Province comparison
Drone Pilot Licensing by Province
Licence status by province and territory
Boundaries simplified for display. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada. Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census boundary files.
- Licence required
- Not confirmed yet
- British Columbia: Not confirmed yet
- Alberta: Not confirmed yet
- Saskatchewan: Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba: Not confirmed yet
- Ontario: Not confirmed yet
- Quebec: Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick: Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia: Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island: Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador: Not confirmed yet
- Yukon: Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories: Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut: Not confirmed yet
- Federal (all of Canada): Licence required
| Where | Licence status | Regulator | Guide |
|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Alberta | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Saskatchewan | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Manitoba | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Ontario | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Quebec | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| New Brunswick | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Nova Scotia | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Prince Edward Island | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Yukon | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Northwest Territories | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Nunavut | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Federal (all of Canada) | Licence required | Transport Canada | Read the guide for Federal (all of Canada) |
What the federal guide lists
The federal guide lists no one-time fees and does not state a time for every step.
| Where | Routes | Exams | Language | Listed fees | Listed time | Median wage | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Federal (all of Canada) | Trained in Canada | Remotely Piloted Aircraft Systems, Basic Operations, Remotely Piloted Aircraft Systems, Advanced Operations, Flight review | — | Not listed | — | $17.50 an hour | — |
Demand and pay
Median wage
| Where | Low | Median | High |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canada | $15.00 | $17.50 | $24.73 |
| British Columbia | $17.85 | $17.85 | $23.00 |
| Alberta | $15.00 | $16.72 | $20.00 |
| Saskatchewan | $15.35 | $16.50 | $18.00 |
| Manitoba | $16.00 | $16.00 | $18.00 |
| Ontario | $17.60 | $18.00 | $25.10 |
| Quebec | $16.10 | $18.00 | $25.00 |
| New Brunswick | $15.65 | $16.00 | $19.49 |
| Nova Scotia | $16.50 | $16.50 | $22.80 |
| Prince Edward Island | $16.50 | $18.88 | $28.57 |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | $16.00 | $16.00 | $19.30 |
| Yukon | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Northwest Territories | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Nunavut | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Job outlook
| Where | Outlook |
|---|---|
| British Columbia | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Alberta | Good (4 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Good (4 of 5) |
| Manitoba | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Ontario | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Quebec | Limited (2 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Good (4 of 5) |
| Nova Scotia | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Prince Edward Island | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Yukon | Outlook not determined |
| Northwest Territories | Outlook not determined |
| Nunavut | Outlook not determined |
Tools and tables
- Licence transfer checker Already licensed in one province? See what another province asks for.
- Roadmap builder Your steps, listed fees and time for one occupation and province.
- Language test scores Minimum IELTS, CELPIP and other scores, by occupation and province.
- Credential assessments Which regulators ask for an assessment of your education.
- Licensing exams Which exams each regulator asks for.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.