Licence status by province and territory

Where licensed practical nurses need a licence
  • Licence required
Licensed practical nurse: licence status, regulator and guide in each jurisdiction
WhereLicence statusRegulatorGuide
British Columbia Licence required BC College of Nurses and Midwives Read the guide for British Columbia
Alberta Licence required College of Licensed Practical Nurses of Alberta Read the guide for Alberta
Saskatchewan Licence required College of Licensed Practical Nurses of Saskatchewan Read the guide for Saskatchewan
Manitoba Licence required College of Licensed Practical Nurses of Manitoba Read the guide for Manitoba
Ontario Licence required College of Nurses of Ontario Read the guide for Ontario
Quebec Licence required Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers auxiliaires du Québec Read the guide for Quebec
New Brunswick Licence required Association of New Brunswick Licensed Practical Nurses Read the guide for New Brunswick
Nova Scotia Licence required Nova Scotia Nursing and Midwifery Regulator Read the guide for Nova Scotia
Prince Edward Island Licence required Prince Edward Island College of Nursing & Midwifery Read the guide for Prince Edward Island
Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required Newfoundland and Labrador College of Nurses Read the guide for Newfoundland and Labrador
Yukon Licence required — Read the guide for Yukon
Northwest Territories Licence required Professional Licensing Office, NWT Health and Social Services Read the guide for Northwest Territories
Nunavut Licence required College of Nurses of the Northwest Territories and Nunavut Read the guide for Nunavut

Compare the provinces

Listed one-time fees

Listed one-time fees for licensed practical nurses by province and territoryListed fees in British Columbia: not listed. Listed fees in Alberta: $1,700, for people trained outside Canada. Listed fees in Saskatchewan: not listed. Listed fees in Manitoba: not listed. Listed fees in Ontario: not listed. Listed fees in Quebec: not listed. Listed fees in New Brunswick: $2,075.50, for people trained outside Canada. Listed fees in Nova Scotia: not listed. Listed fees in Prince Edward Island: $2,955, for people trained outside Canada. Listed fees in Newfoundland and Labrador: $231.04, for people trained outside Canada. Listed fees in Nunavut: not listed.$0$1,000$2,000$3,000Listed fees in British Columbia: not listedBritish ColumbiaNot listedListed fees in Alberta: $1,700, for people trained outside CanadaAlberta$1,700Listed fees in Saskatchewan: not listedSaskatchewanNot listedListed fees in Manitoba: not listedManitobaNot listedListed fees in Ontario: not listedOntarioNot listedListed fees in Quebec: not listedQuebecNot listedListed fees in New Brunswick: $2,075.50, for people trained outside CanadaNew Brunswick$2,075.50Listed fees in Nova Scotia: not listedNova ScotiaNot listedListed fees in Prince Edward Island: $2,955, for people trained outside CanadaPrince Edward Island$2,955Listed fees in Newfoundland and Labrador: $231.04, for people trained outside CanadaNewfoundland and Labrador$231.04Listed fees in Nunavut: not listedNunavutNot listed
The fees the regulator lists for the steps of one route, added up in Canadian dollars. Fees that depend on your situation and annual fees are not included. Not listed: the guide lists no fee for that route. No-fee steps: steps of that route with no listed fee.
Listed one-time fees for licensed practical nurses by province and territory (table)
WhereFeesRouteNo-fee steps
British ColumbiaNot listedTrained outside Canada0
Alberta$1,700Trained outside Canada4
SaskatchewanNot listedTrained in Canada3
ManitobaNot listedTrained outside Canada5
OntarioNot listedTrained outside Canada3
QuebecNot listedTrained outside Canada5
New Brunswick$2,075.50Trained outside Canada3
Nova ScotiaNot listedTrained outside Canada7
Prince Edward Island$2,955Trained outside Canada3
Newfoundland and Labrador$231.04Trained outside Canada12
NunavutNot listedTrained outside Canada3

Listed time

Time not stated for every step: British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, Newfoundland and Labrador, and Nunavut.

Side by side

Routes, exams, language, listed fees and time, median wage and outlook in each province or territory with a full guide
WhereRoutesExamsLanguage Listed feesListed timeMedian wageOutlook
British Columbia Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada REx-PN — Not listed — $34.57 an hour Good (4 of 5)
Alberta Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada Canadian Practical Nurse Registration Examination (CPNRE), Objective Structured Clinical Exam (OSCE), REx-PN — $1,700 (Trained outside Canada) 0.8 months (partial) $32.00 an hour Good (4 of 5)
Saskatchewan Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province CPNRE, Canadian Practical Nurse Registration Examination (CPRNE), REx-PN, Quebec professional examination — Not listed — $38.09 an hour Good (4 of 5)
Manitoba Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada Canadian Practical Nurse Registration Examination, Jurisprudence Education Module and Quiz, Clinical competence assessment (CCA) — Not listed — $33.57 an hour Good (4 of 5)
Ontario Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada REx-PN, jurisprudence exam — Not listed — $31.00 an hour Good (4 of 5)
Quebec Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada examen professionnel, examen de l’Office québécois de la langue française, examen clinique — Not listed 4 months (partial) $30.00 an hour Moderate (3 of 5)
New Brunswick Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada Canadian Practical Nurse Registration Exam (CPNRE) — $2,075.50 (Trained outside Canada) — $31.50 an hour Very good (5 of 5)
Nova Scotia Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada Canadian Practical Nurse Registration Exam, Jurisprudence Declaration of Compliance — Not listed 0.2 months (partial) $30.42 an hour Very good (5 of 5)
Prince Edward Island Trained outside Canada Canadian Practical Nurse Registration Examination (CPNRE) — $2,955 (Trained outside Canada) 0.2 months (partial) $31.00 an hour Very good (5 of 5)
Newfoundland and Labrador Trained in Canada, Trained outside Canada Canadian Practical Nurse Registration Exam (CPNRE) — $231.04 (Trained outside Canada) — $29.58 an hour Good (4 of 5)
Nunavut Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada CPNRE, Computer-Based Assessment (CBA), Simulation Lab Assessment (SLA) — Not listed 0.2 months (partial) — Very good (5 of 5)

Moving between provinces

Licensed practical nurse: moving a licence between provinces and territories
  • Direct transfer (36)
  • Not stated (120)
All answers as a table
Licensed practical nurse: moving a licence between provinces and territories. Rows: licensed in; columns: moving to.
Licensed in / moving toBritish ColumbiaAlbertaSaskatchewanManitobaOntarioQuebecNew BrunswickNova ScotiaPrince Edward IslandNewfoundland and LabradorYukonNorthwest TerritoriesNunavut
British ColumbiaSame placeNot stated, British Columbia to AlbertaDirect transfer, British Columbia to SaskatchewanNot stated, British Columbia to ManitobaNot stated, British Columbia to OntarioNot stated, British Columbia to QuebecDirect transfer, British Columbia to New BrunswickNot stated, British Columbia to Nova ScotiaNot stated, British Columbia to Prince Edward IslandNot stated, British Columbia to Newfoundland and LabradorNot stated, British Columbia to YukonNot stated, British Columbia to Northwest TerritoriesNot stated, British Columbia to Nunavut
AlbertaDirect transfer, Alberta to British ColumbiaSame placeDirect transfer, Alberta to SaskatchewanNot stated, Alberta to ManitobaNot stated, Alberta to OntarioNot stated, Alberta to QuebecDirect transfer, Alberta to New BrunswickNot stated, Alberta to Nova ScotiaNot stated, Alberta to Prince Edward IslandNot stated, Alberta to Newfoundland and LabradorNot stated, Alberta to YukonNot stated, Alberta to Northwest TerritoriesNot stated, Alberta to Nunavut
SaskatchewanDirect transfer, Saskatchewan to British ColumbiaNot stated, Saskatchewan to AlbertaSame placeNot stated, Saskatchewan to ManitobaNot stated, Saskatchewan to OntarioNot stated, Saskatchewan to QuebecDirect transfer, Saskatchewan to New BrunswickNot stated, Saskatchewan to Nova ScotiaNot stated, Saskatchewan to Prince Edward IslandNot stated, Saskatchewan to Newfoundland and LabradorNot stated, Saskatchewan to YukonNot stated, Saskatchewan to Northwest TerritoriesNot stated, Saskatchewan to Nunavut
ManitobaDirect transfer, Manitoba to British ColumbiaNot stated, Manitoba to AlbertaDirect transfer, Manitoba to SaskatchewanSame placeNot stated, Manitoba to OntarioNot stated, Manitoba to QuebecDirect transfer, Manitoba to New BrunswickNot stated, Manitoba to Nova ScotiaNot stated, Manitoba to Prince Edward IslandNot stated, Manitoba to Newfoundland and LabradorNot stated, Manitoba to YukonNot stated, Manitoba to Northwest TerritoriesNot stated, Manitoba to Nunavut
OntarioDirect transfer, Ontario to British ColumbiaNot stated, Ontario to AlbertaDirect transfer, Ontario to SaskatchewanNot stated, Ontario to ManitobaSame placeNot stated, Ontario to QuebecDirect transfer, Ontario to New BrunswickNot stated, Ontario to Nova ScotiaNot stated, Ontario to Prince Edward IslandNot stated, Ontario to Newfoundland and LabradorNot stated, Ontario to YukonNot stated, Ontario to Northwest TerritoriesNot stated, Ontario to Nunavut
QuebecDirect transfer, Quebec to British ColumbiaNot stated, Quebec to AlbertaDirect transfer, Quebec to SaskatchewanNot stated, Quebec to ManitobaNot stated, Quebec to OntarioSame placeDirect transfer, Quebec to New BrunswickNot stated, Quebec to Nova ScotiaNot stated, Quebec to Prince Edward IslandNot stated, Quebec to Newfoundland and LabradorNot stated, Quebec to YukonNot stated, Quebec to Northwest TerritoriesNot stated, Quebec to Nunavut
New BrunswickDirect transfer, New Brunswick to British ColumbiaNot stated, New Brunswick to AlbertaDirect transfer, New Brunswick to SaskatchewanNot stated, New Brunswick to ManitobaNot stated, New Brunswick to OntarioNot stated, New Brunswick to QuebecSame placeNot stated, New Brunswick to Nova ScotiaNot stated, New Brunswick to Prince Edward IslandNot stated, New Brunswick to Newfoundland and LabradorNot stated, New Brunswick to YukonNot stated, New Brunswick to Northwest TerritoriesNot stated, New Brunswick to Nunavut
Nova ScotiaDirect transfer, Nova Scotia to British ColumbiaNot stated, Nova Scotia to AlbertaDirect transfer, Nova Scotia to SaskatchewanNot stated, Nova Scotia to ManitobaNot stated, Nova Scotia to OntarioNot stated, Nova Scotia to QuebecDirect transfer, Nova Scotia to New BrunswickSame placeNot stated, Nova Scotia to Prince Edward IslandNot stated, Nova Scotia to Newfoundland and LabradorNot stated, Nova Scotia to YukonNot stated, Nova Scotia to Northwest TerritoriesNot stated, Nova Scotia to Nunavut
Prince Edward IslandDirect transfer, Prince Edward Island to British ColumbiaNot stated, Prince Edward Island to AlbertaDirect transfer, Prince Edward Island to SaskatchewanNot stated, Prince Edward Island to ManitobaNot stated, Prince Edward Island to OntarioNot stated, Prince Edward Island to QuebecDirect transfer, Prince Edward Island to New BrunswickNot stated, Prince Edward Island to Nova ScotiaSame placeNot stated, Prince Edward Island to Newfoundland and LabradorNot stated, Prince Edward Island to YukonNot stated, Prince Edward Island to Northwest TerritoriesNot stated, Prince Edward Island to Nunavut
Newfoundland and LabradorDirect transfer, Newfoundland and Labrador to British ColumbiaNot stated, Newfoundland and Labrador to AlbertaDirect transfer, Newfoundland and Labrador to SaskatchewanNot stated, Newfoundland and Labrador to ManitobaNot stated, Newfoundland and Labrador to OntarioNot stated, Newfoundland and Labrador to QuebecDirect transfer, Newfoundland and Labrador to New BrunswickNot stated, Newfoundland and Labrador to Nova ScotiaNot stated, Newfoundland and Labrador to Prince Edward IslandSame placeNot stated, Newfoundland and Labrador to YukonNot stated, Newfoundland and Labrador to Northwest TerritoriesNot stated, Newfoundland and Labrador to Nunavut
YukonDirect transfer, Yukon to British ColumbiaNot stated, Yukon to AlbertaDirect transfer, Yukon to SaskatchewanNot stated, Yukon to ManitobaNot stated, Yukon to OntarioNot stated, Yukon to QuebecDirect transfer, Yukon to New BrunswickNot stated, Yukon to Nova ScotiaNot stated, Yukon to Prince Edward IslandNot stated, Yukon to Newfoundland and LabradorSame placeNot stated, Yukon to Northwest TerritoriesNot stated, Yukon to Nunavut
Northwest TerritoriesDirect transfer, Northwest Territories to British ColumbiaNot stated, Northwest Territories to AlbertaDirect transfer, Northwest Territories to SaskatchewanNot stated, Northwest Territories to ManitobaNot stated, Northwest Territories to OntarioNot stated, Northwest Territories to QuebecDirect transfer, Northwest Territories to New BrunswickNot stated, Northwest Territories to Nova ScotiaNot stated, Northwest Territories to Prince Edward IslandNot stated, Northwest Territories to Newfoundland and LabradorNot stated, Northwest Territories to YukonSame placeNot stated, Northwest Territories to Nunavut
NunavutDirect transfer, Nunavut to British ColumbiaNot stated, Nunavut to AlbertaDirect transfer, Nunavut to SaskatchewanNot stated, Nunavut to ManitobaNot stated, Nunavut to OntarioNot stated, Nunavut to QuebecDirect transfer, Nunavut to New BrunswickNot stated, Nunavut to Nova ScotiaNot stated, Nunavut to Prince Edward IslandNot stated, Nunavut to Newfoundland and LabradorNot stated, Nunavut to YukonNot stated, Nunavut to Northwest TerritoriesSame place

Check one move in the licence transfer checker

Demand and pay

Median wage

Median hourly wage for licensed practical nurses by province and territoryCanada: $31.32 (low $25.00, high $38.00). British Columbia: $34.57 (low $29.00, high $42.00). Alberta: $32.00 (low $25.80, high $36.00). Saskatchewan: $38.09 (low $33.00, high $42.00). Manitoba: $33.57 (low $25.00, high $38.57). Ontario: $31.00 (low $25.32, high $37.94). Quebec: $30.00 (low $24.21, high $33.00). New Brunswick: $31.50 (low $27.00, high $35.00). Nova Scotia: $30.42 (low $28.00, high $35.11). Prince Edward Island: $31.00 (low $25.00, high $32.25). Newfoundland and Labrador: $29.58 (low $26.44, high $32.08). Yukon: $43.50 (low $38.00, high $53.00). Northwest Territories: $44.15 (low $30.00, high $48.86). Nunavut: not stated.$0$20$40$60Canada: $31.32 (low $25.00, high $38.00)Canada$31.32British Columbia: $34.57 (low $29.00, high $42.00)British Columbia$34.57Alberta: $32.00 (low $25.80, high $36.00)Alberta$32.00Saskatchewan: $38.09 (low $33.00, high $42.00)Saskatchewan$38.09Manitoba: $33.57 (low $25.00, high $38.57)Manitoba$33.57Ontario: $31.00 (low $25.32, high $37.94)Ontario$31.00Quebec: $30.00 (low $24.21, high $33.00)Quebec$30.00New Brunswick: $31.50 (low $27.00, high $35.00)New Brunswick$31.50Nova Scotia: $30.42 (low $28.00, high $35.11)Nova Scotia$30.42Prince Edward Island: $31.00 (low $25.00, high $32.25)Prince Edward Island$31.00Newfoundland and Labrador: $29.58 (low $26.44, high $32.08)Newfoundland and Labrador$29.58Yukon: $43.50 (low $38.00, high $53.00)Yukon$43.50Northwest Territories: $44.15 (low $30.00, high $48.86)Northwest Territories$44.15Nunavut: not statedNunavutNot stated
Bars show the median wage. Lines run from the low to the high wage, which are Job Bank’s 10th and 90th percentiles. Grey is all of Canada.
Median hourly wage for licensed practical nurses by province and territory (table)
WhereLowMedianHigh
Canada$25.00$31.32$38.00
British Columbia$29.00$34.57$42.00
Alberta$25.80$32.00$36.00
Saskatchewan$33.00$38.09$42.00
Manitoba$25.00$33.57$38.57
Ontario$25.32$31.00$37.94
Quebec$24.21$30.00$33.00
New Brunswick$27.00$31.50$35.00
Nova Scotia$28.00$30.42$35.11
Prince Edward Island$25.00$31.00$32.25
Newfoundland and Labrador$26.44$29.58$32.08
Yukon$38.00$43.50$53.00
Northwest Territories$30.00$44.15$48.86
NunavutNot statedNot statedNot stated

Job outlook

Job outlook for licensed practical nurses by province and territory, 1 to 5British Columbia: Good (4 of 5). Alberta: Good (4 of 5). Saskatchewan: Good (4 of 5). Manitoba: Good (4 of 5). Ontario: Good (4 of 5). Quebec: Moderate (3 of 5). New Brunswick: Very good (5 of 5). Nova Scotia: Very good (5 of 5). Prince Edward Island: Very good (5 of 5). Newfoundland and Labrador: Good (4 of 5). Yukon: undetermined. Northwest Territories: Very good (5 of 5). Nunavut: Very good (5 of 5).12345British Columbia: Good (4 of 5)British ColumbiaGoodAlberta: Good (4 of 5)AlbertaGoodSaskatchewan: Good (4 of 5)SaskatchewanGoodManitoba: Good (4 of 5)ManitobaGoodOntario: Good (4 of 5)OntarioGoodQuebec: Moderate (3 of 5)QuebecModerateNew Brunswick: Very good (5 of 5)New BrunswickVery goodNova Scotia: Very good (5 of 5)Nova ScotiaVery goodPrince Edward Island: Very good (5 of 5)Prince Edward IslandVery goodNewfoundland and Labrador: Good (4 of 5)Newfoundland and LabradorGoodYukon: undeterminedYukonUndeterminedNorthwest Territories: Very good (5 of 5)Northwest TerritoriesVery goodNunavut: Very good (5 of 5)NunavutVery good
1 is a very limited outlook and 5 a very good one.
Job outlook for licensed practical nurses by province and territory, 1 to 5 (table)
WhereOutlook
British ColumbiaGood (4 of 5)
AlbertaGood (4 of 5)
SaskatchewanGood (4 of 5)
ManitobaGood (4 of 5)
OntarioGood (4 of 5)
QuebecModerate (3 of 5)
New BrunswickVery good (5 of 5)
Nova ScotiaVery good (5 of 5)
Prince Edward IslandVery good (5 of 5)
Newfoundland and LabradorGood (4 of 5)
YukonOutlook not determined
Northwest TerritoriesVery good (5 of 5)
NunavutVery good (5 of 5)

Wages in every province and territory

Tools and tables

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.