Province comparison
Meat Cutter Licensing by Province
Licence status by province and territory
Boundaries simplified for display. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada. Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census boundary files.
- Voluntary certification
- Not confirmed yet
- British Columbia: Voluntary certification
- Alberta: Not confirmed yet
- Saskatchewan: Voluntary certification
- Manitoba: Not confirmed yet
- Ontario: Voluntary certification
- Quebec: Voluntary certification
- New Brunswick: Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia: Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island: Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador: Not confirmed yet
- Yukon: Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories: Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut: Not confirmed yet
| Where | Licence status | Regulator | Guide |
|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Voluntary certification | SkilledTradesBC | Read the guide for British Columbia |
| Alberta | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Saskatchewan | Voluntary certification | Saskatchewan Apprenticeship and Trade Certification Commission | Read the guide for Saskatchewan |
| Manitoba | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Ontario | Voluntary certification | Skilled Trades Ontario | Read the guide for Ontario |
| Quebec | Voluntary certification | Centre administratif de la qualification professionnelle | Read the guide for Quebec |
| New Brunswick | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Nova Scotia | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Prince Edward Island | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Yukon | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Northwest Territories | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Nunavut | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
Compare the provinces
Listed one-time fees
| Where | Fees | Route | No-fee steps |
|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | $120 | Trained outside Canada | 5 |
| Saskatchewan | Not listed | — | — |
| Ontario | Not listed | Trained in Canada | 4 |
Listed time
Time not stated for every step: British Columbia, Saskatchewan, and Ontario.
Side by side
| Where | Routes | Exams | Language | Listed fees | Listed time | Median wage | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Trained outside Canada | certification exam, practical assessment, Red Seal exam | — | $120 (Trained outside Canada) | 25.8 to 26.3 months (partial) | $23.00 an hour | Good (4 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | — | Provincial Journeyperson Examination | — | Not listed | — | $18.00 an hour | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Ontario | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province | — | — | Not listed | — | $17.60 an hour | Good (4 of 5) |
Moving between provinces
- Direct transfer (3)
- Not stated (9)
All answers as a table
| Licensed in / moving to | British Columbia | Saskatchewan | Ontario | Quebec |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Same place | Not stated, British Columbia to Saskatchewan | Not stated, British Columbia to Ontario | Not stated, British Columbia to Quebec |
| Saskatchewan | Direct transfer, Saskatchewan to British Columbia | Same place | Not stated, Saskatchewan to Ontario | Not stated, Saskatchewan to Quebec |
| Ontario | Direct transfer, Ontario to British Columbia | Not stated, Ontario to Saskatchewan | Same place | Not stated, Ontario to Quebec |
| Quebec | Direct transfer, Quebec to British Columbia | Not stated, Quebec to Saskatchewan | Not stated, Quebec to Ontario | Same place |
Demand and pay
Median wage
| Where | Low | Median | High |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canada | $15.50 | $19.50 | $28.00 |
| British Columbia | $17.85 | $23.00 | $31.50 |
| Alberta | $16.00 | $20.50 | $27.00 |
| Saskatchewan | $15.35 | $18.00 | $29.00 |
| Manitoba | $16.00 | $17.00 | $22.00 |
| Ontario | $17.60 | $17.60 | $26.00 |
| Quebec | $16.16 | $17.17 | $21.08 |
| New Brunswick | $15.65 | $17.00 | $21.50 |
| Nova Scotia | $16.50 | $17.00 | $21.50 |
| Prince Edward Island | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | $16.00 | $17.00 | $21.50 |
| Yukon | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Northwest Territories | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Nunavut | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Job outlook
| Where | Outlook |
|---|---|
| British Columbia | Good (4 of 5) |
| Alberta | Good (4 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Manitoba | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Ontario | Good (4 of 5) |
| Quebec | Limited (2 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Good (4 of 5) |
| Nova Scotia | Outlook not determined |
| Prince Edward Island | Outlook not determined |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Outlook not determined |
| Yukon | Outlook not determined |
| Northwest Territories | Outlook not determined |
| Nunavut | Outlook not determined |
Tools and tables
- Licence transfer checker Already licensed in one province? See what another province asks for.
- Roadmap builder Your steps, listed fees and time for one occupation and province.
- Language test scores Minimum IELTS, CELPIP and other scores, by occupation and province.
- Credential assessments Which regulators ask for an assessment of your education.
- Licensing exams Which exams each regulator asks for.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.