Province comparison
Hairstylist Licensing by Province
Licence status by province and territory
Boundaries simplified for display. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada. Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census boundary files.
- Certification required
- Voluntary certification
- British Columbia: Voluntary certification
- Alberta: Certification required
- Saskatchewan: Voluntary certification
- Manitoba: Certification required
- Ontario: Certification required
- Quebec: Voluntary certification
- New Brunswick: Certification required
- Nova Scotia: Certification required
- Prince Edward Island: Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador: Voluntary certification
- Yukon: Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories: Voluntary certification
- Nunavut: Voluntary certification
Compare the provinces
Listed one-time fees
| Where | Fees | Route | No-fee steps |
|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 4 |
| Alberta | $75 | Trained outside Canada | 1 |
| Saskatchewan | Not listed | — | — |
| Manitoba | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 3 |
| Ontario | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 4 |
| Quebec | Not listed | Trained in Canada | 7 |
| Nova Scotia | Not listed | Trained in Canada | 4 |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 8 |
| Yukon | $10 | Trained in Canada | 2 |
| Northwest Territories | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 2 |
Listed time
Time not stated for every step: British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec, Nova Scotia, Newfoundland and Labrador, Yukon, and Northwest Territories.
Side by side
| Where | Routes | Exams | Language | Listed fees | Listed time | Median wage | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Certification exam, Practical assessment, Red Seal exam, Level 1 Standardized Level Exam | — | Not listed | 1.8 to 2.3 months (partial) | $23.00 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Alberta | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Practical exam, Red Seal exam, Entrance exam | — | $75 (Trained outside Canada) | — | $19.23 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | — | Journeyperson certification exam, Interprovincial Journeyperson Examination, Practical Examination, Red Seal exam | — | Not listed | — | $21.15 an hour | Good (4 of 5) |
| Manitoba | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Certification exam, Practical exam, Level Placement Exam | — | Not listed | — | $16.32 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Ontario | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Certification of Qualification exam | — | Not listed | — | $18.00 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Quebec | Trained in Canada | Red Seal exam | — | Not listed | — | $21.63 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Nova Scotia | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province | certification examination | — | Not listed | — | $19.00 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | certification exam, practical exam, Red Seal exam | — | Not listed | — | $19.93 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Yukon | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province | practical exam | — | $10 (Trained in Canada) | — | — | Undetermined |
| Northwest Territories | Trained in Canada, Trained outside Canada | entrance examination, Practical Level Examinations, Written Level Examinations, Practical Final Examination, Written Certification Examination, Red Seal exam | — | Not listed | — | — | Undetermined |
Moving between provinces
- Direct transfer (48)
- Extra steps (24)
- Not stated (84)
All answers as a table
Demand and pay
Median wage
| Where | Low | Median | High |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canada | $15.00 | $19.88 | $30.00 |
| British Columbia | $17.85 | $23.00 | $32.97 |
| Alberta | $15.00 | $19.23 | $26.00 |
| Saskatchewan | $15.35 | $21.15 | $33.17 |
| Manitoba | $16.00 | $16.32 | $25.00 |
| Ontario | $17.60 | $18.00 | $28.57 |
| Quebec | $16.10 | $21.63 | $32.00 |
| New Brunswick | $15.65 | $18.60 | $29.48 |
| Nova Scotia | $16.50 | $19.00 | $25.00 |
| Prince Edward Island | $16.50 | $20.00 | $23.08 |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | $16.00 | $19.93 | $28.67 |
| Yukon | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Northwest Territories | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Nunavut | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Job outlook
| Where | Outlook |
|---|---|
| British Columbia | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Alberta | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Good (4 of 5) |
| Manitoba | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Ontario | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Quebec | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Good (4 of 5) |
| Nova Scotia | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Prince Edward Island | Good (4 of 5) |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Yukon | Outlook not determined |
| Northwest Territories | Outlook not determined |
| Nunavut | Outlook not determined |
Tools and tables
- Licence transfer checker Already licensed in one province? See what another province asks for.
- Roadmap builder Your steps, listed fees and time for one occupation and province.
- Language test scores Minimum IELTS, CELPIP and other scores, by occupation and province.
- Credential assessments Which regulators ask for an assessment of your education.
- Licensing exams Which exams each regulator asks for.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.