |
| Nova Scotia | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Prince Edward Island | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Yukon | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Northwest Territories | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Nunavut | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Job outlook
| Where | Outlook |
|---|---|
| British Columbia | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Alberta | Good (4 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Outlook not determined |
| Manitoba | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Ontario | Outlook not determined |
| Quebec | Good (4 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Outlook not determined |
| Nova Scotia | Outlook not determined |
| Prince Edward Island | Outlook not determined |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Outlook not determined |
| Yukon | Outlook not determined |
| Northwest Territories | Outlook not determined |
| Nunavut | Outlook not determined |
Tools and tables
- Licence transfer checker Already licensed in one province? See what another province asks for.
- Roadmap builder Your steps, listed fees and time for one occupation and province.
- Language test scores Minimum IELTS, CELPIP and other scores, by occupation and province.
- Credential assessments Which regulators ask for an assessment of your education.
- Licensing exams Which exams each regulator asks for.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.